Treetop Walk

Showster

Giant millipede seen at Treetop Walk.

Actually if the weather is nice, there are many great nature places in Singapore that provide good walks within a couple of hours.

post-40565-0-43382000-1451484921_thumb.jpg

post-40565-0-79128400-1451485485_thumb.png

post-40565-0-05194200-1451485568_thumb.jpg

post-40565-0-37409000-1451485753_thumb.png

yup. I went by Rifle Range side before.

quite shiok.

NParks really doing up many places,  can plan activity from their website.

Rifle range to treetop walk quite far, right? Is the trail easy to walk?

if I recall, its 2.5km from Rifle Range side so roughly 5km round trip.

easier access to the lookout tower from Rifle Range side too I think.

terrain is up / down at parts so I wore jogging shoes. some parts can be soggy after rain.

so .... not an activity to do with small kids??

definitely not for infant and toddlers, cos there is quite a bit of walking and no shelter if it rains.

if I recall, its 2.5km from Rifle Range side so roughly 5km round trip.

easier access to the lookout tower from Rifle Range side too I think.

terrain is up / down at parts so I wore jogging shoes. some parts can be soggy after rain.

From Venus car park, the nearest carpark to treetop, is already more than 2.4km.Rifle Range Road is at Bukit Timah end of macritchie, that's around 5 to 7km away.

oh, thanks for pointing out.

I may have gotten the distances wrong.

pai seh [;)]

oh, thanks for pointing out.

I may have gotten the distances wrong.

pai seh [;)]

Actually if you look at the Google map the distance is not much different, maybe just a little longer from rifle range side, depending on the actual path one takes.

Tree top walk appear to be right in the middle (slightly closer to Venus Road).

Whichever way it is truely a great hike, with friends or families, and the view from the TreeTop is spectacular.

Today was a good day to trek after the end of 2015, a time for me to reflect at the Treetops my achievement and misses, not going to bored myself to death with life, no wine to cheers nor champagne to shout, merely me and my company of good buddies whom obliged me a day treat with the birds, bee and insects of the natures.

Yes , Bangla workers were resting after trying to replace those wooden path of used boardwalks, setting off from Venus Park ard 2.00+ the journey was 2.6Km to Treetops and another 0.8 to Ranger park plus another 1.1km to adjourning path, total its a distance of approx 8km, I was exhausted as i usually refrain from december raining season. I saw no wild boars and their cute babies searching for foods. Just be careful if thy charge . . . Feedbacks to NPB is of not use, thy called me for more details but did nothing much.

I felt good and went for late noon treats of fresh salad juice bar, totally refreshing and wish for a better New Year 2016 of World Peace and racial harmony. [wave]

definitely not for infant and toddlers, cos there is quite a bit of walking and no shelter if it rains.

I saw a few angmoh bring their kids, complete with stroller and scooters.

But the last part is too steep up and thereafter, too many steps down. They gave up at the last part. Better to go with adults.

Actually I still prefer the trails inside Bukit Timah nature reserves.  They are very challenging because of the steps and rocks. But the trails are close now for "renovation" and only the main slope up to the summit is open.

The treetop walk is pretty manageable actually, kids age 6 and above should not have too much issue.  I use to go up from Venus car park, just a long walk and some up slope.

It is good to do some of these trails,  bring back some balance to the soul. 

Hiked up to Treetop Walk yesterday with my son and yes, it was tough.

We started off from McRitchie reservour carpark and the distance was about 5.4km through the forest trail. The whole hike took 3 hours and we were both aching all over . . . not easy but quite enjoyable.  [grin]

You guys should try but leave your toddlers at home, this trip is more suitable for older kids, teenagers perhaps?

P.S. 5.4km was just to get there, to and fro is total 11km. 

Edited by Count-Bracula

Hiked up to Treetop Walk yesterday with my son and yes, it was tough.

We started off from McRitchie reservour carpark and the distance was about 5.4km through the forest trail. The whole hike took 3 hours and we were both aching all over . . . not easy but quite enjoyable. [grin]

You guys should try but leave your toddlers at home, this trip is more suitable for older kids, teenagers perhaps?

P.S. 5.4km was just to get there, to and fro is total 11km.

[crazy]