5 days Road Trip in Malaysia - suggestions & tips?

therock

Bros

I figured that I want to do a little road trip with friends before I have to give up my car..

See some of the nice places around M'sia, and not just the typical stuff.

The plan is to go in October just before the school holidays, or end of Sept.. so I can also see the East coast before the annual monsoon.

Some ideas:

Perak rice fields

Makan in Ipoh

Tasik Kenyir in Trengganu 

Food in Penang

I won't mind stopping in Malacca along the way, but I have been there a lot of times

If anyone has a similar plan or done this before, please share, thanks!

Also please share if you have tips on food spots, places to stay (under $100Sin), and sights to see.

Thanks bro, I don't want to see all the places - just some ideas off the top of my trip.

Neither do I want it to be some "Chan Bros Refugee" style trip.

Just hoping for some suggested itinerary.. 

Your ideas look pretty nice :)

French Hotel in Ipoh is good value.

Penang is for me the only place worth visiting up north.

East side is OK but really nothing special to see.

If you like driving then fine although 5 days not long enough.

But if you hope to see stuff you can't see in Johor then you might be disappointed.

There is a long thread on this started by Adrianli iirc.

Edited by Neutrino

Ipoh only good for stopover for food.

Tim sum, bean sprout chicken, hor fun

Can also buy pomelos there.

Penang a lot more places to see.

Best place is to go up mountain. Like genting and cameron. 5 days should be enough to cover both place

After a long hot drive u want to reach a cool climate place, drink kopi and eat strawberries, maybe a fresh cup of milk will be good

5 days is a bit short...but lets see if this works for u

Ipoh x 1 - staying at Lost world Tambun cheap cheap and can go hot spring to relax

Cameron Highland x 2 - after hot spring, enjoying tea at breezee mountain top

KL x 1 - shop until you drop

1 more day is for the driving up and back :)

Edited by Dxyong

Ipoh only good for stopover for food.

Tim sum, bean sprout chicken, hor fun

Can also buy pomelos there.

Penang a lot more places to see.

I'm in Penang now, please recommend some attractions.

Thank you.

Thanks bros

Right now it's between a straight drive to Ipoh, then down to Cameroon and maybe Meleka on the way down - KL might be too messy :)

OR

SIN - Kuantan, Tasik Kenyir and a bit of Trengannu .. 

Edited by therock

I'm in Penang now, please recommend some attractions.

Thank you.

I enjoyed going up Penang hill. There is a nice

restaurant at the top. Double fried chicken is really

good - local name Inchi Kabin is a must try.

Good places to eat - end of the world restaurant.

Not sure if its still there, I went there years ago.

You can go to the Take Look See temple.

Can go snake temple but no more snakes there.

I remember having lunch at the E&O restaurant and it was good.

For hotel there are 6 or 7 nice hotels at Batu Ferringi.

Gurney drive for the local favourites, char kway teow, rojak

laksa, chendol. Town area near the big penis looking building

to buy cheap gifts for the MIL. Dried nutmeg, dried squid, peanuts

muruku, tau sar piah.  

Edited by Jamesc

Thanks bros

Right now it's between a straight drive to Ipoh, then down to Cameroon and maybe Meleka on the way down - KL might be too messy :)

OR

SIN - Kuantan, Tasik Kenyir and a bit of Trengannu .. 

why KL is messy?

Traffic, crime etc

Plus I go there way too often :)

For me, a trip to Malaysia is a way to relax and chill. Kick up the feet and get away from the hustle and bustle :)

Best place is to go up mountain. Like genting and cameron. 5 days should be enough to cover both place

After a long hot drive u want to reach a cool climate place, drink kopi and eat strawberries, maybe a fresh cup of milk will be good

hmmm didnt expect drink fresh milk up the mountains.  

maybe bring a "nanny" along  :XD:

but cameron tea might be good 

maybe bring a "nanny" along :XD:

Since genting or cameron doesnt have cow farm, one can bring HL milk from sg, then reheat on pan, hoola its fresh haha

Penang Hill.  Not for food as Jamesc suggests but for the funicular railway ride to the top and the great views of Penang.

Drive down west side of island, Balik Pulau, and the great drive over the mountains to Telok Kumbar stopping at Bukit Genting Hilltop, ( google location but not too difficult to find )  where you'll see loads of durian on the hairy road up to the restaurant and again great views.

Then when reach Telok Kumbar turn right along the coast road and look for sign to Hai Boey seafood restaurant which has good seafood and the best view of sunset in Malaysia if you are ther around 6-30 pm, a sunset not to miss.

maybe bring a "nanny" along  :XD:

Since genting or cameron doesnt have cow farm, one can bring HL milk from sg, then reheat on pan, hoola its fresh haha

Penang has at least two goat farms

I have been to Saanen goat farm a few times. It's at the lowland area of Balik Pulau. They sell fresh goats milk

https://www.facebook.com/SaanenDairyGoatFarm/