Studied too much, stuck in an unstable dead-end job...how?

Zyklon

Understand there are quite a few old birds in MCF, will be grateful if anyone can shed some light on this situation. Facing some employment crisis...

A bit of my background, I graduated from a local university with an engineering degree a few years back. My GPA wasn't the best, but it was good enough for a first class honors and was in top 10% of the cohort. 

From there, I went on to work at a SME providing engineering services (basically, big companies outsource their engineering design needs to us), while doing a part time PhD at the same local university. Within 3.5 years, I ticked all the KPIs required for graduation and submitted my thesis. Reviews for my thesis were extremely positive and I was then able to graduate. This was by no means an easy feat because most full time students struggle to even produce a proper thesis in 4 years. I reckon that credit should also be given to the massive support I got from my professors at school and my ex-bosses at work.

Upon graduation, I moved on to another company. Salary isn't high, but I really wasn't expecting too much considering that I was "new" in their domain- Same type of work, but in a different domain. In layman terms, it will be equal to domestic helper cleaning home vs. hotel chambermaid cleaning hotel rooms. Things were fine in the beginning, mostly because I lacked the knowledge in the new industry and also their business processes. Aong the way, I learned and learned, and eventually got the hang of things after a few months.

Herein, the problem set in. Being a new guy, I was always assigned to some "senior" staffs under a couple of new area projects, playing the role of "assistant", which I am perfectly fine with. I do not mind being a follower, if the project leader is capable of teaching me something. However, in this cases, the project leaders knew nothing about the domain, nor the process. It was actually their first time running such projects too. What this effectively meant was that I was doing all the leg work, mind work and practically everything, while not a single credit was given. When things were not perfect, I had to take the blame because it was my work. When things were great, suddenly I was forgotten. At the same time, my company started looking at restructuring and I couldn't be sure when it will be my turn. Dejected, I started looking for opportunities outside.

Despite numerous attempts at dropping resume and cover letters, I just couldn't find another job. After 5 months of job seeking, I got interviews with three companies. Weirdly, all gave the same conclusion, " We like you a lot, but your area of expertise...". This is despite my attempts at making clear that I was willing to learn and am a quick learner.

I am wondering what exactly is my problem in preventing me from moving on or getting a chance for an interview. Is it the advance engineering degree? Or my current over-inflated job title? Or do I give off the vibe that I am expensive to hire?

What will you do if you were in my shoe?

*Disclaimer, I am really cheap to hire. My peers, who started PhD together with me and graduated 1 year later (Remember...I took 3.5 years...most full time were taking 4.5 to 5 years), are easily drawing 10-30% more than me even without work experience.

join amk grassroots . who knows, we might have another candidate for the next election

serious not joking

just dont wonder to next door hougang grassroots

hearsay there many屎工

Edited by Staff69

I am wondering what exactly is my problem in preventing me from moving on or getting a chance for an interview. Is it the advance engineering degree? Or my current over-inflated job title? Or do I give off the vibe that I am expensive to hire?

i think it's not due to your over qualification or work experience or pay demand.....

it's simply because the current job market is very bad now

many sectors are either cutting people or freeze hiring

• Praise 15

5th Gear

Stress. PhD nowadays also like that. Like that people like me only half pail of water how?

Think better suck thumb n learn n learn. you still got Long way to go. Re-evaluate your attitude n EQ.. Are you a team player? Sometimes a team player mean you got to take some heat n make your bosses look good..

At the mean time, try doing a part time business during your free time.. N see whether u can create another source of income..

Nobody wants to hire or keep if that someone cannot or unable to create value..

N maybe go MBS n try $1 quick pick every weekend.. Try.. U never know..just don't pay the $100..

Edited by BenTong

I guess you're around the same age as me.. stepping into the big 30..

I think the most important thing is, whether you like the job or not? Some people like monotonous but stable job, some are in for the challenge while some are in for the high salary.

I also graduate with an engineering degree from local uni, but with a not so stellar 3rd class honour.

