Seat makes a comeback to Singapore!

Fcw75

Maybe OFAC screening first. [laugh]

I wanted to test drive Proton car, but was told not available for test drive.

My friend was told to come back for a Civic 1.5T test drive as it's only available for test drive by appointment n mind u this was a weekday morning n there were cars lying idly around with no customer in sight.

I suppose still better than this Cupra which is not available for test drive at all but my point is even ADs of popular cars practise this no test drive or have to make an appointment for a test drive for their turbo cars. My guess is it's to weed out serious buyers? But in the case of Cupra, how are they to do that? For Kah, bothering to come back may mean u r serious?

No need to test drive new Proton lah.

Go borrow a 20-yr old COE Mitsubishi from someone. Same same.

Cos they worry you test drive liao you confirm won't buy.

Yes, it's that "bad" Hahahahah

Just jesting, mai sensitive hor :D

Chinese say... hang up to sell....

Maybe this will elevate the poor status to superb status for the brand.

The harder it is for you to get, the more you want it. [:p]

On the other hand, I went to W test drove the most unreliable brand, the SE asked me to go a few more rounds until I am satisfied.

Cos they worry you test drive liao you confirm won't buy.

Yes, it's that "bad" Hahahahah

Just jesting, mai sensitive hor :D

Same same but different.

I wanted to test out what the Lotus-tuned suspension was like. :D

No need to test drive new Proton lah.

Go borrow a 20-yr old COE Mitsubishi from someone. Same same.

Edited by Kangadrool

Just saw the vertex fb page, agree that it is pretty tactless (though the Cupra Rs shown were really quite nice looking hahah). Even BMW M or Merc AMG do not advertise like that. Nvm premium brands, even subaru (even with the ah seng thing) does not advertise their WRXs ans STIs like that so idk what Vertex is trying to achieve.

I find it hard to belive that the Vertex can talk about how they spent nearly 1M 'bringing the showroom up to Seat's corporate identity status' and then 'a further $7m went into stocking spare parts, buying back-end equipment, and so on.' , but then cannot afford to spend 30k (based on OMV) on a Leon Cupra R test drive unit [:p]  [laugh]  [smash] 

Article: http://www.carbuyer.com.sg/news/1121-seat-cars-singapore-launch-cupra-vertex

Also, the Vertex lady points out that she doesn't feel that they are starting out from zero as 'Singaporeans are well-read and well-traveled enough to have some idea of Seat’s existence. '  . It may be true but brand perception and pricing is still pivotal to success in our market and they really need to adjust their strategy.

For instance, looking at the Leon 1.2 , the normal style model is priced at 105500 and the plus model which adds LED lights (I think not much more) costs 115500 which is brining it into the same price range as the golf 1.4 TSI with EQP and tat has alot more equipment (Sunroof, navigation, sports suspension, 18 inch rims) plus the VW badge.

I do like Seat cars as they have good design and the cars are not bad but I think the AD needs to restrategise hahaha

Just to correct that there is no cupra r. The model name is seat leon cupra 290. In a way, cupra is the r.

Personally, for me, if I am set on a model, I will go for it regardless of the mkting message and lack of test drive.

Was eyeing the rs275 and focus rs. Rs275 test drv is allowed which I eventually buy (coz last unit of the 2 wearnes brought in). No test drive allowed for the more powerful focus rs. After comparing looks, pricing (given same omv between the two), body shape (3 Dr vs 5 Dr), rarity (2 vs 13), driving dynamics, I decided to go for rs275.

Leon Cupra is actually a very good car and priced rather comparatively given its driving dynamics compared to its cousins from vw n audi. It is also quite fully specced.

SEAT is positioned below VW in any market in the world.

It has to be ... cc for cc, bhp for bhp, against a normalised model platform.

So if Vertex has any wild idea to usurp VW's (parental) throne, or undermine the VAG pecking order of the brands they own ... here in the SG market, they will lose big time and probably go the way of the dodo, like the Skoda AD did before

Just to correct that there is no cupra r. The model name is seat leon cupra 290. In a way, cupra is the r.

