Roast goose

Rainbatt

that's really funny  [laugh] left thigh and right thigh also got difference

yup.. they say it's becos of their habit of standing on 1 leg..

You mean the waxed goose thigh seen during CNY? Waxed Chinese sausages and waxed goose thigh used to cook claypot rice.

In the Chinese culinary or recipe I do not recall seeing roast goose(in Singapore). It's mostly roast duck. If wax goose thigh is not available ppl will use duck. Ever since the SARS incident there are very few geese available. Probably can look to Australia to supply and DIY roast it in the oven.

http://www.scmp.com/magazines/48hrs/article/1612039/roast-goose-top-five-restaurants

maybe last time have many swimming at botanical garden but people catch it to roast and no more left  [laugh]  [laugh]

roast goose is easy to identify lah, they have barluku on the head.

maybe last time have many swimming at botanical garden but people catch it to roast and no more left [laugh][laugh]

roast goose is easy to identify lah, they have barluku on the head.

The wild ones no more....two died, one went back to Germany & the last one become 007.

post-116534-0-39134400-1447743114_thumb.jpeg

Thanks for the recommendation. Didn't find it on their menu leh .. must pre-order ?

Ya. But that means may least it's freshly roasted and not hanging there whole day.

The rest of the dishes are all above average too. Love their ohmi beef steamboat too

I was in JB City Square Mall on Tuesday and saw the Chinese Restaurant at Level 2 (Long de Chuan Ren) selling Roast Goose. While this is not in town, it is not too far away and since it is quite habitual of us crossing the Causeway for cheaper Petrol and Food, you may want to consider this place. I can't comment on the taste but judging at the huge crowd eating at the restaurant, it's worth a try I guess.

How different is goose from duck?

Is it really worth my while to look for goose when there are many duck stalls around in SG? 

I love a good duck drumstick rice!

real life hk tvb drama.. family feud... its always about the money money money..

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/heir-of-hong-kongs-yung-kee-says-making-plans-to-close-the-roast-goose-restaurant

Hong Kong's famous roast goose restaurant Yung Kee looks set to be shut after the city's highest court rejected a request by the family-run business's heirs to extend a liquidation deadline set to expire on Wednesday (Dec 16), Hong Kong media reported.

The deadline had been set by the Court of Final Appeal to resolve a long-running family feud over control of the 73-year-old establishment.

Judge Geoffrey Ma dismissed a last-minute appeal by Mr Carrel Kam, a third-generation scion of Yung Kee, to extend the deadline, which was set to expire at midnight Wednesday and had been extended from Dec 9.

Mr Kam had told reporters outside the court on Wednesday afternoon that the request was only procedural and the family was making plans to wind up the business, Apple Daily reported.

The move by Mr Kam's branch of the family was the latest in the long-running family dispute.

The business, which started out as a humble eatery, was founded 73 years ago by Kam Shui Fai who died in 2004. He left the bulk of the company's shares to his first and second sons, Kinsen and Ronald - Carrel's father - respectively, with the understanding that they were to run the restaurant together.

The rest of the shares went to other members of the family. But they soon took sides and gave their shares to the brothers they supported after a bitter rivalry over control of the business split the siblings.

Kinsen's shares grew to 45 per cent, while Ronald gained the upperhand with 55 per cent of the shares.

In 2010, Kinsen went to court to force his younger brother to buy his shares for an estimated HK$950 million or liquidate the company. But this was rejected by Ronald.

The case went all the way up to the Court of Final Appeal which in November ordered the restaurant's holding company, Yung Kee Holdings Ltd, to wind up if the two feuding sides could not agree on the purchase price by Dec 9.

Ronald, whose children now run the restaurant, had offered up to HK$1.1 billion (S$200 million). But the family of Kinsen, who died of cancer in 2012, believe they are entitled to HK$1.3 billion.

The deadline was later extended to Wednesday. If Kinsen's widow does not accept Ronald's offer by midnight on Wednesday, the company will officially go into liquidation.

But it may be years before foodies see the last of their favourite fowl dish, as the Yung Kee restaurant may continue to operate - with permission from its liquidators - until the company is formally dissolved, the Apple Daily reported.

i ate roast goose at peach garden during CNY 2 years ago i think. So during festivities, think still have bah.

many restaurants sold ducks as goose as goose fetch a higher price..if you ask them outright..they will tell you it's duck..most sinkies cannot differentiate between goose or duck  [laugh]

I am one of them lol.

What's the diff huh?

HK Yung Kee will closed down?! Such a waste since it has been around for decades.

Does it really matter to consumers? 

The chef will just set up shop elsewhere under another name.

i seldom eat goose. But that one was definitely not duck ha  [laugh]

HK Yung Kee will closed down?! Such a waste since it has been around for decades.

"

Hardy opened Kam's Roast Goose, a 35-seat eatery in Wan Chai, which earned its first Michelin star last year. Kevin opened Kam's Kitchen in Tin Hau, specialising in wok-cooked dishes.

On a Thursday afternoon, Kam's Roast Goose - which uses the same Chinese supplier of geese as Yung Kee; its head chef was also from the restaurant - was packed to the rafters. It sells 100 birds a day - the same as Yung Kee, says Hardy.

Keeping any suggestion of schadenfreude out of his tone, he adds: "It's a project dedicated to my father and grandfather. I'm carrying on their legacy with my limited resources. Grandfather didn't start with five storeys in the heart of Central."

"

http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/hong-kong-could-lose-yung-kee