Unnatural death of 14 year old

Loki

See here's the thing ...

IMHO

What the police "ought and ought not" do is decided upon by society at large,  by placing restrictions on their actions, by deciding what standards of behaviour and protocol we expect of them. 

What the police do should be backed (in terms of policies and procedures) needs to be a balance of solid research and understanding as well as "community expectations / standards". 

To cite an extreme example, I'd be pretty sure if you asked that Jack Bauer will give you a very different answer to how the police should behave as compared to Nelson Mandela. 

Now we don't know the specifics in this instance - so it is too early to reach any sort of informed judgement - other than to fuel a discussion on what we expect of the police in the general sense, and if such expectations were fairly met in this case. 

The point to be taken - solving crimes is different to community policing. 

In the general sense - here's an article about false confessions that goes to the heart of why we don't give the police carte blanch to do what they want - but rather why we place solidly researched and understood parameters on what they are doing in the hopes of striking a balance between catching the guilty and protecting the innocent. 

One quote from the article 

Now that article cites many factors that were NOT present in this case - but it is very easy to extrapolate from that to understand that just because the police want to question you, doesn't mean they should be allowed to do whatever they want. 

i believe you are emotionally overwhelmed by the case until all the bad & evil thing played in your head. Here is not USA by the way.

Which proves the long standing non-spoken conclusion about living here:

You can die for all the garment cares, but any money you owe must be paid, whether you are dead or alive.

Cos they dun know he is back I think.  Anyway hor, the reason of handcuff him because he owe the govt S$2000 fine. Faint.......  After he paid the fine, they release him.

If school call for Ambulance assistance..... Ambulance must come..... they have their work to do 

If School call for Police assistance............Police must come..... they have their work to do

Maybe after this case maybe MOE will have to "teach" HOD or principals on how to "tackle" cases in a more private manner

Of course I am also saddened by a life lost....... what about the victim prior to the report being made, wont she suffer a double shame now   

Honorary Volunteer Special Constabulary (School) Scheme

In 1997, the Honorary Volunteer Special Constabulary (School) Scheme was started to train school discipline masters and teachers as police officers to tackle youth crimes. Under this scheme, teacher cops play the role of law enforcers within the school context and provide advice on matters pertaining to delinquency and police procedures. In addition, they provide counselling to delinquent students as well as work with other stakeholders to address youth crimes. Currently, more than 90% of the schools have participated in the scheme.

Another white elephant? Give the title but do nothing?

I think it's pure speculation on our part to say that the boy jumped due to the embarrassment of being pulled out from class. There is also no mention in the article on how he was called out from class. It could be that he jumped because he was afraid of facing the perceived consequences of his misdeeds if the allegations were true.

Anyway, I'm sure his parents and the police will be doing some soul searching as a result of this. The loss of life could have been avoided. 

RIP.

I added one word to the quote - it's not hard for me to imagine, that in the interests of getting at the truth, the police put the proverbial "fear of god" into the kid 

Which is actually kinda the point - 

we don't know what happened during the time he was pulled out of class, what was said to him before, during and after the interview or indeed - we don't even know what it is he allegedly did. 

No matter what though - I don't know of anybody that thinks it is a good thing that a person is dead over a molest allegation - so the focus now is to see what could have been done better, and if the way this was handled had a "likelihood" of creating this sort of stress 

14 yo is Sec 2? Remember at that age, school outing at Fort Canning, halfway want to siam so a few of us sneaked down the road. Halfway saw SPF patrol car we started running. Car obviously faster waited at the foot, when we reached they asked boys who chasing you?

At that age, highly likely to just admit and say I am Spartacus even if not your fault to avoid more trouble.

Interesting how Jack Bauer came up in one of the posts, favourite JB, favourite quote:

"You are going to tell me everything I want to know or I swear to God I will hurt you before I kill you, and no one will be able to stop me"

Strawberry generation. RIP.

my classmate was caned in front of our class for stealing from our classmates.

My time in the late 60's/early 70's in primary school every Friday or so got public caning during assembly , most of them were Primary 6Repeat1 and 6 Repeat2 students so they are like 13 or 14 or even 15 years old but still stuck in Primary school ), some were like real gangsters, cane also no effect, Aiyah! my school in the Chai Chee, PengGhee area last time got many gangster type; I remember quite vividly sometimes they were made to strip in to toilet too (Yes my school was all boys school).... man .......those were the days 

sec school. yeah.

big fat rotan. they put a thin text book between buttocks and pants to reduce the pain.

hahha yes yes , thats wat they did . one look also can tell , there is a book .  :secret-laugh:

Like that mata have to go and invite people for questioning after office hours liao. Day time cannot, everybody in school or working.

