The 2017 Alfa Romeo Giulia

Nostalgia

Basically, yes. Just because they are cheap, then it's perceived as no (or not so) good.

Those who own one would naturally have lower expectations in every aspects, performance, build quality etc. If their basic function of A to B transportation is fulfilled within one's budget, why kay poh.

Especially for those who may never have sat in the car that they freely condemn before, basing their opinion solely on hearsay and fertile imagination. :pissed-off:

Look, you aren't wrong but then again,

On one end of the scale, what you said is totally logical but on the other end is the argument that I have never set my hair on fire but I can still comment its a dumb thing to do right?

I been to various parts of Italy and there r some Alfas, but not as many as Fiats.

I am an Alfa owner for 8 years. Car is as reliable as any conti. Too bad not enough good alfa mechs to fix the cars issues

That's an interesting statement... Alfa cars need specialised knowledge to fix the issues? These must be really difficult issues to fix... which most other car brands don't face...

On one end of the scale, what you said is totally logical but on the other end is the argument that I have never set my hair on fire but I can still comment its a dumb thing to do right?

Setting hair on fire is 100% dumb. Anyone will be correct to say it's dumb.

An Alfa may or may not be problematic. It's when people have not tried and yet commented that it's problematic, that's the issue.

It's like I do not know you but based on what i read I pass judgement on you. Fair?

That's an interesting statement... Alfa cars need specialised knowledge to fix the issues? These must be really difficult issues to fix... which most other car brands don't face...

Read again bro. Not enough good mechanics doesn't mean it requires specialised knowledge.

Analogy is that there may not be enough good players to form a basketball team but it doesn't mean playing basketball requires special knowledge.

Setting hair on fire is 100% dumb. Anyone will be correct to say it's dumb.

An Alfa may or may not be problematic. It's when people have not tried and yet commented that it's problematic, that's the issue.

It's like I do not know you but based on what i read I pass judgement on you. Fair?

Read again bro. Not enough good mechanics doesn't mean it requires specialised knowledge.

Analogy is that there may not be enough good players to form a basketball team but it doesn't mean playing basketball requires special knowledge.

I'm not sure about that bro... cos I have owned and driven a few cars, and including the ones my dad drives, I haven't found a mechanic who can't fix the problems with those cars... including difficult ones like changing a rear differentials or gearboxes, detecting sensor issues... they all buy the relevant computers and just plug in for diagnosis... and they also routinely fix issues with Continental cars... I know of a few mechs like this...

No worries.

All I can say is Alfa is not a complicated car to repair. I've had two... It's not as bad as what others say :)

I have owned 3 Italian cars, the last of which was a Thema 16v turbo, and what i can say is that the engines are always a joy, and major stuffs like engines and gearboxes are pretty much bullet-proof. What lets them down are the electrics, ancilliaries, the fittings and the build quality. Quite the opposite of the current crop of German cars...

Edited by Toeknee_33

Sometimes mechs may not be familiar with Alfa common issues. For me, Peter from Sportivo has been amazing but he's not getting younger. And theres only a few Alfa workshops. If u drive say a bmw, u got lots of mechs to choose from.

Once i had a wiper arm issue. I drove into those petrol station workshop n all shake head n don't want to do. Just an example.

Anyway can u point me to good mechs u know? Can pm if not ok to post here thnx

How's Alfa City? Have you tried?

Tried both, AC is good for the standard wear and tear or servicing. When come to troubleshooting, I think AS is much better - probably just the knowledge of Peter.

I have owned 3 Italian cars, the last of which was a Thema 16v turbo, and what i can say is that the engines are always a joy, and major stuffs like engines and gearboxes are pretty much bullet-proof. What lets them down are the electrics, ancilliaries, the fittings and the build quality. Quite the opposite of the current crop of German cars...

Very true candid feedback! The difference between your feedback and many whom dun own an Alfa before by comment base on others heresay is "Alfa Romeo very problematic leh" but when ask specific issue they dun have the answer but just say quality no good Lor.

My personal experience, driving experience 100% maintenance experience 25% this is base on 1 owner for 6 years on a 3.2 v6 manual stick

Lazy to list down why but Alfa owners who know me might know lol

is that a diesel or petrol ?

Its a Veloce variant - meaning the higher tuned 2L petrol with 280bhp, one rung down from the 503bhp monster Quadrifoglio.

Tried both, AC is good for the standard wear and tear or servicing. When come to troubleshooting, I think AS is much better - probably just the knowledge of Peter.

