14 babies in KKH's intensive care unit contract 'red eye'

Nzy

Given the recent spats of hospital/patients incidents, I cannot help but think that our healthcare system is deteriorating fast

The crux is the lax hygiene practices and these issues need a serious review

The system has been working fine until a stage where auto pilot breeds complacency

Going to hospitals is so high risks now, cant trust them to take good care of patients anymore

Our health ministar better do something soon, too many incidents within the year to give any excuse of isolated incidents

• Praise 12

Very confusing.

Red eye is not air borne right?

In the nicu, how is it possible for it to spread like this?

Also carers are also disinfecting their hands before and after handling babies.

Strange

Given the recent spats of hospital/patients incidents, I cannot help but think that our healthcare system is deteriorating fast

The system has been working fine until a stage where auto pilot breeds complacency

Going to hospitals is so high risks now, cant trust them to take good care of patients anymore

Our health ministar better do something soon, too many incidents within the year to give any excuse of isolated incidents

I say before liao.

In 2008, my Vietnam customer asked me "What is wrong with your country?".

He kpkb to me that the company in SG that he usually deals with rarely gets his order wrong but ever since some FT (even the FT changes every 2-3 months due to turnover) took over, there are always errors with the shipment he receives. I told him to go and kpkb to the CEO of that company.

2 months later, he tells me the company now employs an SG and it's back to normal for him after that.

He also knows these 2 phrases: 

Check. check and recheck.

You think, I thought, who confirm?

It is not easy to assimilate a different culture/ attitude and then try to pass it off as Singapore. I worked in Vietnam for so long and I have vomited a lot of blood aligning attitudes and expectations. It ain't easy. 

So when you consider how we took in so many in such a short time, there will be fissures and it is not surprising to see this buzzword "Singaporean Core" being used so often lately.

Edited by Sabian

Very confusing.

Red eye is not air borne right?

In the nicu, how is it possible for it to spread like this?

Also carers are also disinfecting their hands before and after handling babies.

Strange

Obviously the nurses not cleaning their hands... thats why can spread thru touch... its a process problem, and its not new what with the recent Hep C outbreak also due to human process error ..

the quality of the staff plays a big part, and I believe more in Singaporean staff than foreigners to do the work.. their foreign life habits are different from ours and being lackadaisical is not uncommon among the FT workers.. cheapest, betterest, fastest, has its price to pay too...  unfortunately, some Singaporeans have paid with their lives and the innocent babies are now in pain too...  :TT_TT:

I say before liao.

He kpkb to me that the company in SG that he usually deals with rarely gets his order wrong but ever since some FT (even the FT changes every 2-3 months due to turnover) took over, there are always errors with the shipment he receives. I told him to go and kpkb to the CEO of that company.

2 months later, he tells me the company now employs an SG and it's back to normal for him after that.

It is not easy to assimilate a different culture/ attitude and then try to pass it off as Singapore. I worked in Vietnam for so long and I have vomited a lot of blood aligning attitudes and expectations. It ain't easy. 

So when you consider how we took in so many in such a short time, there will be fissures and it is not surprising to see this buzzword "Singaporean Core" being used so often lately.

you need our help to integrate back into Singapore society or not?

As long as their gang not affected who cares? Anyway 70% have already given their approval so LLPL. 

They must do a check now and see which nurse in the ward  got eye infection. mai tu liao . . .

I thought they already discovered 10 odd nurses have the infection and asked them all to take mc?

you need our help to integrate back into Singapore society or not?

Better not come back la. Later bring all the viet habits back with him.

Private hospitals may not be better. Who checks em? Kenah mdr tb also dunno from where.

True la.

KKH had 1 baby mix-up case but one of the private hospitals implanted the wrong sperm (or was it egg)....

Call me skeptical but we should be alert and ask questions when in doubt to protect our loved ones who need to stay in hospital

The doc will do his rounds, once or twice a day but most of the times, the nurses are in charge

I say before liao.

Speaking of which, OT a bit, i kanna scolded before by a china cleaner at a private hospital...

I confirmed i turned the handle to lock the toilet...but suddenly this cleaner barged into the toilet and naturally i screamed out of fright, somehow, dunno why the lock wasnt working & i wasnt aware

She scolded me for not locking the toilet! I was like, hey i m the victim since my pants were down n of coz i didnt expect the lock not to be working

I dont think this warranted a scolding from her

To be honest, i felt that i was bullied & i was really upset

think when u come back, there would be some adjustments of this sort ba

Obviously the nurses not cleaning their hands... thats why can spread thru touch... its a process problem, and its not new what with the recent Hep C outbreak also due to human process error ..

the quality of the staff plays a big part, and I believe more in Singaporean staff than foreigners to do the work.. their foreign life habits are different from ours and being lackadaisical is not uncommon among the FT workers.. cheapest, betterest, fastest, has its price to pay too...  unfortunately, some Singaporeans have paid with their lives and the innocent babies are now in pain too...  :TT_TT:

Too bad these kind of jobs no locals want to do. When I was applying for Poly, everyone put nursing as the last choice for just in case only. No one I knew chose nursing as their first few choices. So even the locals who are doing nursing mostly are those who have no choice and can only take nursing in poly. Lol.