Best before but no expiry date how?

Dumb

4th Gear

My bottle of cooking oil states best before date on 3 Sep 2015.  As there is no expiry date, I still continue using as there is still half bottle left.  How are the consequences? 

Cooking oil is an organic oil.

Generally, best before or expiry date of an oil is 2 years after manufacture.

Basically the oil will start to degrade and go rancid.

I will throw away. 

If u don't use it often, better to use smaller 1L bottles of cooking oil.

Doh :that-dood-is-up-to-something: Don't make me say the word :ouch-it-hurts:

actually lots of best before dates are all rubbish. just guessimates.

But particularly for dairy or meat products, better to err on the side of caution.

apparently you can used it until you expire which ever comes first.

If you really sayang the oil -  would use it for oiling the hinges on the doors and also for my Van doors and bike chain ; That's what I would do to the old oil usually 

Please don't stretch mind too much its already over 6 months lah!!  maybe 1-2 months of expiry still can use; I do that for multivitamins on offer usually coming to expiry  ; but not main prescription drugs. 

4th Gear

apparently you can used it until you expire which ever comes first.

Ha ha best answer.

the nick suited to a t?

[laugh]  [laugh]  I am not dumb as you look.

Ha ha best answer.

[laugh]  [laugh]  I am not dumb as you look.

Anyway, the rule of thumb is to take best before as the expiry, at least for me. Continue use of the item a little after the date is ok but not too long lah.

Dumb, on 05 May 2016 - 10:57 AM, said:

After the "best before" date, product is not longer best

but 3 sep 2015 is too far...bestest don't use it

you consume your cooking oil slow means u must be healthy lah..

half bottle cost not a lot, discard it is

if not wrong those who pray pray, use cheap oil for "oil" burning at alter

p.s.  I only prey prey

Some products which depends on how you keep them, tend to have this best before date thing. Like for example eggs. If you leave them outside and not put inside the fridge, its best you follow the best before date. Not too sure about oil though. 

It is best before 3 Sept 2015.......better before 3 Oct 2015.......good before 3 Nov 2015.......and then it change to.....bad after 3 Dec 2015.......worse after 3 Jan 2016.......worst after 3 Feb 2016.......[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

My bottle of cooking oil states best before date on 3 Sep 2015. As there is no expiry date, I still continue using as there is still half bottle left. How are the consequences?

Recycle oil also ppl eat liao.....whats with a no expiry date oil.....best before mah.....no expiry date means the oil never expiry lor........it just is not best after 3 Sept........ not best is better what......better is better than good.......eat lah........[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

4th Gear

It is best before 3 Sept 2015.......better before 3 Oct 2015.......good before 3 Nov 2015.......and then it change to.....bad after 3 Dec 2015.......worse after 3 Jan 2016.......worst after 3 Feb 2016.......[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Got not so good and not so bad in between?

Anyway dumb just dumped the cooking oil this evening and now using Borges extra virgin oil 250ml.

Aiyo mineral oil we change after 3 months , synthetic oil after 6 months and these are for our cars.

Cooking oil is for human consumption ; so much cheaper , and you are still consuming it after almost 9 months expiry ??? [confused]

My bottle of cooking oil states best before date on 3 Sep 2015. As there is no expiry date, I still continue using as there is still half bottle left. How are the consequences?

The question here is "Do you accept second best?"

Got not so good and not so bad in between?

Anyway dumb just dumped the cooking oil this evening and now using Borges extra virgin oil 250ml.

I don't know where the reference is but the use by date or best before date sometimes refer to the PE bottle.

like mineral water PE bottle, after the best before date the dioxins can emerge out due to the plastic slowly breaking down.

the water is of cos is not spoilt, but it now has dioxins in it.

same goes for the cooking oil bottle if it is stored in the PE bottle.

For the olive oil, it should come in a glass bottle. it is cold pressed and will oxidise over time as it has many natural micro nutrients still inside, which will change its taste slowly.

normal vegetable cooking oils are heat extracted and bleached. you can read about it. this may make the product more stable but the industrial treatment will make your skin hair stand.

4th Gear

The question here is "Do you accept second best?"

Ha ha, nowadays many will only pick fresh apples or reject those that have been pocked from supermarket but willing to accept non-virgin as lifetime partners.

Edited by Dumb