Agree. Peter is good but fading. These days his mechs r doing most of the work.

i reiterate my main point. The lack of support is the biggest problem. Not any mech can fix an Alfa. If anyone knows, tell us. Cos it's not simply about plugging in examiner. U need experience. Very few except Peter can understand the common or even uncommon issues and even now, Peter cannot solve all of them, as with my experience.

Just keep in mind for potential alfa owners especially if u intend to keep car for long

Look, you aren't wrong but then again.

On one end of the scale,what you said is totally logical but on the other end is the argument that I will never take advise from a Virgin on sexual experiences even though everyone know making love is a wonderful experience yeah ! Do you think a virgin is qualified to advise you on sexual intercourse and experiences? :D

The inherent problem is that it is too costly for many Singaporean drivers to really diversify and try owning a variety of car makes here. Hence, most, if not all, depend on hearsay and "advice" that they can glean from the Internet, car review magazines, or even the older generation.

Fact is, times are constantly changing, and so is technology. Why has Alfa garnered such a strong, loyal fan base if it were truly problematic and catastrophic?

I have personally never owned an Alfa, but I have owned (and still am owning) a Fiat Bravo which I have been told to my face that it would be problematic, costs of servicing would be high, etc. All are dumbfounded when I share with them the amount of servicing that I fork out, along with the most expensive parts changes that I have to do, i.e. front lower arms, bearings, timing belt changes, etc.

I can say that I am a satisfied Italian car owner, despite its limited options for experienced mechanics, and have been one for coming to 8 years.

But truly, if cars were as affordable in Singapore as Australia or Europe, then everyone would have an opportunity to own one to experience it themselves and form their own opinions.

Till then, just enjoy the privilege of being able to drive in Singapore and be kind to one another on the roads.

Cheers,

T

The inherent problem is that it is too costly for many Singaporean drivers to really diversify and try owning a variety of car makes here. Hence, most, if not all, depend on hearsay and "advice" that they can glean from the Internet, car review magazines, or even the older generation.

Fact is, times are constantly changing, and so is technology. Why has Alfa garnered such a strong, loyal fan base if it were truly problematic and catastrophic?

I have personally never owned an Alfa, but I have owned (and still am owning) a Fiat Bravo which I have been told to my face that it would be problematic, costs of servicing would be high, etc. All are dumbfounded when I share with them the amount of servicing that I fork out, along with the most expensive parts changes that I have to do, i.e. front lower arms, bearings, timing belt changes, etc.

I can say that I am a satisfied Italian car owner, despite its limited options for experienced mechanics, and have been one for coming to 8 years.

But truly, if cars were as affordable in Singapore as Australia or Europe, then everyone would have an opportunity to own one to experience it themselves and form their own opinions.

Till then, just enjoy the privilege of being able to drive in Singapore and be kind to one another on the roads.

Cheers,

T

I would imagine that if not sure of the reliability and yet are keen to try. Perhaps waiting for a face lifted model would be better as all the kinks would have being fixed.

But buying a car is never a pragmatic approach.

You go, you test drive, u on. 

Have got myself into trouble once.

Go without an intent to buy. Waited for car to be service. Sales , probably low on quota. Ask me if I keen on a car. I say I already have one.

SE say, sayang, this is a good car to consider. Why dont you test drive. No obligation since u already here and waiting for your car.

Sounded quite logical. When and test drive.

Come back sign on the dotted line... sales make a compelling offer on the take in price.

I would imagine that if not sure of the reliability and yet are keen to try. Perhaps waiting for a face lifted model would be better as all the kinks would have being fixed.

But buying a car is never a pragmatic approach.

You go, you test drive, u on. 

Have got myself into trouble once.

Go without an intent to buy. Waited for car to be service. Sales , probably low on quota. Ask me if I keen on a car. I say I already have one.

SE say, sayang, this is a good car to consider. Why dont you test drive. No obligation since u already here and waiting for your car.

Sounded quite logical. When and test drive.

Come back sign on the dotted line... sales make a compelling offer on the take in price.

What car was that which got you so smitten? [laugh] Alfa Romeo?

Unfortunately cars are too ex for me to be impulsive. Hence no unnecessary test drives for me  [:p]

Cheers,

T

Hi Terry,

I saw that you have decided against the XE. What was your eventual choice?

Coincidentally, the sales of the Giulia has overtaken the XE in Europe. The XE is a favourite of the Brits but not to mainland Europeans I guess. The F-Pace and now the E-Pace will further dent XE sales.

Edited by Toeknee_33