Need advice - Sedan, SUV, MPV

Yysiong

Hi All,

I need some advice here.

My car expiring in may 2017. Its a hatchback.

I have a kid now, 18 month. May be planning another in 2018.

I am torn between getting a sedan, a mpv, or a suv like harrier.

I am getting mixed remarks from various people, some telling me i should go for an MPV as it can give me more miles when my kids grow up, but some tell me if i am not driving more than 5pax often, why waste money and style on MPV, just get a bigger suv or sedan will do.

Its a battle of the heart and mind again. My heart calling out to harrier or B180, but my mind telling me think long term get an MPV.

What do you all think?

Hi All,

I need some advice here.

I am getting mixed remarks from various people, some telling me i should go for an MPV as it can give me more miles when my kids grow up, but some tell me if i am not driving more than 5pax often, why waste money and style on MPV, just get a bigger suv or sedan will do.

Its a battle of the heart and mind again. My heart calling out to harrier or B180, but my mind telling me think long term get an MPV.

What do you all think?

Buy what you enjoy driving. The next car might be a driverless one..

If it is just you, wife and two kids, occasionally parents or parents in laws, then 5 seater sedan or suv suffice. If you need to load more than 6, then 7 seater MPV or suv.

Just get a sedan / SUV. MPV is a bit overkill for a family of 3 in your current situation. Even if you have 1 more kid, it is still more than sufficient.

Unless currently, you also need to fetch your parents / in-laws around.

Get something that makes you look forward to driving it every morning  [:p]

Same experience like me, difficult to decide between suv or mpv. But I choose suv, go with the feel. I owned sedan and mpv before moving to suv. It is a huge different, safer and see better, secure and everyone happy. I do bring my parents and in law in my suv. They also told me to get mpv, but it is me and my Wife decision. We want a change, busy looking after kids and it is time to reward ourselves. Harrier finally, never look back after since. Good luck !

Edited by Jq1988

The sensible choice would be a MPV, which is like a versatile stationwagon. The third row seats can be folded down to convert to extra boot space. If you need to ferry more pax, the third row seats can be folded back.

A 7 seater SUV serves the same purpose as a MPV, but it consumes more fuel & may be more expensive to purchase & maintain. However, the higher seating position gives you a bird's eye view ahead.

Choice is yours.  [:)]

i regretted not getting that 2drs before we have kids. And cabriolet before my 2nd son comes along...

Now... my options only that few.

sianz half

Need to know more before can recommend you accordingly

- Are you going to hire a maid in the future? And if so do you envision everyone going on outings together?

- Do you ferry you kids + parents / in laws around?

- Do you have access to a larger car when required?

- What kind of cars do you like to drive at heart? (some people dun care so this is impt also)

I got 2 kids and a sedan no maid, but I have access to larger cars if need be. Can advise you from my views if I know more about your situation.

Hi All,

I need some advice here.

What do you all think?

Need to know more before can recommend you accordingly

- Are you going to hire a maid in the future? And if so do you envision everyone going on outings together?

- Do you ferry you kids + parents / in laws around?

- Do you have access to a larger car when required?

- What kind of cars do you like to drive at heart? (some people dun care so this is impt also)

I got 2 kids and a sedan no maid, but I have access to larger cars if need be. Can advise you from my views if I know more about your situation.

1. No plan for maid. Prefer to do everything ourself

2. Seldom ferry parent or in laws. Maybe max 15 day in a year

3. Well.. MPV or 5+2 are expensive to drive and maintain. The cheapest 2 option i see are xtrail and caren diesel. I will love to drive a civic or harrier

Assuming 5-pax max usage, consider an estate. It is extremely practical vs a sedan. There are some very nice estates around. Problem is it's not popular with SG.

What about honda vezel? Not too big with higher than sedan driving position.

Vezel backrow is too cramp. Will prefer bigger legroom

Cool, okay so the base criteria would something like below (I'm assuming based on my situation)

- 5 seater is sufficient

- Best if the car is wider, this allows wife to be behind to care for the baby sitting in the center. Subject to the design of your child seats.

- Alternatively 1 kid sits infront, but front air bag has to be disabled.

- Boot should be large enough too accommodate 2 strollers or both baby seats on the rate occasion you need to fetch 4 adults and place the seats back temporarily.

Given the above I would go for the harrier, I am not familiar with civics if they can tick the boxes above you can consider that as well. But Harrier confirm can with room for flexibility (plus being SUV its safer)

Xtrail is not bad and cheap too maintain (we have) but the pickup is slow though, however its a decent overall 7 seater and SUV plus the price is right.

3. Well.. MPV or 5+2 are expensive to drive and maintain. The cheapest 2 option i see are xtrail and caren diesel. I will love to drive a civic or harrier

Hi All,

I need some advice here.

What do you all think?

Eh same dilemma when I bought last January after my 2nd one is born.

I maybe getting a maid this year also.

My car is one of the widest interiors u can get. 2 child Seats on iso fix points. You need at least an interior with width 1.8m and above. Mine is 1.86m. My wife or a normal sized maid can squeeze in between them.

Get either your Harrier or b180. Or buy a car u like 2nd hand.

I only fetch my parents once a while. If so I remove my older girl child seat and she seats with my wife and mother in the back.

Lol Harrier and the new 1.5t civic very different animals leh. Lol. Unless u are talking the forester xt

Hi All,

I need some advice here.

What do you all think?

Aiyo, very difficult to advice lah, different strokes for different folks, right?

Really  depends on your needs and wants, preferences, budget (both purchase price and running cost), lifestyle, usage pattern ...

Since you already narrow down to 2 choices, why not go for test drives, weigh the pros and cons and decide for yourself?