Handover of Christmas Island

Weez911

Given the recent tussle over the South China Sea, I have done some research on Christmas Island into sources such as NLB and Wiki to find out more about our own territorial history. Based on what I read, I noted that the transfer of Christmas Island was initiated by the Australian government to the United Kingdom in 1954, and the handover was completed in 1958 between the UK and Australian governments at a sum of £2.33 million (M$20 million). As Singapore only gained independence in 1965, we were never part of the negotiation.

Said island has a population of 2,072. They consist of 65% Chinese, 20% Malays, 10% Europeans and 5% Indians and Eurasians. Their mother languages are Chinese, Malay and English. Size of island is 135 km2 and below is the map:

post-100773-0-41602900-1468462142.jpg

Weather:

post-100773-0-49378400-1468462250_thumb.png

Here is my point - Was the handover in 1957 legitimate? Other than the obvious similarities in population mix, language and weather, this transfer was enacted by 2 countries that have nothing to do with Singapore now. Should we challenge the claims to Christmas Island? 

Given the recent tussle over the South China Sea, I have done some research on Christmas Island into sources such as NLB and Wiki to find out more about our own territorial history. Based on what I read, I noted that the transfer of Christmas Island was initiated by the Australian government to the United Kingdom in 1954, and the handover was completed in 1958 between the UK and Australian governments at a sum of £2.33 million (M$20 million). As Singapore only gained independence in 1965, we were never part of the negotiation.

Said island has a population of 2,072. They consist of 65% Chinese, 20% Malays, 10% Europeans and 5% Indians and Eurasians. Their mother languages are Chinese, Malay and English. Size of island is 135 km2 and below is the map:

Map_of_Christmas_Island_1976.jpg

Weather:

Weather.png

Here is my point - Was the handover in 1957 legitimate? Other than the obvious similarities in population mix, language and weather, this transfer was enacted by 2 countries that have nothing to do with Singapore now. Should we challenge the claims to Christmas Island?

We should send few RSN frigates there to guard first lol

acherlee...... why would we want Christmas Island for?

Need alternative sources for Chilli Crabs?

51aae908f79c1e83e526a9f114ffd91e.jpg

or for Sentosa II?

:D  :D  :D

Seriously, it does not have black gold...not strategically important for trade route.....

well the fact that more than 50% of its population are Chinese... china shud be the one concerned.. no? [bounce2]  :a-confused:

Only if China lays claims on Singapore first. This Christmas Island used to be Singapore's colony, whatever that means.

or for Sentosa II?

Seriously, it does not have black gold...not strategically important for trade route.....

I thought it can provide an alternative site of retirement from the welli sexpensive mainland [laugh] 

Singapore has also fought over a smaller rock with Malaysia [laugh]

Edited by Weez911

51aae908f79c1e83e526a9f114ffd91e.jpg

or for Sentosa II?

:D:D:D

Its for additional GRC

[lipsrsealed]

:D  :D  :D

to spend our christmas there?

Too far to administer lah.... somemore must go through big Abang Indonesia....

Fight with Bali for tourist? :D 2000px-Christmas_Island_on_the_globe_(So

Only if China lays claims on Singapore first. This Christmas Island used to be Singapore's colony, whatever that means.

I thought it can provide an alternative site of retirement from the welli sexpensive mainland [laugh] 

Singapore has also fought over a smaller rock with Malaysia [laugh]

But if really become part of sg, then we can start do reclamation, build HDB, construct Changi T6, establish MRT line and issue new license for casino. U huat i huat everybody huat haha

Fight with Bali for tourist? :D

That Christmas Island got no haze too! [laugh]

Air clean clean!

If I were made to retire overseas, Christmas Island may be a better option/closer affiliation to Sg than JB.

Btw, can those crabs be eaten?

Edited by Albeniz

Fight with Bali for tourist? :D2000px-Christmas_Island_on_the_globe_(So

Imagine go there for houseman training!!'n

But if really become part of sg, then we can start do reclamation, build HDB, construct Changi T6, establish MRT line and issue new license for casino. U huat i huat everybody huat haha

It will really be a great retirement village from the mainland leh :D