HDB Bathroom floor leaks into neighbour's ceiling

Albeniz

Folks need to seek your advice.

Recently, my neighbour from one storey below mine informed me that water from my bathroom floor leaks through their ceiling.

Some work might be needed to resolve the issue.

As we are staying in old HDB flat, what is the best way to address the issue?

1.  Contact HDB and get HDB appointed contractor to do the work.

2.  Get an independent contractor to do the repair work.

Would there be any subsidy from HDB for the repair work?  

How should the payment be split?  50-50 with neighbour, or 100% on me?

Many thanks.

Recently, my neighbour from one storey below mine informed me that water from my bathroom floor leaks through their ceiling.

Many thanks.

HDB contractor. But their rates are usually reasonable. no subsidy.

Not sure about the fee split. But likely u have to foot the bill.

I did before and it was 50-25-25. Hdb-me-neighbour, goodwill repair they call it. It was a messy 3 days work but now I heard is only 1.5 days, some kind of new method so less messy too.

Done that at my dad flat.

Call HDB. They send staff to your flat and your down stair neighbor flat to check the situation.

Quote price for repair. If both flat owners agreed, proceed with repair.

About 3 days to repair due to one day required for waterproof. Cost to split 50-50 after HDB pay 50%.

The repair will be done at your bathroom.

Your down stair neighbor will not be affect. He just need to agreed with the cost.

Edited by Patwong

i kena as a resident below, call hdb to force the neighbor upstairs to fix the problem.

If the building is too old, hdb will some time understand that they have to bear some of the cost. Then soon the estate will have upgrading project.

Many thanks.

Ask HDB to do.  Then payment to be spilt 50/50 between you and your neighbour.  One of relatives kena.

Seek help from the MP in writing to HDB for subsidy and need not fork out much of the cost.

i kena as a resident below, call hdb to force the neighbor upstairs to fix the problem.

If the building is too old, hdb will some time understand that they have to bear some of the cost. Then soon the estate will have upgrading project.

Don't think there are too old hdb here la, most hdb here don't exceed 50 year old.

Seek help from the MP in writing to HDB for subsidy and need not fork out much of the cost.

No need to go MP directly, once you notify HDB, their officer will do it so that you + neighbour only pay 50% of the cost, HDB pay 50%.

Don't think there are too old hdb here la, most hdb here don't exceed 50 year old.

My MIL Hdb is around 70 years old.

Flat 47 year old? Still no news on SERS eh?!

Hers also no SERS. We are waiting waiting waiting....

Bloody place has no lift also. 60 plus year old woman gotta climb up 4 stories everyday. The fellow on the second or third floor is on a wheel chair. I think he is homebound alrdy.

Many thanks.

actually it is to call your respective HDB office branch, not the main HDB HQ @ Toa Payoh

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/contact-us

Bloody place has no lift also. 60 plus year old woman gotta climb up 4 stories everyday. The fellow on the second or third floor is on a wheel chair. I think he is homebound alrdy.

No complain to the MP??!!!!! 

huh? got 70 yr old HDB? 70 yr ago i dun think got HDB set up yet leh...

Which area is this?

Anyway, like what everyone here says, it's HDB pays half of total bill, and the balance split betw upstairs and downstairs, and only upstairs got work (inconvenience) involved. Downstairs maybe just paint the affected part a bit can already.

I used to kanna as both upstairs and downstairs.