Found a stable job in a MNC servicing heavy industry. After a few years, i see that i'm going nowhere as fast as i'd hope to (or led to believe). Decided to take the leap of faith. Quit my job and started a business with a couple of friends in F&B.

Now i'm happily self employed, with a more flexible work timing, and earning way more than what i could if i stayed on my job.

Edited by Shull
  • Praise 18

I don't know what type of specialization you're in, but your best bet is to go into a MNC in some sector that is hiring now.

Don't know if it's just propaganda to sell the current re-skiling courses for PMETs, but I see from the news that wafer fab / semicon and aerospace sectors are active.

Stick through at least 3 years work experience and then with your background and qualification, I think you're more suitable as academic. Why not seek such opportunity in local polys or univs? Now there are more engineering univ besides NUS and NTU. There's SIT - which should be the easiest to get in, being the lower-ranked univ.

At least you be assured of decent pay and some career path. Time ticks away quickly and we all getting older. Cannot waste time do some jobs here and there without charting the career path.

Once you get your foot in the door, be it MNC or some other large organisation, the way forward and upwards is up to your social skills, EQ and people management (bosses and subordinates).

Personal experience, in my first 8 years of working in two large companies I also meandered around as just an engineer. It took that long to be convinced and "learn" these soft skills, change of my own attitude and outlook. Now in my longest stint in a third organisation and partly because can see some progress...

So don't be disheartened and be honest enough to address your own weaknesses, and change the way you handle work. If you have no family commitments yet... can ignore all the above and do whatever you want, no worries [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

I guess you're around the same age as me.. stepping into the big 30..

I think the most important thing is, whether you like the job or not? Some people like monotonous but stable job, some are in for the challenge while some are in for the high salary.

I also graduate with an engineering degree from local uni, but with a not so stellar 3rd class honour.

Found a stable job in a MNC servicing heavy industry. After a few years, i see that i'm going nowhere as fast as i'd hope to (or led to believe). Decided to take the leap of faith. Quit my job and started a business with a couple of friends in F&B.

Now i'm happily self employed, with a more flexible work timing, and earning way more than what i could if i stayed on my job.

Hope you are not the Kopitam boss ... otherwise going to request for a discount card.

Despite numerous attempts at dropping resume and cover letters, I just couldn't find another job. After 5 months of job seeking, I got interviews with three companies. Weirdly, all gave the same conclusion, " We like you a lot, but your area of expertise...". This is despite my attempts at making clear that I was willing to learn and am a quick learner.

What will you do if you were in my shoe?

I'd ask questions in the following order:

1) What do you want to do? Do you want to stay in engineering services line or do you want to go into finance (as an example because it is relatively easy for engineering grads to venture into finance).

2) What are the options available if you cannot venture into your dream job? Say you really want to be an astronaut but you know that is an extremely long shot, what options do you have with your qualifications? It's fortunate you have a 1st class and Phd. Many top consulting firms will probably hire you. Draw up a list of options you are willing to consider. It may be finance (as mentioned in point 1), consulting or teaching but whatever rocks your boat. Draw up the list.

3) Read, research and network once you've narrowed your choices. Speak with friends, peers and any contacts you may get hold of on the industries you're interested in. Even better. Put in a list of the choice companies in the industries you consider working in. It may be Accenture or Bain in the consulting field or it can be Goldman for finance.

4) Prep yourself and start sending resumes unsolicited if need be. People appreciate candidates who take charge and try and make things work. Don't rely solely on job sites and papers. Importantly, talk to people who are in the know. Speak with recruitment consultants if need be.

5) Lastly, ace that interview. You can google for tips on how to perform. Do not ever emphasize that you're willing to learn or volunteer that information. People hire for performance and contribution. People don't pay someone to learn.

Good luck. You're fortunate that you have a good degree and are relatively young.