Next thing you know someone will suggest mata send email to suspects and make appointment in advance for questioning.

eh whatsapp lah

create group chat with judge too...kekekekek

Honorary Volunteer Special Constabulary (School) Scheme

In 1997, the Honorary Volunteer Special Constabulary (School) Scheme was started to train school discipline masters and teachers as police officers to tackle youth crimes. Under this scheme, teacher cops play the role of law enforcers within the school context and provide advice on matters pertaining to delinquency and police procedures. In addition, they provide counselling to delinquent students as well as work with other stakeholders to address youth crimes. Currently, more than 90% of the schools have participated in the scheme.

Another white elephant? Give the title but do nothing?

Bro.... I really don't know about this one... I finished primary school 25 years before that ... maybe my son's school got I don't really know.... MCF many new dimensions/ things/ updating to learn one [thumbsup]    

i believe you are emotionally overwhelmed by the case until all the bad & evil thing played in your head. Here is not USA by the way.

No its not - 

But I am having trouble understanding in what context you're making the comment - 

Is it is relation to the research that I quoted, done at the university of Iowa?  If so - I fail to see what "not being the US" has anything to do with it - there may well be differences of degree across cultures, but the basic premise of the research will still be correct. 

If its about me being too "liberal" and that an authoritarian / police authority approach as taken in Singapore is more appropriate than the "soft" approach of civil rights focused America - then I guess Mea Culpa - I am fairly liberal in my views, and I'm perfectly willing to own that.

14 yr old still a teenager, probably very frightened by what happened

Perhaps for kids, teenagers, they should have a different protocol or at least one that ensure their psychological well being

Kids are kinda locked in school, if what was mentioned is true that police arrested him in his class, this is totally unnecessary

As mentioned by carnoob n other bros, the teacher should bring him down to principal office to handover to the police

These are afterall teeangers, they are still fragile n not mature totally

Why cannot?  

After all they are still suspects and not criminals yet right?  if it is just questioning (and not arrest) why not do it at the suspect's convenience (within reason of course) - unless there is a pressing reason why it must be NOW (which is hard to see in a case like this) 

Maybe it is not NOW but just that they have a list of suspects to interview and he happen to be next on the list and they will move on to the next suspect on the list?

Everybody just assumes the mata have all the time in the world like they only need to interview that 1 kid that day. 

What's wrong with the police?

Just bcuz someone make a report, they had to go bust a school and arrest a boy without proof but just an allegation.

Edited by Kb27

No its not - 

But I am having trouble understanding in what context you're making the comment - 

Is it is relation to the research that I quoted, done at the university of Iowa?  If so - I fail to see what "not being the US" has anything to do with it - there may well be differences of degree across cultures, but the basic premise of the research will still be correct. 

If its about me being too "liberal" and that an authoritarian / police authority approach as taken in Singapore is more appropriate than the "soft" approach of civil rights focused America - then I guess Mea Culpa - I am fairly liberal in my views, and I'm perfectly willing to own that.

"I added one word to the quote - it's not hard for me to imagine, that in the interests of getting at the truth, the police put the proverbial "fear of god" into the kid 

Which is actually kinda the point - 

we don't know what happened during the time he was pulled out of class, what was said to him before, during and after the interview or indeed - we don't even know what it is he allegedly did."

your first 2 posts was jumping straight into all kind of imagination, then you add "we dun know what actually happen and what he did"

if the invitation and the interview was done according to the SOP in simple question and answer, then the responsibility fall back to the mum from the time she took him home to the time he jump. The mum has the responsibility to put things back in perspective with the son and ensure him everything will be fine.

If the problem begin with the way the police handle the case, i believe the investigation into the case by review the video on what happen in the room.

Could have been more tactful. Young life gone in a flash....haiz.

RIP.

We don't know how the police get to see him in school.  Is it the police just walk into the classroom and called out the student to step out or they go to Principal's office and asked the staff to convey the message to the teacher in class to ask the student to go to Principal's office?

If the police just walked into the classroom and called out the student to step out, then this is very wrong. The IO is an idiot.

If the police go to Principal's office and wait for the student, then this is good.  In fact, this should be the SOP. 

But again, we also don't know whether its a Police Car or an unmarked car that went into the school.  If its a Police Car, then its v malu for the student to be escorted into it.  

Another thing, the kid only 14 yrs old.  What's the SOP for interviewing a kid?  Doesn't the police need to inform the parents first and the parents must be present during the interview process?

I think someone is not following the SOP..........

hahha yes yes , thats wat they did . one look also can tell , there is a book .  :secret-laugh:

i remember so tried and it made a strange sound & that one kenna double and kenna cane in the toilet - with pants down back then in the late  '60s... teachers know the sound one , Some put extra handkerchief...... that one got away.... but dont know if it really made any effect in reducing the pain.     

yah...student older than teechers...and bigger, those pri8 and all...hahhaha....

those days shiok, take out uniform, settle outside w teacher.  TEacher oso mafia style...