Honda Civic or HRV?

Tricor

118 members have voted

1. 1. Which is a better based on a family of 4?

• Hinda Civic
    • Honda HRV

I have been considering both models too:

Civic

Sedan form - for some that's enough - comes with "backside"

Tried and test 1.6 NA engine

Airplay on HUD

Roomy boot

New racy design

HRV

Made in Japan

New 1.5 NA engine, which is actually more powerful

200kg lighter

Superb packaging, allowing similar or better legroom than the Civic

Smart Seats

Superb FC

Clever seat arrangement

Higher seating

For me, the Made in Japan, and higher seating is good enough - this will allow me to transport elderly in my family with more ease. Getting out of the Civic takes some serious effort for them.

So it's very popular and if you throw a stone, you will see one, that's fine for me! It means that repairs and parts will be very easy to come by, and any issues will be quickly picked up and repaired. Resale will also be easy.

The added bonus of the smart seats is something I also appreciate. It means the HRV is actually more usable for day to day functions.

The older engine is also less fuel efficient, and once you add that 200kg extra weight, it's a no brainer.

I have been considering both models too:

Civic

Sedan form - for some that's enough - comes with "backside"

Tried and test 1.6 NA engine

Airplay on HUD

Roomy boot

New racy design

HRV

Made in Japan

New 1.5 NA engine, which is actually more powerful

200kg lighter

Superb packaging, allowing similar or better legroom than the Civic

Smart Seats

Superb FC

Clever seat arrangement

Higher seating

For me, the Made in Japan, and higher seating is good enough - this will allow me to transport elderly in my family with more ease. Getting out of the Civic takes some serious effort for them.

So it's very popular and if you throw a stone, you will see one, that's fine for me! It means that repairs and parts will be very easy to come by, and any issues will be quickly picked up and repaired. Resale will also be easy.

The added bonus of the smart seats is something I also appreciate. It means the HRV is actually more usable for day to day functions.

The older engine is also less fuel efficient, and once you add that 200kg extra weight, it's a no brainer.

Civic and HRV all made in Thailand lah,

where got made in Japan?

1.5T use cvt. I think after so many years, cvt also got improve a lot bah. The new Subaru Froster XT also use cvt, torque 350. Tahan should be no issue, the issue is the driving experience. my cents.

My criteria for transmission selection: 

if got Manual I never choose Auto, if got CVT I never choose DCT :D

Edited by MQX87511

where got made in Japan?

You may want to update your info .. The HRV is now sourced from Japan too. Cheers

Yes..It is confirmed HRV from KM is MIJ. Matter of time test drive unit will be ready soon.

Civic is new kid on the block with more features. However, it loses out to 2 areas:

1. Rear seat has a hump in between left and right passenger

Thus the middle passenger will have a "longkang" perturbing in between legs.

2. MIT and it's 1.6.

HRV needs no introduction. A car that won't go wrong for Joe.

1. Novelty diminishes further with Uber Vezels

2. Underpower compares to 1.6 civic.

No doubt, it a very close fight between these models. IMO, Hrv edges over civic by a tongue.

Civic has rear seat aircon , u cant ignore that with our all time summer weather.

Boot space is also decently big..unless you have elderly to ferry, otherwise Civic definitely better for family - spacious.

If Vezel, i would go for Honda Shuttle, for the space.

Side track a bit, at used car market, civic and accord, Altis and Camry depreciation about 12k to 13k, about the same, I thought it's class A and B car.

If it's the same depreciation, I would choose Camry or Accord, likely Accord, Camry a bit Ah Pek to me.

Any bro/sis can enlighten me that:

1.Accord How is the FC?

2.Accord Matainence expensive compare to civic?

3.Majority of Accord was registered at 2008, why? After 2008 nobody but this Accord?

where got made in Japan?

Nowadays less and less manual, does it mean auto transmission efficiency about the same to manual ald?

HRV needs no introduction. A car that won't go wrong for Joe.

1. Novelty diminishes further with Uber Vezels

2. Underpower compares to 1.6 civic.

No doubt, it a very close fight between these models. IMO, Hrv edges over civic by a tongue.

I don't think the HRV will be underpowered. What makes you say so?

The Civic is 200kg heavier, less power, less torque. Just because it has a slightly larger engine, does not equate to more power, especially since the engine is more than 10 years old in design.

Civic is only 59kg heavier than hrv la.

Hrv: 1190kg 130PS 155Nm --> 0.109PS/kg

Civic 1.6: 1249kg 125PS 152Nm--> 0.100PS/kg

In other words, power and torque delivery between hrv and civic 1.6 are comparable la.

Civic is only 59kg heavier than hrv la.

Hrv: 1190kg 130PS 155Nm --> 0.109PS/kg

Civic 1.6: 1249kg 125PS 152Nm--> 0.100PS/kg

In other words, power and torque delivery between hrv and civic 1.6 are comparable la.

You quoted the manual weight for the Civic, so it's actually heavier.

Anyways, it was SNEF who said the Civic will be more powerful, so I wanted to know if that was based on something I didn't know or was he just shooting the breeze..

You quoted the manual weight for the Civic, so it's actually heavier.

Anyways, it was SNEF who said the Civic will be more powerful, so I wanted to know if that was based on something I didn't know or was he just shooting the breeze..[/quote

Aiyo.. pardon my technical ignorance.. am comparing 1.6engine civic vs 1.5HrV... next time I put it prudently..." Might be more powerful..might be..might be"

My first post kena flame already..

where got made in Japan?

Eh.. I actually laugh out leh Edited by Ara

Ill go with civic. Hrv/vezels re too common like sonatas/i40s. Hehe

After 1 year, it'll be as common as the vezels.

Sgcarmart should update its info

Vezel also from Japan, how come HRV also?

If you have been following the vezel thread, the news about the HRV has been out for at least two to three months.

Sgcarmart should update its info

Vezel also from Japan, how come HRV also?

The new HRV is from Japan