• Praise 20

u havent lost your job yet so u r lucky already. Remember if the situation is sh!t for everyone there, only the strong survive as the weak ones, hopefully not u, will quit first.

u will realise most coys are like that, so i say put on flame suit, thicken your skin, play politics n stay put.

Just bite the bullet and stay on 1st. Quitting without something to fall back on is suicidial in this climate

I also wanna change jobs but there isn't a market for me outside. Wat can I do? Continue to bend over lor. So long it puts food on the table

Edited by So_nice

Don't worry about it in terms of security. Most companies treasure staff who do most of the work, don't take the credit, and take the blame when it comes.

The main question is whether you want it to be like this in the long run.

If you want to be the big fish, a good reference point is to examine the conditions to be a big fish. We have some here, watch the way they relate to people.

When things go wrong, you get blamed.

When things go well, someone else gets the credit.

Hey, this is the real corporate world. It happens, the question is how you respond to it.

I hire people to solve my problems. If you cannot solve my problem then you will come in as a junior grunt. That's how it has always been.

The market is not exactly great now and it should get worse. When you do get that next job make sure it offers stability. Problem is I dun see a silver lining in your sector anytime soon.

Plan your next move having the best outcome in mind but also make sure you are financially prepared for the worst.

• Praise 10

A few months in a new job and you feel that you know everything?

Being on a team with senior staff is the best way to learn and project managers need not be experts in the field

Stay on the job to gain experience for at least 5 years then talk. I am in my industry for 11 years and still learning new stuff every day.

All that shiet about doing work and no credit given is present in any job unless you are willing to take initiative and network with the senior management to get noticed. But the trouble is well you are just too new....

if you want a career laid out for you, you should have gone to be a scholar since you can study so well

99% of the employers are looking at the perfect fit right now.

Even for evergreen and versatile field like accountancy, they are looking at exact fit. Meaning, if a shipping company is looking for accountant/finance manager, they want someone with recent relevant experience from that industry, even to the point of trade level, i.e. if it's a container liner, they want someone from this, not someone from bulk tramper.

So, you can imagine those from operational level. That is, an operation manager in a container liner will almost never land a job in a  dry or wet bulk tramping company. A operational manager from dry bulk sector will have a slim chance of landing a job a LPG shipping company.

Then, clever Alexes come in liao... with all the what SkillsFuture and whatsnot..... Is that effective? Hardly. You can study and get all the qualifications in your "dream" industry/sector, but who's gonna employ you without real world experience?

Don't get me wrong. I am not against retraining and all that. But, at the end of the day....  

I have no PHD, but I am facing the same issue too. In short, no employers are willing to train you (matured workers). Everyone wants you to just jump straight in and start solving their sh1ts. That's what you're paid for. For entry level jobs, they rather pay fresh uni grads than try to hire matured workers who are making a career transition.

Hard truths. 

Sometimes, I feel those career transition coaching and retraining somehow are bullsh1ts to consol you. Of course, some people will manage to switch/land another proper job, but most will end up as taxi drivers and Uberers after some fruitless search... looking at current state of the job market.

For TS, probably you are too obsessed with your paper qualification(s) liao. They are important, but only to certain degree, they have "expiry" date.....

Skills, experience and qualifications can only open doors to interviews. What will land you a job is, the chemistry between you and hiring manager(s).

Edited by Kangadrool

uhmm..paiseh, we were talking about the your lunar birth date links to the 5 elements which is related to the job you can do and help

to improve your career path.  五行, 命宫八子,金木水火土。metal / machine engineering is 金,structure engineering is 土.

do you believe this kind of stuffs? [:)]  

uhmm..paiseh, we were talking about the your lunar birth date links to the 5 elements which is related to the job you can do and help

to improve your career path. äºè¡, å½å®«å«å­ï¼éæ¨æ°´ç«åãmetal / machine engineering is éï¼structure engineering is å.

do you believe this kind of stuffs? [:)]

Imo, it should balance your "five shapes" ie if your five shapes strong in metal, but lack wood or fire, you should go for wood industry or job, not metal.