Is your car worth what it cost? [Shocking]

Vratenza

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1HFpfupS90&ebc=ANyPxKrCfDxe4hhkvkBUqmiSY00uqJtqjclkstoIxtpI4Be8FTnNjf1vqpipGkf9bavHBjdj8X6KlL-rS75wyOsF_CekqZVdwA

Just by looking at the front suspension construction and material used, we can draw very telling conclusion whether you are getting what you paid for.

Quick summary for the 10 SUV car line up (for those who don't understand Chinese):

Model                   -  Front suspension setup  - material                       - relative cost

Audi Q5                 - Double-wish bone             - forged alloy                    - 4000 (yuan)

Porsche Macan     - Double-wish bone             - forged alloy                    - 4000 (yuan)

Infiniti QX50           - Double-wish bone             - forged alloy                    - 4000 (yuan)

Merc GLK              - Macpherson                      -  forged alloy                   - 1200 (yuan)

Audi Q3                 - Macpherson                      -  forged alloy                    - 1200 (yuan)

Cadillac SRX         - Macpherson                      -  forged alloy                    - 1200 (yuan)

Landrover Evoque - Macpherson                      -  forged alloy                    - 1200 (yuan)

BMW X3                - Macpherson                      - cast iron                          -  750 (yuan)

BMW X1                - Macpherson                      - cast iron                          -  750 (yuan)

Volvo XC60           - Macpherson                      - double stamped/welded - 450 (yuan)

LR Discovery        - Macpherson                      - double stamped/welded - 450 (yuan)

Lexus NX              - Macpherson                      - double stamped/welded - 450 (yuan)  ---> same as Toyota RAV4 / Hyundai Tucson

Lexus RX              - Macpherson                      - double stamped/welded - 450 (yuan)

Edited by Vratenza

Of cos there will be differences in those areas. This is mainly to highlight things most buyers will not notice since the suspension cannot be seen or touched. Which brings us back to the point on which marque save cost in which area.

But trust me when I say different material and manufacturing process will affect the handling of the car. Used to drive a legacy BL9, after swapping out the cast iron swing arms with forged aluminium alloy ones, the handling improved by leaps and bounds.

shocking? nah ....

you have not compare BMW M, Mercedes AMG, Audi RS and Porsche body kit

smelly smelly $8k-$10K and China can do with 1/10 of the price ... lol

yeah ... go try china made wheel [sly]

stylo mylo bling bling and cheap cheap ...

That said... I still can't fully trust China products...

Any day can have scandal.. Don't know wat mix with wat to cut costs...

shocking? nah ....

you have not compare BMW M, Mercedes AMG, Audi RS and Porsche body kit

smelly smelly $8k-$10K and China can do with 1/10 of the price ... lol

Quality of China body kit of 1/10 of ori.

Of cos there will be differences in those areas. This is mainly to highlight things most buyers will not notice since the suspension cannot be seen or touched. Which brings us back to the point on which marque save cost in which area.

But trust me when I say different material and manufacturing process will affect the handling of the car. Used to drive a legacy BL9, after swapping out the cast iron swing arms with forged aluminium alloy ones, the handling improved by leaps and bounds.

cannot be seen and touch... but the sensation in handling and ride can feel

and that is where the $$$ is worth

cannot be seen and touch... but the sensation in handling and ride can feel

and that is where the $$$ is worth

Most buyers test drive for the sake of test drive... Or at most listen to cabin noise and ride comfort.

Not many can really discern between a good handling car and a boat trying to pass off as a car.

Cannot compare lah. Even though the brand is international, these cars are all made in China for their own domestic market.

I do hope what you said is true. Anyone with the above mentioned cars can vwrufy the claims?

My lexua GS 09 lower swing arm minimum i think is cast iron based on look and how heavy it looks when the workshop boss showed to me.

yeah ... go try china made wheel [sly]

stylo mylo bling bling and cheap cheap ...

You will be surprised,most Japanese car OEM wheels are Made In China,like my Mazda 6,19"... :o

This is fairly meaningless. The person who said it's due to R&D said it best. True, you're paying for the marque's brand name, but that also ties in to the R&D that went into the car, and other tangible and intangible qualities (desirability, design, performance, etc.).

At least the car maker did something to earn the right to a higher price tag. Even those that started out as the lowliest in the hierarchy - e.g. Hyundai (once upon a time), now make perfectly respectable cars that can demand a much higher market value.

If you want to kpkb about how you're overpaying for motoring privileges, look at gahmen levied taxes and fees (including COE, ARF, petrol and road taxes). They do practically nothing* but still expect to make that money off us. Lay the blame squarely where it belongs. [rolleyes]

(*: to be fair, they do do something. They are constantly thinking of new ways to extract more money from us, more efficiently. I guess that counts for something). :D

I am not agaunst paying for premium brands and products.

Let me give you an analogy:

You pay premium for say a branded luxury watch. Later you found out that inside the mechanism is made of sub par materials that even casio use for their run of mill watches.

The luxry watch brand explained that they have put in tonnes of R&D time to make sure the mechanism works perfectly with this lower cost material. You as a consumer will not notice the difference unless you open it up. If anything happens you have lifetime warranty with the service center anyway.

Compare it to another similar priced luxury watch by another brand. Inside the watch uses the lightest, strongest and most lasting material for the mechanism. You will not feel the difference but which brand will earn your respect and trust as a luxury watch maker?