Showster

69 members have voted

1. 1. How much space do you require?

• 10 sqft (about 1m square)
    • 30 sqft (about 2 m square)
    • 100 sqft (about 3 m square)
    • 1000 sqft (about 10 m square)
    • 100000 sqft or more

The Minister has spoken - you don't need that much space!

No explicit details or OT tiko directions please. This is about population, housing and nation building.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/ministers-rejoinder-to-no-flat-no-child-belief

You do not need much space to have sex.

That was the feisty rejoinder from Senior Minister of State Josephine Teo, who oversees the National Population and Talent Division, to a question on whether young people are not getting their flats early enough to have children.

The suggestion was that this could be a chicken-and-egg problem. To qualify for the Parenthood Priority Scheme, which gives first- time married couples first dibs on getting a flat, they must be expecting or have a citizen child below 16.

But to have a child, some say they need to have a flat first.

With a straight face, Mrs Teo declared: "You need a very small space to have sex."

Known for her candid blog posts on dating and marriage, Mrs Teo does not mince her words - think "menstruation" and "cysts" - when it comes to urging young people to look for love and settle down early.

In an interview on marriage and parenthood issues last week, the mother of three teenage children tackled issues ranging from infertility to why the Government should not be "too kaypoh" (Hokkien for busybody).

She noted that the Singaporean love story has a different arc from that of countries in the West. "In our case, man meets woman, man falls in love with woman, man proposes to woman, they then plan the wedding and do the house," she said.

"In France, in the UK, in the Nordic countries, man meets woman, tonight they can make a baby already. They love each other. Both of them partly have their own family, so it is a matter of living in yours or living in mine, and they also don't have to worry about marriage - that comes later," she added.

So how about having a couple declare that they wish to have a child in two years and get the flat first?

• Measures being considered to coax couples to marry and have babies
  • Housing

•Reduce the wait for Build-To-Order Housing Board flats

Childcare

•Increase childcare spaces to two for every three children

•Look for suitable spaces in buildings, such as underutilised carparks, that can be converted into childcare centres

•Attract childcare teachers through better pay and career planning, and elevate their social status to that of school teachers

Caring for babies at home

•Match local nannies to those who need them

•Train maids to look after babies

At the workplace

•Get employers to offer flexible work arrangements and promote work-life balance, with the Government taking the lead as an employer

"What if they can't conceive? Take back the flat from them? How do you know they really tried to conceive? Can we check whether they use contraceptives? Cannot, right?" she replied, amused.

Instead of having the Government poke its nose into the bedroom, Mrs Teo relied instead on persuasion. She urged women to have babies early as they would not know if they are fertile or not.

"You never really know that you're not fertile until you try. Unfortunately, it is one of those things. There is no fertility indicator. As a woman you will know, if you have regular menstruation, okay, (there is a) likelihood. But maybe you have a major cyst and how would you know until you attempt to conceive, only to realise that you can't?"

The search for love is also not something to be left to chance, she said. "When I meet young people and ask if they go and look for upgrading opportunities, they said 'yes'. I said, 'What about love? Do you go and look for love?' They said 'no'. I said, 'Why not?' They said, 'If it happens, it happens'.

Edited by Showster

simi minister is this?

having sex and having baby is same same but different

having sex for shiok can go hotel 81 or sembawang and woodland forest

i agree with minister that sex don't need much space

brothel-02.jpg

• Praise 19

I strongly encourage young people to settle down and have babies early. Don't drag until you have fertility problems.

Before our country is swarmed by foreigners.

• Praise 11

Sex small space.. baby need big roof.. for diapers etc etc.. it's call a home.. this M getting a bit ridiculous..

I strongly encourage young people to settle down and have babies early. Don't drag until you have fertility problems.

Before our country is swarmed by foreigners.

Do your part bro do your part.. you should not discriminate.. why only young ?

walao ... our M open mouth matching bolehland M standard? [sweatdrop]

Sex small space.. baby need big roof.. for diapers etc etc.. it's call a home.. this M getting a bit ridiculous..

I dunno about the rest of you but the way she put it is not just cold but also not...human.

It reminds me of this...

chickens.jpg

Where the egg represents children and the enclosure is hdb flats. The chickens in the chicken farm dun need a lot of space to fxxk and lay eggs.

Is this the best she can described it? I'm getting a lot of goosebumps or chickenbumps depending on how she look at Singaporeans.

where is AWARE?

thousand years ago ... no sex before wedding night

thousand years later ... we already accept sex before wedding is perfectly normal and how many really marry their 1st love

now she say ... fck and make baby and don't "worry" about marriage?

i guess ... she is a 100% supporter for "get on the bus first, buy ticket later"

angmoh saying ... "shotgun marriage"

when you hold your wedding banquet your wife showcase the big tummy

post-7984-0-67941200-1476232746_thumb.jpg

I think she could have rephrased into a question to be more sensitive. Or give some examples / stats of people who have had a decent experience with smaller spaces.

Much like how mothers coax children to have grandchildren. It cannot be so direct.

Can get married first and plan for children before flat. Don't think she meant premarital.

Still quite possible I think.

where is AWARE?

thousand years ago ... no sex before wedding night

thousand years later ... we already accept sex before wedding is perfectly normal and how many really marry their 1st love

now she say ... fck and make baby and don't even "care" about marriage?

I dunno about the rest of you but the way she put it is not just cold but also not...human.

It reminds me of this...

Where the egg represents children and the enclosure is hdb flats. The chickens in the chicken farm dun need a lot of space to fxxk and lay eggs.

Is this the best she can described it? I'm getting a lot of goosebumps or chickenbumps depending on how she look at Singaporeans.

Hens dont even need cocks to lay eggs...  :secret-laugh: 

no leh ... she reckon man meets woman ... tonight can piak piak RAW liao ... [sly]

i'm sure all have known more or at least 1 case (friend, friend of friend, relative) who got married very young due to shotgun marriage ... when they piak raw and get pregnant ... they were deeply madly in love too

but they never plan ahead before ... so ... it's a no brainer ... what's the final outcome

Can get married first and plan for children before flat. Don't think she meant premarital.

I no expert but last night just had sex with my 32 yo gf.

at least 400 square feet plus nice bed for that purpose only.

Edited by Gitanic

young couple need 5 room flat to start with, can roll from one room to another then to the kitchen (like in the porn movie IF....)   [laugh]  [laugh]

who is going to tell their daugther this?

even son also no no ... [mad]

That's why she said that is the Western approach, not for our young couples to follow.

Think perhaps we like to plan too much, from education to finding a job to even when to have a baby.

Dun forget in sg truly NEED CAR FIRST before having baby hor @soya

Say carry baby la, ferry in laws la knn

I don't quite follow why she needs to bring up about the Western way of co-habiting cos that is definitely frown upon in our Asian culture n whilst I don't think she's encouraging this, her msg could be misconstrued n anyway I don't see the relevance to the issue of young couples wanting a new flat quickly.

Or am I missing something here?

Edited by Spring
  • Praise 13