2016 CNY Long Weekend Jam - When Start and How Jam?

Lurpsexx

Hello Bros,

Based on your past holiday car trips up north, when does the pre-CNY car jams start at the Causeway and Second Link? What time does the jam build up and  when is the jam lightest, at both Customs ?

I've heard advice to go in only after 6pm on the day before the CNY Eve, while others advised go in at the ghostly hour of 3am .... :slow:

Hope you can kindly advise... Thanks in advance!  

Me too still analysing the situation... Maybe Thursday (4/Feb) night or maybe afternoon I chiong up to kl already....., that Friday sure jam like siao and no way I wanna spend my whole Saturday on nshw...

Yes, I also kena before last year on one of the Friday holidays.. waited at home from Fri night till Sat night, desperately looking at Jalannow.com... for 24hrs day and night both causeway and second link jammed like siao going up to Msia... then when it looked like Sg side look a bit loose liao on second day evening, then i cheong to SG custom then pass it.. so happy the bridge up slope clear, then down slope my heart sank... the msian side just after the straits jammed like siao..! ended up wait for 4 hrs to clear msian custom, then by the time we reached the hotel, already past 11pm... damn sian.. the whole day program up in smoke..

so this time dunno how... dunno still wait and rot in SG, or drive in at 1-3am, but no guarantee the SG n msian custom not jammed on 6 Feb very early morning...  :a-bang:

I feel like don't do visiting this cny for the first time by escaping to Malaysia, but because of the jam I have to give up the idea.  Else I sure drive up.

1st day sure quiet one. [thumbsup]

I beg your pardon ....... :slow:

Starting from MY immigration checkpoints and all the way along the highways (especially NSH) full of eagle eyes waiting for 'Ang Pow' or in better notes, "donation" ... [furious]   

Ever kena at checkpoint many years ago. Handover passports to the counter and he returned one passport and said that 'please check' not in order. You checked and checked and he just stared at you doing nothing to the rest of the passports.

I got the message and placed a "donation" in form of a red coloured packet into the passport and thereafter, chop chop, all cleared to enter........ :lll._.:

I feel like don't do visiting this cny for the first time by escaping to Malaysia, but because of the jam I have to give up the idea.  Else I sure drive up.

Sure very jam along the NSH no matter which part of msia you go.

Custom not so jam during the first day of CNY in the morning. But if you want to drive up NSH, prepare to get jam.

Bro, what time these NSH jams occur? day time or night time too? 

Desperate times call for desperate timing... if can avoid, we go in at 3am... thanks bro...

I beg your pardon ....... :slow:

Starting from MY immigration checkpoints and all the way along the highways (especially NSH) full of eagle eyes waiting for 'Ang Pow' or in better notes, "donation" ... [furious]   

Ever kena at checkpoint many years ago. Handover passports to the counter and he returned one passport and said that 'please check' not in order. You checked and checked and he just stared at you doing nothing to the rest of the passports.

I got the message and placed a "donation" in form of a red coloured packet into the passport and thereafter, chop chop, all cleared to enter........ :lll._.:

Thanks bro... good to note these abangs also "celebrate" tahun baru cina with us to...  :=B:

Malaysia CNY is 1-week holiday from 8-12 Feb ... school also close from 8-12 Feb

9 days holiday ... back-to-back

1000% jam jam jam ... families will be traveling extensively from north to south and south to north

huat ah!!!

Desperate times call for desperate timing... if can avoid, we go in at 3am... thanks bro...

Thanks bro... good to note these abangs also "celebrate" tahun baru cina with us to...  :=B:

last time, my malaysian colleague last time used to like leave SG at like 1230-1am, reach melaka by eary morning.

But driving so late can be more dangerous.

Just take leave and go in on Monday, 1st Feb 2016. Sure no jam, no waiting at both custom. Spend your time there R&R.

My bro always go in on 1st day of CNY to KL. No jam. Dont know if this year will go, cos MIL passed away last month.

Malaysia CNY is 1-week holiday from 8-12 Feb ... school also close from 8-12 Feb

9 days holiday ... back-to-back

1000% jam jam jam ... families will be traveling extensively from north to south and south to north

huat ah!!!

so long holiday? Lol i thought only china and taiwan liddat.

I don't know about night time, tried before driving up NSH during late morning on first day of CNY, heavy traffic and jam at certain part of the NSH.

allow me to clarify

the given public holiday is 8-9 Feb but school close from 8-12 Feb

naturally, many family will take leave from 10-12

furthermore, in boleh land many companies (except restaurant) also close from 10-12

so ... 99% 8-12 are holidays !!!

so long holiday? Lol i thought only china and taiwan liddat.

Those going in during CNY.

Things to do :

1) prepare small 'ang pow' S$2/- where easily hidden by passport pages (small one, the size of folded $2/- notes) - 20 packets

2) prepare some medium size one RM20/- ~ RM50/-  -  10 packets

3) prepare larger one RM100/- ~ RM300 - if you prepare to speed or chiong along the highways...  [drivingcar]   number of packets depend on your distant you are going.. [rolleyes]

If all those packets not in use, you are very lucky and your year ahead will be a good year.

The S$2/- packets are also for those 'lor muah' who will approach you whilst at car parks or main roads. This is to ensure that your vehicle is safe.

The RM20/- ~ RM50/- for suddenly kena stop by parking wardens (different coloured uniform [dizzy] , don't know real or bluff one) saying that you park illegally....

And the RM100/- ~ RM300/- ones for traffic cops who will say that you are speeding at 140km/hr when your vehicle speedometer reading only 105km/hr

and lastly, for the 1001 reasons that the traffic cop stop you. KNN rear passengers never put on seat belts become a very serious offence during CNY. Although rules stated that rear passengers must also put on seat belt but only this time, its become very serious. Remember, all passengers & driver to put on seat belts whilst driving in MY.

Some of the weird reasons are checking your driving licence, passport against your NRIC, tinted glass not approve in MY, check your boot for illegal food stuff (bak kwa - visiting relatives in MY), check headlights & signal lights (for fark during day time), ....... etc. All this just to delay your time.

My 2 cents worth of experiences in the past years .... :lll._.: