<Bloomberg News Leak> SPH Retrenchment Coming

Jellandross

Curious. How come the attitude to this news is generally orbi good or nonchalance whereas other retrenchment news are usually met with sympathy?

Anyway, business is business. When your business is parroting govt propaganda and sensationalising stories, I guess the business case just doesn't exist anymore when we can just visit blogs or forums for the same or better info.

Similarly, who would buy fhm when you can get better quality photos of better quality girls on Instagram and Facebook?

There are no royal family or high profile celebs here, so what can the tabloid papers write? I wonder.

"Free Sheet"?! LoL... What a description.

What's next? "The Sheet"? [laugh]

Or "Holy Sheet" if it decides to go religious.

Unlikely lah... They will keep the profits for emergency cash :D

I think you misunderstood me.

Whether the keep or not, cost cut is good for shareholders

So i am happy that they cut costs.

However, it may cause some hardship for some people.

Thats unfortunate so hope that these people are prepared

Hope they didnt go about buying cars or property with huge loans

Will die very ugly.

Curious. How come the attitude to this news is generally orbi good or nonchalance whereas other retrenchment news are usually met with sympathy?

Anyway, business is business. When your business is parroting govt propaganda and sensationalising stories, I guess the business case just doesn't exist anymore when we can just visit blogs or forums for the same or better info.

Similarly, who would buy fhm when you can get better quality photos of better quality girls on Instagram and Facebook?

dude,  tell that to LKY.  

(Hint* - read my signature quote..) [laugh]

Obviously most don't agree with their way of running their 'business', so of course we cheer when bad news befalls them. Would probably be the same reaction if Temasek or GIC announce such news (or maybe even worse).

Sad for those affected but they're just incidental collateral I guess.

"Singapore Press Holdings, whose market capitalization of S$6 billion ($4.4 billion) is more than twice that of The New York Times Co., said in an e-mailed response to queries that it doesn’t respond to speculation. The company will release earnings for the year ended Aug. 31 on Friday."

KNN when they come to you with speculations, they expect you to comment since the "pubic has a right to know"!! Some bull crap reasoning that journalists use to blabber when they are met with reticence.

When it involves themselves, the pubic suddenly has no right to know! Yah right!! Farking double standards...PHUI!!

"Singapore Press Holdings, whose market capitalization of S$6 billion ($4.4 billion) is more than twice that of The New York Times Co., said in an e-mailed response to queries that it doesn’t respond to speculation. The company will release earnings for the year ended Aug. 31 on Friday."

KNN when they come to you with speculations, they expect you to comment since the "pubic has a right to know"!! Some bull crap reasoning that journalists use to blabber when they are met with reticence.

When it involves themselves, the pubic suddenly has no right to know! Yah right!! Farking double standards...PHUI!!

TNP style the reporter will twist that statement saying that SPH was contacted and did not deny the rumors.

dude, tell that to LKY.

(Hint* - read my signature quote..) [laugh]

Actually, his logic wasn't quite right either. If there is no business case for playboy at that point of time, why did he need to ban it?

I subscribe to FHM

Taiwan

on my IPAD.

Any monopoly business is good business...In fact you can save more cost by removing the top management since it is monopoly.

If you remove top management, where to park retired civil servant?

i dun think it is major, probably very small headcount. 

10% of headcount still not major?

hahaha

good point

Actually, his logic wasn't quite right either. If there is no business case for playboy at that point of time, why did he need to ban it?

I think this is more of a legacy from Singapore strict law against pornography, especially  before the Internet became ubiquitous.

With today's online "free shows", one can see LKY himself accept that time has changed and no amount of censorship is gonna keep out adult-oriented content from being so accessible.

I think you misunderstood me.

Whether the keep or not, cost cut is good for shareholders

So i am happy that they cut costs.

However, it may cause some hardship for some people.

Thats unfortunate so hope that these people are prepared

Hope they didnt go about buying cars or property with huge loans

Will die very ugly.

Perhaps u shld start a tv show

Will be bigger than suze orman

I'm sure anyone will have phobia for debt after taking to u