US, UK, Australia probe mass oil industry corruption

‘Biggest bribery scandal’: US, UK, Australia launch probe into mass oil industry corruption

https://www.rt.com/news/337961-unaoil-corruption-scandal-investigation/

Among the biggest names implicated are Samsung; Hyundai; US weapons corporation Halliburton and its former subsidiary Kellogg, Brown & Root; Texas firm National Oilwell Varco; Singapore conglomerate Keppel; Norway’s Aker Kvaerner; Turkish joint venture GATE; and Italian oil giant Eni.

Edited by Kklim

I think their defense here is going to be that the middleman (unaoil) gave the bribes without their knowledge and consent.

I worked in a subsidiary of one of the companies listed above and midway in 2012/13, they suddenly came up with a policy that purchases involving "consultancy services" among others were to be approved by top mgmt (IIRC the chief procurement officer/VP).

Edited by Kusje

‘Biggest bribery scandal’: US, UK, Australia launch probe into mass oil industry corruption

https://www.rt.com/news/337961-unaoil-corruption-scandal-investigation/

Among the biggest names implicated are Samsung; Hyundai; US weapons corporation Halliburton and its former subsidiary Kellogg, Brown & Root; Texas firm National Oilwell Varco; Singapore conglomerate Keppel; Norway’s Aker Kvaerner; Turkish joint venture GATE; and Italian oil giant Eni.

Singapore corruption? Must be us peasants' fault for not paying them enough.

Wah, didn't know peasants drive that red card in SG.  [laugh]

i would be more surprise if they say dun have   [:|]  [:|]

Is it in the same vein as this quote?

Retrenchment is good for singapore. If there is no retrenchments, then I worry."

Is it in the same vein as this quote?

who said that?

i find people nowadays use the word 'retrench' quite loosely.  

Wah, didn't know peasants drive that red card in SG.  [laugh]

Don't bully me lah Elmo. I'm just a peasant in a Fiat. :D

who said that?

i find people nowadays use the word 'retrench' quite loosely.

That Keppel Crop CEO chew cheng kia used right sizing

Only oil and gas meh. Why only prob those. Dare to prob prob into marine line lah. See how many deals are made thru undertable money by The whole world ship Builders.

21. The painful but necessary measures to rightsize our O&M Division must continue.

22. In 4Q 2016, Keppel O&M reduced its direct workforce by 2,620 or about 11.8% from the previous quarter. This includes a reduction of about 1,930 in Singapore and 690 in our overseas yards.

23. For the whole of 2016, Keppel O&M reduced its direct workforce by about 10,600 or 35%, with about 3,800 in Singapore and 6,800 overseas. Subcontract headcount in Singapore, which has already been lowered significantly, was further reduced by about 3,300.

24. In tandem, we are also cutting our yard capacity and have mothballed two overseas yards. In Singapore, we are in the process of closing three yards.

http://www.kepcorp.com/en/news_item.aspx?sid=6917

Can those from O&M side share how many Singapore yards Keppel O&M has?

My understanding is that they have 3 and now they are closing all 3?

*EDIT*

Okay. Someone replied me on whatsapp:

Keppel Shipyard - 2 yards

Keppel Singmarine - 2 yards

Keppel FELs - 2 yards

Correct me if wrong.

Edited by Kusje