How do you spice things up in life?

Ahtong

How do we tell the difference?

Let's say someone don't earn much.

By being frugal, he has some small savings and is perfectly ok with not owning a car or living in a condo ever.

At work, he is quite happy where he is and not trying to move further up.

At home, just play PC games and go for occasional movie / window shopping on weekends

Is this considered contented or slack? Above is hypothetical example only

By being frugal, he has some small savings and is perfectly ok with not owning a car or living in a condo ever.

At home, just play PC games and go for occasional movie / window shopping on weekends

foreveralone.png

Being contented is a state of mind. A person is slack only from the perspective of someone who is more industrious.

sounds like what i am doing now, slacking and no more motivation to chiong career (after 15 years).

contented sounds like a good word for self consolation? [laugh] it has pro and con and reflect how you view life and life surrounding you :D

Hi bro,

Yup, it's been some time. :D

Hope all has been well for you!

wah bro u long time appear once..come out v chim quote again as usual [laugh]

sounds like what i am doing now, slacking and no more motivation to chiong career (after 15 years).

contented sounds like a good word for self consolation? [laugh] it has pro and con and reflect how you view life and life surrounding you :D

actively disengaged? [sly]

Being contented is a state of mind. A person is slack only from the perspective of someone who is more industrious.

[thumbsup] best explanation.

like i am contented with what i have now.

but i am working towards getting more.

even if i dont get, i wont feel sad.

Ironically, it is your current state of mind that allows you to achieve even more with less! [;)]

By letting go, you receive more. The more one clings to what he has, the harder it is to progress.

[thumbsup] best explanation.

like i am contented with what i have now.

but i am working towards getting more.

even if i dont get, i wont feel sad.

He is contented, not slack.

From your example, he is "not trying to move up", it does not mean he won't move up of given a chance. He is just happy as he is.

to each his own.

if it's a 'lifestyle' one chooses, they shld live wif it. juz dun lay the blame on FT, gahmen, kiasu s'poreans, ozone layer, etc if opportunities past them by.

What about his love life? He got gf? He contented with her? :D

He is contented, not slack.

so if one works for 1 year, got saving liaoz, quite job for half year, than no money repeat the cycle..

slack or contented?

Ironically, it is your current state of mind that allows you to achieve even more with less! [;)]

By letting go, you receive more. The more one clings to what he has, the harder it is to progress.

no string attach will likely make you perform better.

as you wont weight your every action on whether this is going to be value added for the promotion or not.

you will just do it.

Slack(in SG context only), or I'd go for a moderate view, Lack of Ambition.

While we are in our peak working age, 25-40, this is the period where the choices we make and effort we put in determines our future.

If he has no dependents and don't intend to marry, and his parents have enough retirement funds to take care of themselves, and he doens't

mind that he has no insurance against any crisis that might come his way, then that's the life to lead.

People however, are always looking to improve themselves, in character or financially, and not trying the best you can might result in

regrets/liabilities in future which is the point many people are buffering against through hard/smart work.