Strange noise at wheel area when doing U-turn

Buadongdong

Hi bros, recently i've experienced some noise when doing u-turn or at roundabouts or doing turning left/right. Slight turns are fine with no noise. The noise seems to come from the wheel area and there is this sound of squashing plastic bags. I've visually inspected and there is nothing stuck to the wheels but the noise persists. Anyone has any idea what's going on so I can send the car to the right kinda workshop to check?

Hi Bro,

You might want to check on your wheel guard - could be out of place/ wrap - causing tyre rubbing when u do a full turn.

Get a mechanic to check on it - should be a small issue.

Hi Bro,

You might want to check on your wheel guard - could be out of place/ wrap - causing tyre rubbing when u do a full turn.

Get a mechanic to check on it - should be a small issue.

Wheel guards are firmly in place and not even loose. Don't think its the wheel guard.

your tires sizes for front and rear exactly the same? 

i kena before when my mechanic forgot and rotated the rear tyres to the front..  <_<

your tires sizes for front and rear exactly the same? 

i kena before when my mechanic forgot and rotated the rear tyres to the front..  <_<

Yup.. Exactly the same. The noise only came about past 2 days. usually no sound or noise. The noise is quite unique.. Sounds like plastic bags sound or like someone behind the bush shaking kinda noise (if u know what I mean).

Lower arm or drive shaft liao lor

Thanks. Can it be repaired or must the whole part be changed? Any idea on the cost of repair or replacement?

Have to change, cost dont know

Everything stock, including tyre size?

Nope, not everything stock. Upgrade rim size. But this noise never occured since 5yrs ago when i changed the rims. Only now it happened.

Check your power steering fluid level, if it is fine, check the pump.

Nope, not everything stock. Upgrade rim size. But this noise never occured since 5yrs ago when i changed the rims. Only now it happened.

If the noise appears only when you turn full lock it should be drive shaft.

Its apparent even when not in full lock. Go roundabout also will have this sound.

Check your power steering fluid level, if it is fine, check the pump.

Thanks bro, but fluid level is ok. Will check the pump.

Well, as some of the bros mentioned, it could be related to drive shaft if full lock.

My experience was when full lock, there's 'clock clock' sound. The sound is only very obvious on specific road surface.

I did noticed it goes away for a while after each tyre rotation. Finally, an experience mech found out it was my brake causing it.

Lucky me, cause I was almost prepared to 'touch' the drive shaft portion already...

Edited by Kingkong

Well, as some of the bros mentioned, it could be related to drive shaft if full lock.

My experience was when full lock, there's 'clock clock' sound. The sound is only very obvious on specific road surface.

I did noticed it goes away for a while after each tyre rotation. Finally, an experience mech found out it was my brake causing it.

Lucky me, cause I was almost prepared to 'touch' the drive shaft portion already...

Cheers Bro, will do a rotation and see if the sound goes away.

Confirm drive shaft lor ......... quite x. Happened on my previous ride a Corolla. One way is to the check mud guard for oil splash ...... it is the rubber guard broke allow dust to enter and the oil leak out.

Lower arm or drive shaft liao lor

Cheers Bro, will do a rotation and see if the sound goes away.

You might want to check on your tyres condition - more than 2 years.

Could be tyre bloated ?

You might want to check on your tyres condition - more than 2 years.

Could be tyre bloated ?

Tyres are less than 1 yr old. Air pressure to the recommended level.