SG Presidential Election 2016/17!

Yewheng

who is Singapore first elected president?  

150 members have voted

1. 1. who is Singapore first elected president?

• Wee Kim Wee
    • Ong Teng Cheong
    • S R Nathan
    • Yusof Ishak

i have another candidate in mind.

Walter Woon.

former Attorney General that was unafraid to speak his mind.

he's another one that I would vote for.

think he was referring to age. But then again, TCB too long since he stepped down, so rules him out

Seems like anybody's game now

If the govt needs to draw from past reserves, they have to get the permission of the EP. Nathan was asked for permission during the last recession and he will have to give the green light, so it's not just a rubber stamp. If he's not convinced he should say no. He has a board of advisors to refer to if needed. OTC too asked questions on how certain segments of the reserves were valued when he was EP so whilst by and large it's a ceremonial role, the EP does hold the 2nd key to the reserves so not something to be scoffed at.

If it's going to be a PAP backed yes man then I worry n hence I personally felt TCB was a good choice based on his track record of speaking out in Parliament when he was a back bencher though this doesn't necessary mean he will do so when he's an EP but what other yardstick can we base on?

well.. that I know.. but really.. council of president advisors?

http://www.istana.gov.sg/roles-and-responsibilities/presidents-office/council-presidential-advisers

all you know from where lor..

No 70% nonsense, roger, but KFC nonsense can? :D

sure can lah............McDonald............Burger King........Mos Burger...........all can............. [:p][laugh][laugh]

TJS sure contest again this round.. and he will talk about the 5 'C's again.. :a-t2622:

As long as got media coverage...............he will be there............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i have another candidate in mind.

Walter Woon.

former Attorney General that was unafraid to speak his mind.

he's another one that I would vote for.

If Chan Sek Keong were younger, he'd be a good candidate as well. Might as well throw in V.K. Rajah in the mix. [laugh]

Err.....while I think TCB is really not bad but a check on wiki shows he is always 75 currently.....

Is it too senior to still run in PE?

Is TK eligible?

I think TK is already a grandfather.............so if you like to date a grandpa...............he sld be eligible to you...........wahahahaha............. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Actually, it's always puzzled me why people keep supporting George Yeo for Elected President, almost to the point of idolisation. BTW, I've actually met the guy. He is definitely bright and able, but he's never impressed me as a person who's made a strong stand on principle - e.g. he was the first one to propose the building of the casinos in SG (and then opposed it later, by which time he was a lone voice in the wilderness); also, he was the one who designed the MDA blocks on the Internet, shortly after the gahmen assured a visiting Bill Gates that SG wouldn't practice Internet censorship.

When he lost Aljunied, he not only resigned from the party, but relocated to HK. Which is why I came up with the meme below: GY is the new NAIR. :D

In other words, GY is like the best of the current crop of MIW - an able technocrat, but not made of any special moral fibre. Remember what the role of the EP is supposed to be about: to be a hawk watching the reserves, and even challenging the gahmen when need be. What, in GY's political history, has really convinced people that he's the right person to do this?

Totally agree............. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Chee Soon Juan for President!

Purely for the shitfit it'll give the PM.

I was about to ask why nobody mention CSJ for the President........... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I have a very good candidate in mind. Lui Tuck Yui. Haha, since he now so free, and the job of Singapore president also like so free. And of course, unlike being transport minister, don't have to get tuck everyday.

Even the pay is higher! Heng ah!

maybe hor.

perhaps that's why he quitted in the first place. lol

I have a very good candidate in mind. Lui Tuck Yui. Haha, since he now so free, and the job of Singapore president also like so free. And of course, unlike being transport minister, don't have to get tuck everyday.

Even the pay is higher! Heng ah!

me think not likely.

he just got re elected.

if he run. he need to quit PAP and vacate his seat?

I think i read somewhere if 1 member of a GRC is gone................there is no need for by election.......but cannot remember where I read it liao..............

He can always quit and become President mah..............better title............better pay..........and is in 2017.........his term in MP would have being served half way liao................ [laugh][laugh][laugh]