TP: Keep sending photos, videos of errant road users!

Runforyourlife

Traffic Police: Keep sending photos, videos of errant road users

By TAN TAM MEI

There are millions of smartphones in use in Singapore, and the Traffic Police (TP) hopes to harness them to help police the road, said TP Commander Sam Tee yesterday.

"(The) TP welcomes the public to send (traffic) violation photographs and videos because it's much more powerful," he said.

"If we can harness and crowdsource that... it will go a long way to help us build a more disciplined culture among road users."

The Assistant Commissioner of Police (AC) was speaking to reporters at the release of the annual road traffic statistics at TP headquarters in Ubi.

AC Tee said the TP receives close to 500 submissions a month of videos, photos and tip-offs regarding traffic violations or errant road users.

"We continue to welcome that, and we are also looking into how to make it easier for people to submit information to us...

BEING WATCHED

"There are a lot of cars with in-vehicle cameras, so it's easy. When you spot someone beating the red light, you can just download it and send it to us via e-feedback," he said.

These submissions have played a part in deterrence and making road users more aware that they are being watched by others, he added.

The TP has also deployed a new mobile speed camera (MSC) - the first one was installed on Monday at Seletar West Link.

The MSC can detect up to 32 vehicles over a reach of five lanes at any time and is able to transmit images to TP headquarters automatically, eliminating the need to reload and retrieve wet-film negatives.

It also has its own batteries and can be deployed in just one week, compared to existing fixed speed cameras that take six months to set up.

AC Tee said: "To be fair, preceding the cameras we will have warning signs to tell people that there's a speed camera in front, please slow down.

"So our idea is not to fine him, but the idea is to deter him from speeding. And if he slows down, he saves his life and saves the lives of others."

If we can harness and crowdsource that... it will go a long way to help us build a more disciplined culture among road users.

- Traffic Police Commander Sam Tee on public participation

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-news/traffic-police-keep-sending-photos-videos-errant-road-users

-----

So what are you waiting for? :D Cash incentive like STOMP? :X

TKSS one.... send pictures of illegal parking along whole stretch of single continuous white line road... no effect one.

Every weekend still the same situation.

Damn 500 submissions per month?!? Unless it absolutely necessary, like some major accidents or someone nearly got killed, then I'll submit. 

TKSS one.... send pictures of illegal parking along whole stretch of single continuous white line road... no effect one.

TP does not handle illegal parking.

Tis the job of LTA or URA

typically those religious one? check out the muslim mosque on a weekly basis and on a yearly basis, the columbarium at mount vernon, really tok kong hahaha.

those think they close one eye la

Traffic Police: Keep sending photos, videos of errant road users

By TAN TAM MEI

There are millions of smartphones in use in Singapore, and the Traffic Police (TP) hopes to harness them to help police the road, said TP Commander Sam Tee yesterday.

"(The) TP welcomes the public to send (traffic) violation photographs and videos because it's much more powerful," he said.

"If we can harness and crowdsource that... it will go a long way to help us build a more disciplined culture among road users."

The Assistant Commissioner of Police (AC) was speaking to reporters at the release of the annual road traffic statistics at TP headquarters in Ubi.

AC Tee said the TP receives close to 500 submissions a month of videos, photos and tip-offs regarding traffic violations or errant road users.

"We continue to welcome that, and we are also looking into how to make it easier for people to submit information to us...

BEING WATCHED

"There are a lot of cars with in-vehicle cameras, so it's easy. When you spot someone beating the red light, you can just download it and send it to us via e-feedback," he said.

These submissions have played a part in deterrence and making road users more aware that they are being watched by others, he added.

The TP has also deployed a new mobile speed camera (MSC) - the first one was installed on Monday at Seletar West Link.

The MSC can detect up to 32 vehicles over a reach of five lanes at any time and is able to transmit images to TP headquarters automatically, eliminating the need to reload and retrieve wet-film negatives.

