Has MCF become the NEW GOOGLE?

AS above, with all the questions and 1 liner threads we are getting, has MCF really become the next google?

All sorts of threads have been coming on board with NO REFERENCE SPECIFIC that GOOGLE cannot find.  Have people beome too lazy or have they gotten used to being spoonfed?

I see threads coming on board like:

1.  Holidays

2.  Directions

3.  LIFE and DEATH issues that govt has all the answers

and mind you EVEN when these THREADS are HERE, PEOPLE STILL NEVER SEARCH!

That said, I REALLY appreciate the hundred other MCFers who DO SEARCH and do their diligence and I thank you for that! [thumbsup]

For the rest...nevermind.... [furious]

Your comments please!

If this is your observation, better report to SPH.

They huat already.

LOL...that is the silver lining I must say...kekeke

38925579-I-Resign-Concept-Isolated-Over-

:grin:

dont la!!.. 大哥 我错了!!  :TT_TT:   dont tease u anymore k?  :XD:

on a serious note...  i rem replying someone at another thread....   ''ask my good friend.. he is called ''google'' '' 

haha

dont la!!.. 大哥 我错了!!  :TT_TT:   dont tease u anymore k?  :XD:

on a serious note...  i rem replying someone at another thread....   ''ask my good friend.. he is called ''google'' '' 

haha

kidding lah.....

this thread is just for awareness of the situation as I see it

I am going to give my opinion.

The reason is cos ppl want to hear personal answers vs answers on the net.

Example

Google: singapore to penang take the NSH. About 800 km

MCF : singapore to penang is about 800 km but it will the whole day because there are places to stop and see (and pictures of scenery are added)

One other reason why questions are asked on Mcf as opposed to blogs os perhaps because the asker has been to Mcf and seen the threads and maybe even posted so he knows most of us are not trolls and give good answers which are answers that the asker can reasonably use. Troll answers are answers that cannot be used reasonably or just a waste of bandwidth.

Example of troll answer

Singapore to penang is very far. Take plane better.

It only takes a few hours to drive from singapore to penang. It's just how fast you dare to drive and how much bribe you willing to pay the traffic police.

So take it as a compliment to the mods and the posters here that people ask questions here. Otherwise go to hardware zone. People also ask questions there but whether or not they dare to use the answers is another question.

Edited by Philipkee
  • Praise 12

Example

MCF : singapore to penang is about 800 km but it will the whole day because there are places to stop and see (and pictures of scenery are added)

One other reason why questions are asked on Mcf as opposed to blogs os perhaps because the asker has been to Mcf and seen the threads and maybe even posted so he knows most of us are not trolls and give good answers which are answers that the asker can reasonably use. Troll answers are answers that cannot be used reasonably or just a waste of bandwidth.

Example of troll answer

It only takes a few hours to drive from singapore to penang. It's just how fast you dare to drive and how much bribe you willing to pay the traffic police.

So take it as a compliment to the mods and the posters here that people ask questions here. Otherwise go to hardware zone. People also ask questions there but whether or not they dare to use the answers is another question.

thanks philip.  Those that you highlighted, we have no issue and we welcome ideas and exchanges.  They DO SEARCH and add on to seek further clairfication and it is in that spirit tht we do welcome exchange of views and further ideas.

I also concur that we do give good views here and perhaps ppl sometimes take advantage of that and ask everything under the sun.

IT is those that ask even the simplest of things like holiday dates and very rudimentary things that seem you would already know OR seek a general search engine? and VERY generic things that resonates with the general public infor.  PERHAPS it's school hols

@friendstar, cos I delete them

Example

Example of troll answer

i think the point is...  there are people opening threads on 

''singapore to penang places to visit' ... whilst there are already existing threads for eg ''Penang''

its not a perfect fit to wat i maybe looking for.. but i guess rules are set.. juz follow lor 

Edited by SuPerBoRed

i think the point is...  there are people opening threads on 

''singapore to penang places to visit' ... whilst there are already existing threads for eg ''Penang''

its not a perfect fit to wat i maybe looking for.. but i guess rules are set.. juz follow lor 

thnks bro.  That is a separate issue altogether as it is related to the 'SEARCH FIRST' protocol.  

Long time ago, MCF had this popup that came on when you wanted to start a new thread asking 'have you searched first?'  :grin: 

maybe bring that back!

The issue here is starting irrlevant threads that, again, leaves me to wonder what went thru the posters' mind in the first place

thnks bro.  That is a separate issue altogether as it is related to the 'SEARCH FIRST' protocol.  

Long time ago, MCF had this popup that came on when you wanted to start a new thread asking 'have you searched first?'  :grin: 

maybe bring that back!

The issue here is starting irrlevant threads that, again, leaves me to wonder what went thru the posters' mind in the first place

the quick answer to that is "nothing" lol

just simply didn't think of it lor. hahahaha

take care of your blood pressure la old man. chillax a bit ya. we're not trying to give ya a stroke. 

other times it's just that we thought that it's different.

just like the mooncake post. if you read carefully, it wasn't a mooncake review at all. it was just a humour piece. hence i didn't put it in the mooncake thread. but oh well

i accept it's my bad lah. 

the quick answer to that is "nothing" lol

just simply didn't think of it lor. hahahaha

take care of your blood pressure la old man. chillax a bit ya. we're not trying to give ya a stroke.

other times it's just that we thought that it's different.

just like the mooncake post. if you read carefully, it wasn't a mooncake review at all. it was just a humour piece. hence i didn't put it in the mooncake thread. but oh well

i accept it's my bad lah.

Not at u la aiyohhhhhh haaaa

Others Tat accumulated over weeks

Limpeh old man but stil steady hor

Limpei so careful .........also Knn made mistake....... so lanlan........ but I do agree with CB @radx all kind of funny threads appear...... mayb dont delete 1st.......let others see and have a good laugh before disappearing act........ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

i guess being able to surf over the phone, makes us more lazy to search or research before posting questions bah.

one... if some one here has ready experience to share, and we are comfortable being with familiar "names", why google?
the info here will be more reliable than the googled ones.

two... you know typing on the fugging phone tiny keyboard with my fat fingers, you want me to do research before posting?!?
forum leh, confirm and chop, sure got repeated threads wan.

just go with the flow loh. if you think the thread is repetitive of another, just merge or close it with a warning lah. no need to frust over it.

the forum, like the road, sure will have some jokers wan. 
live and let live bah!