2016 Recession Year? Gloom and doom 2017!

Scion

its our bloody education system that makes us like this.........

I notice that too.

All the successful businessmen

didn't go to school.

yeah, but you think our SG property developers and tycoons are not doing similar tricks?  All the same, bro.

Businessmen are shrewd and always looking for loopholes.  If not shrewd, they can't survive for long.

I won't say to the extreme of doing illegal ways to be enterprising. 

Take Uber for example. They are enterprising and successful because they start the biz first, and then work with regulating authorities to a win-win solution.  This is what I meant by being enterprising.

It is not the other way round where they work with regulating authorities and then start the biz.  If Uber does this way, they will never be able to start Uber at all, coz there will be 101 regulation laws against them. 

SG mindset is like that lor.  Every new business you want to start, you will want to check with every Ministry and regulating authorities. And they will tell you No, No, No, No. 

They tell you No, because they may not even have any guidelines in the first place, pertaining to your new business proposal. So the safest way (to protect their own ass), is to say No to you.

How are you going to start any enterprising business?

• Praise 11

Including Blasterman SWH.

But, after come back to SG and get award(s), also jinxed.

Thats why many setup biz in US ...

Including Blasterman SWH.

But, after come back to SG and get award(s), also jinxed.

hahaha see see that award really Jinx 

55452314.jpg

another one bites the dust....

how many out of job?

[sweatdrop]

Streetwear shop 77th Street to close by end-July
  •  
  •  

SINGAPORE: The road for iconic streetwear shop 77th Street has come to an end, with the shutters on its last shop at Ang Mo Kio Hub to come down by the end of July.

The shop’s founder Elim Chew told Mediacorp in an exclusive interview that her decision to close the shop was mainly because of high rentals.

"Well, you know, the dream during that time was to open up to 24 or 30 outlets all around Singapore. The rental was then affordable. But as the rental became higher and higher and higher, we find that we're just working for the landlord to pay off the rental,” she said.

“When I first started, (the rental rate) was S$9 per square foot, today it's S$35 per square foot. So, you know, we decided that we shouldn't embark into opening more shops."

Founded in 1988, 77th Street was popular among youngsters for its range of streetwear and accessories. Its first outlet was a small shop at Far East Plaza. At its peak, the streetwear chain had 16 stores across Singapore.

For more on the story, catch The Great Retail Shake-Up on Talking Point on Thursday (Jun 30) at 9.30pm on Channel 5.

- CNA/cy

she came from a well to do family. parents sent her to london to learn hair cut after she didnt do well in her primary education.

she chanced upon the new stylist fashion while in london and bring over the concept into Singapore.

a top 10 supporter of kong hee.

people who are living in a tough environment tend to be more daring and will do anything possible to survive, or die.

malaysians are one good example. most of the building contractor here are malaysian bosses. most of the singapore registered big

car stuck in the causeway during morning or evening peak hours are driven by malaysian PR.

she came from a well to do family. parents sent her to london to learn hair cut after she didnt do well in her primary education.

she chanced upon the new stylist fashion while in london and bring over the concept into Singapore.

$35 per sq ft?!

We are killing no one except ourselves

Thats why many setup biz in US ...

I heard Taiwan has a very enterprising environment

Taiwan govt give seed money for anyone to start biz. If biz fail, never mind.

got good and bad lah, HK tend to be too extreme in chasing money and tense. If i were choose, maybe Taiwan is more balance environment for entrepreneurship .

HK richest are mostly rent seekers (largely real estate, benefiting from the greedy colonial govt), Taiwan has a diverisified mix. Very few of the richest American billionaires make their fortune from real estate.

What is a good entrepreneur?

http://www.forbes.com/hong-kong-billionaires/list/#tab:overall

http://www.forbes.com/taiwan-billionaires/list/#tab:overall

http://www.forbes.com/forbes-400/list/

HK richest are mostly rent seekers (largely real estate, benefiting from the greedy colonial govt), Taiwan has a diverisified mix. Very few of the richest American billionaires make their fortune from real estate.

What is a good entrepreneur?

http://www.forbes.com/hong-kong-billionaires/list/#tab:overall

http://www.forbes.com/taiwan-billionaires/list/#tab:overall

http://www.forbes.com/forbes-400/list/

She didn't give enough lah

and that why her business close shop.

This is a lesson for everyone here.

Give more or go out of business.

To make things easier I am now

an authorised collector and you

can pass the money to me.

Why?

Author selectively chooses his data to suit his accusations.

He does not explain how or why the primary income deficit is incurred and to use on 1 or 2 metrics to arrive at the conclusion that the bureaucrats in Singapore are doing a poorer job than their counterparts in Taiwan.

What a country does with that primary income is more crucial. The article is very sweeping in that it assumes absolutely zero knowledge transfer when an MNC sets up shop in Singapore.

Wong Ngit Leong and his generation of mfg specialists benefited when the likes of HP (and other MNCs) set up shop in SG. While Venture is still around, Tommie Goh and Koh Boon Hwee ran attractive businesses that attracted the likes of Flextronics/ Celestica.

The govt only forms 1 (albeit a big part) part of the national income. It is what the govt does with the primary income that it earns that is more important. Does the govt fritter money away or does it use the money earned to enhance the country's competitive edge so that the $1 spent earn more than $1 in future returns?

Why?

Bro @Sabian has summarised it very well.

Another article you can read is one of the comments for the link that indicates why primary income is just one variable that cannot be read by itself.

yeah, but you think our SG property developers and tycoons are not doing similar tricks?  All the same, bro.

Businessmen are shrewd and always looking for loopholes.  If not shrewd, they can't survive for long.

I won't say to the extreme of doing illegal ways to be enterprising. 

Take Uber for example. They are enterprising and successful because they start the biz first, and then work with regulating authorities to a win-win solution.  This is what I meant by being enterprising.

It is not the other way round where they work with regulating authorities and then start the biz.  If Uber does this way, they will never be able to start Uber at all, coz there will be 101 regulation laws against them. 

SG mindset is like that lor.  Every new business you want to start, you will want to check with every Ministry and regulating authorities. And they will tell you No, No, No, No. 

They tell you No, because they may not even have any guidelines in the first place, pertaining to your new business proposal. So the safest way (to protect their own ass), is to say No to you.

How are you going to start any enterprising business?

Even forming a carpool service for ppl to cross over to JB, met with a regulatory "NO".  I just don't get it.

Our garment been talking so much about providing smoother trafflic flow at Customs, go Green, save the environment and the craps. 

And someone with carpool service is met with a NO.  Isn't carpool going to reduce the number of cars and result in lesser cars in Customs, and also reducing pollution?

What is garment really concerned about?  Money from custom toll?

Even forming a carpool service for ppl to cross over to JB, met with a regulatory "NO".  I just don't get it.

Our garment been talking so much about providing smoother trafflic flow at Customs, go Green, save the environment and the craps. 

And someone with carpool service is met with a NO.  Isn't carpool going to reduce the number of cars and result in lesser cars in Customs, and also reducing pollution?

What is garment really concerned about?  Money from custom toll?

Have to agree with you that sometimes the govt behaves like the bridge troll in the 3 Billy Goats Gruff.