It also has its own batteries and can be deployed in just one week, compared to existing fixed speed cameras that take six months to set up.

AC Tee said: "To be fair, preceding the cameras we will have warning signs to tell people that there's a speed camera in front, please slow down.

"So our idea is not to fine him, but the idea is to deter him from speeding. And if he slows down, he saves his life and saves the lives of others."

If we can harness and crowdsource that... it will go a long way to help us build a more disciplined culture among road users.

- Traffic Police Commander Sam Tee on public participation

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore-news/traffic-police-keep-sending-photos-videos-errant-road-users

-----

So what are you waiting for? :D Cash incentive like STOMP? :X

really or not, me and my group of friend really summited a lot of errant road user,

till now non is catch .

TP does not handle illegal parking.

Tis the job of LTA or URA

I know.... just taking the opportunity to vent against the big organization in general. [:p]

the thingy is that system not very friendly to use.

once i witness a jam along the exit from whampoa drive, one lane traffic. taxi uncle was being rammed from e back. the poor taxi guy came out and exchange nric, behind one ah beng kukupoot very inpatient kept honking and when he drove out, i think on purpose, clipped the old uncle whom ended up having an injured ankle and have to call in the ambulance.

end up make the jam even longer.

really or not, me and my group of friend really summited a lot of errant road user,

till now non is catch .

they catch or not will tell u one meh? think wont right

typically those religious one? check out the muslim mosque on a weekly basis and on a yearly basis, the columbarium at mount vernon, really tok kong hahaha.

those think they close one eye la

I am all for religious tolerance....you are free to practice your religion within the confines of your religious space. But if your congregation spills over into public space and causing nuisance and obstruction, I have issue with that.

We are a secular state with secular laws. when did it ever include a clause for free parking and temporary exemption from parking rules just because you need to do your private session with whoever you believe up there.

the thingy is that system not very friendly to use.

once i witness a jam along the exit from whampoa drive, one lane traffic. taxi uncle was being rammed from e back. the poor taxi guy came out and exchange nric, behind one ah beng kukupoot very inpatient kept honking and when he drove out, i think on purpose, clipped the old uncle whom ended up having an injured ankle and have to call in the ambulance.

end up make the jam even longer.

they catch or not will tell u one meh? think wont right

catch or not catch,confirm this make all road user obey traffic rules better, cos they know any time of the days u on the road, at least got a few video cam on u .

chu pattern nia, F.B , stomp , etc all can see, no horse run .

to help me summit video, I even siao on upgrade to a blacksys front and back video cam, damn clear.

but of couse this action by TP  have no effect the king of the road, ( we all know who )

at least as of current suitation lol

catch or not catch,confirm this make all road user obey traffic rules better, cos they know any time of the days u on the road, at least got a few video cam on u .

chu pattern nia, F.B , stomp , etc all can see, no horse run .

to help me summit video, I even siao on upgrade to a blacksys front and back video cam, damn clear.

but of couse this action by TP  have no effect the king of the road, ( we all know who )

at least as of current suitation lol

Wu nia bo? If so siao on, go volunteer SPF, can submit report till you song.

no joke, if u are a road user who obey traffic rules, but every day u kenna disturb by errant road user, 1 day u will lost it.

at work already stress, finish work , when driving home also kenna stress

been driving 20 odd years without any cam.

only ppl buang me, I never even buang ppl once

last year jitao ki siao, wack 600 blacksys LOL.

now use h/p application , damn easy

I am all for religious tolerance....you are free to practice your religion within the confines of your religious space. But if your congregation spills over into public space and causing nuisance and obstruction, I have issue with that.

We are a secular state with secular laws. when did it ever include a clause for free parking and temporary exemption from parking rules just because you need to do your private session with whoever you believe up there.

here comes the carlite. summon all the cars outside.

govt to cater buses from all over sg to send ppl to and fro :D