Need Repair on removing scratches

Sosaria

Actually, the scratch is more like a "scrape", slightly larger than one hand's width, and about 6 inches length, affecting both front and rear doors on one side. Brought to a workshop (which shall not be named here), and was quoted about $380 - this is for repairing the damage and respraying the two doors, plus respraying the front bumper which was involved in another minor scrape earlier.

Though have been driving for some years, this is the first time I've to repair a scratch on my car. Which is a good thing, actually... But would like some advice on the price range for such a repair on 2 doors + 1 bumper - is the quote reasonable, or I kena [knife] ??

This guy I spoke too mentioned the need to respray the door, although, even if they intend to do spot painting, they still counted it as two doors, owing to my bad luck in getting the scrape right across two doors. Not doing the front bumper will knock roughly $100 off the price.

How did your spot painting turn out? Is it "seamless", or you can still see, close-up, that the paintwork has been touched up?

Dear all,

sorri for bringing out an old thread,but i need to ask where is a good and value for money place for me to repair n spraypaint a deep scrape/scratch.

its an Altis,damage is at right rear door,at the area between the wheel arch and rear door.there are minor scrape/scratch marks to the right and left of the damage area too.

below are some pictures:

post-8-1201002481_thumb.jpg

$380 for such repair is okie, depends on the workmanship. Make sure that all the rust are removed or it will come back very soon...

btw, how long are you going to drive this car? such rust are not common for new car... usually its found on older cars... if u intended to sell the car soon, Y not bear with it and save the money??

If u really stay with this car for another few years and want to repair, you might also wanna ask the workshop how much is it to spray the whole car. if parts of your car is rusted, i believe the remaining parts of the paint condition should be quite bad as well....

just my 2 cents...

I am sure most of us have gone through the same thing before, when you get a *new car (new or used car, but you just bought it)

1st week, everyday wash the car, inspect for any flaws in the paint work, after that drops to 3 times a week, 2 times a week, once a week, etc.. ha ha

My question is, can you accept scratches, dings from people opening the door, stone chips from driving etc on your new car? Knowing that if you go and respray/touch up etc, shortly sure kenna again

at what point do you give up and just live with the flaws in the paintwork?

for me personally I cannot stand flaws like that in the 1st 2-3 months of owning a new car, after that become more accepting, and by the time reach 1 yr plus, don't really care too much anymore as long as not too jialat

what about you guys? are you still as fussy about your new car paintwork as time goes by? what was the timeframe/turning point?

the 1st few mths mayb will heart pain abit..but wont let it affect me too much..after a few mths to a yr..no feeling liao..haha..part and parcel of driving..

Owned cars for the past 10 years. 1st car every month wax one time and wash twice a week. Curb rashes and dings send straight for reparirs and touch ups... Now this car 1st month had an idiotic colleague open his door kena my driver side door also not much feeling liao... Juz every week wash once and not too serious a paint defect live with it.. Part and parcel of car ownership.

Oh.. but one thing I'm still very particular is never park beside two type of vehicles. One is cars that obviously dun belong to owner per se, i.e., lorrys, vans, taxis etc. The second type is those park head in one... Cuz for the latter when they reverse out in our small lots have too much on their hands to be vigilant about not scraping the car beside if they turn too early (kena car on left) or too late (kena car on right).

First week, i already got small ding.

Then some marks here and there.

Now, I don't really care as long as there's no accidents to it.

But I did have 1 small accident where I kissed somebody from the back. I paid for his repair, didn't do mine at all (bumper at the left abit out, bonnet at the left abit bent down). Keke...

Edited by Xspace

I think it's just depend on the owner. I won't wash my car nowadays (had it for 3 years now) once a week. More like wash when the car gets too dirty. But with the rainy weather nowadays, will just wait for the rain to come and "wash" away the dirt.

hahaha

I got a huge scratch on my spoiler when my car was one month old. Some truck drove past and a bag of rubbish fell off and landed on the spoiler. The culprit drove off without stopping and I was too shocked to react. Really heart pain. Thought about it long and hard for weeks before I got it resprayed.

I think the change in mindset came when the car was about 2 years old. No longer look for "safe" parking lots. However, I would still paint over scratches with touch up paint.

Now car is 6 years old, I don't even bother with the touch up paint.

The car is my life. [laugh] will sent for grooming every other month. any scratchs not removed by grooming will be respray!

Wow...You really pamper your car.... [thumbsup]