A Rant on Shell Petrol

Luvalive

I have been a faithful user of Shell, partly because my company sponsors me a fuel card that happens to be by Shell. Shell has also been always active in their marketing, making me feel that Shell is indeed a superior and reputable fuel brand.

As such I have never really taken notice on Shell's pump prices, or for that matter, compares it with Esso, Caltex or SPC.

I was in Malaysia yesterday and pumped Petronas 97 at RM2.35 a litre. Man, their fuel is quite good - made my 2006 RAV4 2.4l very responsive suddenly. A total world of difference when comparing to Singapore Shell's FuelSave 95. My wife says it's because Petronas is RON 97 when Shell is RON 95. Maybe.

So I came back to Singapore and chanced upon a website (http://www.cozylittlehaven.net/petrolsg/) on fuel pump prices. Here is my rant - wah lau why Shell fuel all so expensive when compared to the other 3 brands?

RON 95 must be 5c dearer than the other 3 (Shell's price updated on 25/09 when SPC has been selling at $2.05 since 02/09, why the rush to increase price?), RON 98 also must be 11c more expensive than SPC. Wah why SPC's RON 98 so cheap huh?

My verdict - I'm a little bit anti-Shell now for their higher prices. Maybe I should try pumping SPC's RON 98 since I do enjoy the difference a higher RON provides.

Does anyone also feel that Shell is not value for money?

I have been a faithful user of Shell, partly because my company sponsors me a fuel card that happens to be by Shell. Shell has also been always active in their marketing, making me feel that Shell is indeed a superior and reputable fuel brand.

As such I have never really taken notice on Shell's pump prices, or for that matter, compares it with Esso, Caltex or SPC.

I was in Malaysia yesterday and pumped Petronas 97 at RM2.35 a litre. Man, their fuel is quite good - made my 2006 RAV4 2.4l very responsive suddenly. A total world of difference when comparing to Singapore Shell's FuelSave 95. My wife says it's because Petronas is RON 97 when Shell is RON 95. Maybe.

So I came back to Singapore and chanced upon a website (http://www.cozylittlehaven.net/petrolsg/) on fuel pump prices. Here is my rant - wah lau why Shell fuel all so expensive when compared to the other 3 brands?

RON 95 must be 5c dearer than the other 3 (Shell's price updated on 25/09 when SPC has been selling at $2.05 since 02/09, why the rush to increase price?), RON 98 also must be 11c more expensive than SPC. Wah why SPC's RON 98 so cheap huh?

My verdict - I'm a little bit anti-Shell now for their higher prices. Maybe I should try pumping SPC's RON 98 since I do enjoy the difference a higher RON provides.

Does anyone also feel that Shell is not value for money?

So that consumer get to choose mah.. same price people say no competition.

So far I always pump Esso because I haven't really made the effort to visit other kinds of stations haha.

But I think I so far not keen on trying Shell since, as you say, their pump price higher. What's the escape card discount??

I think though some of the guys here say the V-Power got some actual improvement though. It's the additive. Higher RON I really think has no effect as long as it meet the minimum.

So far I always pump Esso because I haven't really made the effort to visit other kinds of stations haha.

But I think I so far not keen on trying Shell since, as you say, their pump price higher. What's the escape card discount??

I think though some of the guys here say the V-Power got some actual improvement though. It's the additive. Higher RON I really think has no effect as long as it meet the minimum.

Last line is not true for many performance cars, where RON is a huge determinant. They can take a lower RON but only at the expense of reduced performance. JDM turbo cars really perform best on 100RON but they make do on Sg 98RON. But power and torque won't be as high as intended.

Between 98RON and V power, yes it's the additives.

Ironic this thread is being posted just when Shell is having a V power promotion today and tomorrow. Standard 98 price. 2.40 per litre.

whatever moves my car, i'll take it

SPC usually the first to drop, last to raise. hence i like to do business with them.

together with POSB Everyday card where there's no min spend required, it's even easier to use this card without tracking my expenses.

If pricing didn't went up, I pumped Caltex 98 at 2.35 the other day.

This morning used my free vouchers at the Shell's promotion, found that their 98 is priced at 2.40.

Nevertheless I just pump lor, I still like Caltex

i usually use spc (ron98) with posb everyday card, best for discounts. once a while, like 1/month, switch to vpower to feel the shiokness. [laugh]

Looks like Shell isn't really popular among our friends here!

I also read from many sources that the car only requires the minimum RON to work and to pump a higher RON is just wasteful.

My car requires minimum RON 91 but recommends RON 95. I pump Shell RON 95 but the car feels more and more sluggish. I pump Petronas RON 97 and it is really quite a difference!

Now my question is SPC RON 98 good anot? Has anyone tried the various brands' RON 98 before and has any feedback when comparing to SPC?

A lot are just plain butt feel on power gain or loss. Where cheap where I pump.

If Shell is more expensive then pump other brand, funny why complain. There is no law that they must all sell the same price. Nobody force you to choose them.

Edited by Ingenius

Its coy sponsor, i will move on. If what u mention is true, its no surprise too...so much advert/sponsorship. The 35cts is prob true after factoring in the 2 abovementioned.

No lah. I think your comparison isn't fair when everyone else is driving a different car dan yours. Furthermore you are restricting yourself to using a brand of fuel. If you want to know spend money on other brands and different RON dan you will know. Plus you have to drive like your pants is on fire or else driving sedately will give you no difference whatsoever. See what I mean.

The recommended RON is such that you won't go wrong and your engine doesn't suffer from engine knocking or engine pre-ignition. In short the compressed air/fuel mixture self ignite before the spark plug releases a spark to set of the ignition in the combustion chamber. That's knocking.

The higher RON what it does is stabilizes the air/fuel mixture so that it doesn't go off on its own. So if the engine in your car has a compression ratio of say 10:1 the recommended is likely to be RON95. Most Japanese cars are 9:1 or some even lower at 8:1, RON 92 also no problem. Turbocharged engines or high compression ratio engine will usually need a higher RON to run. It's all depending on the compression ratio.

So if you ask if other cars feel the same as you do it's difficult to give an answer. One is that ppl do not drive the same cars and different ppl have a different driving behaviour. For ppl who have to worry about paying for petrol that one needless to say the cheapest will suffice they won't know what difference the brands or the higher RON does.

If you ask in such a general manner you will not get what you want to know. You will have to set the conditions, speed, mileage, route, etc etc. Different car with different engine will give different result.

Price of course you cannot compare with M'sia where their govt give subsidies while ours are taxed more. You have to know the price of rice when you eat rice. You rant w/o first finding out why is what most ppl do. Kpkb first.

Now that a lot of car makers are using turbocharged engines and ppl are increasing the turbo boost via modification. It's important that they switch to a higher RON to prevent engine knock.

Ppl always get the wrong idea that premium fuel means better. You got to first look at whether your car needs it and the way you drive it to choose the RON that suits your driving needs.

I usually pump Caltex 95 cos I get OCBC discount. My car can run on 92 but not all station have.

I tried 98 once, no improvement in performance but surprisingly I got better mileage. But not really worth paying the extra IMO.

I want direct/immediate discount. don't like to accumulate points in the petrol card. so I choose spc.....

kick out shell after 10yrs with them.