Personally, for me, if I am set on a model, I will go for it regardless of the mkting message and lack of test drive.

Was eyeing the rs275 and focus rs. Rs275 test drv is allowed which I eventually buy (coz last unit of the 2 wearnes brought in). No test drive allowed for the more powerful focus rs. After comparing looks, pricing (given same omv between the two), body shape (3 Dr vs 5 Dr), rarity (2 vs 13), driving dynamics, I decided to go for rs275.

Leon Cupra is actually a very good car and priced rather comparatively given its driving dynamics compared to its cousins from vw n audi. It is also quite fully specced.

So you bought the unit that you test drove?

I also went to see the Focus RS. Same, no test drive.

So you bought the unit that you test drove?

I also went to see the Focus RS. Same, no test drive.

Yes bro. Im the last person to testdrive before it is locked once I have booked it. No other choice since wearnes is no longer bringing it in and rs275 production has stopped for gd.

Oh yeah it's Cupra 290 not R i stand corrected :)

Hope they bring in the facelifted 300 version soon

http://www.seat.co.uk/new-cars/new-leon-cupra/overview.html

http://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/2017-seat-leon-cupra-300-296bhp-and-new-all-wheel-drive-estate

Actually the Leon Cupra (based on UK tests) is faster than the Golf R round a track, and that's based on the 280 version. The 300 shld have a bigger advantage haha. Also, the Leon felt more responsive and 'had a better front' end, based on both reviews

Edited by SiLangKia

Wonder if they will ever bother bringing in the Cupra 300 ST 4WD version.. somehow the ST looks much better than the normal hatch...

Bring in will u buy?

Yes bro. Im the last person to testdrive before it is locked once I have booked it. No other choice since wearnes is no longer bringing it in and rs275 production has stopped for gd.

Then spare parts & support how?

Will AD workshop mechanics be able to service & repair the souped up engine a few years down the road, with no training?

If car langa (touch wood), can import replacement door, fender/hood panels, engine bay items, lights assemblies, and wheel axles?

Mayb we sld hold a mini test drive MU at SEAT. Just mayb grp of 10-12, all go and test drive whatever they have, sure make a busy day. I will tell them, if no test drive I will prefer to STAND. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

sound like fun! :a-fun:  :a-happy:

I actually wanted to try out the manual TDI ST

So up to now I been wondering...

Cupra... pronounced how exactly?

CUP-RAH?

koop-rah?

koup-pra?

Cup-rae? (as in cup racing)

...kyu-pra?

Edited by 7hm

sound like fun! :a-fun::a-happy:

I actually wanted to try out the manual TDI ST

So up to now I been wondering...

Cupra... pronounced how exactly?

CUP-RAH?

koop-rah?

koup-pra?

Cup-rae? (as in cup racing)

...kyu-pra?

Seat leon cupra pronounced in Spanish as say-at lay-on koup-pra Edited by donchew76

Then spare parts & support how?

Will AD workshop mechanics be able to service & repair the souped up engine a few years down the road, with no training?

If car langa (touch wood), can import replacement door, fender/hood panels, engine bay items, lights assemblies, and wheel axles?

Valid concerns Bro. The f4rt engine and 6spd manual gb in the rs is rather reliable and bulletproof from Wat I gather so far. Thats y I took the gamble n went for it as mechanically it should be sound in the years to come.the 5yr ad warranty n 3yr svcing will offer further confidence.

Idun expect the ad to stock up rs specific parts as it is not a volume seller. It is impt to plug into the rs community for advice should there be issues. There are also external workshops specialising in Renault repairs. Dun wish to depend too much on ad mechanics except for normal svcing as they may not have enuf experience fixing a rs.

The rs comes with steel body and not those aluminium type of body that can be found more in cars now. So simple body panel works should be able to be handled by a competent body repair shop (touch wood!).

I believe we can order parts direct from UK too.

Our motoring life is short. Can't afford to worry too much and just embrace simple n back to basic driving pleasure each day.