Driving License: SAF Transport Operator/Driver Vocation

Revole

Kinda curious with this. Anybody with experience may clarify this?

1) SAF drivers gets their SAF Driving License during their army time(different from Civilian’s), but what if you have already gotten a Civilian Driving License before you entered the Army? Will you get posted to the driver vocation?

I’ve heard that if you already have a Civilian Driving License, chances of you getting into the Driver Vocation is almost ZERO or you don’t even have a chance as they want to give those people with no license to experience as a driver? How reliable is this? 

2) Second question. So example if I got into the driver vocation and I hold both SAF Driving License & Civilian Driving License, and One unfortunate day (example) I am driving the military vehicle and I accidentally got caught committing traffic offences (such as speeding/beat red light/knock down people with no intention), does it affect only my SAF driving license only and get charged, or it will also affect my Civilian driving license as well? Meaning both my SAF & Civilian driving license gets affected (Demerit points etc.)

It just some thought that makes me curious & just for in case. Accidents do happen, I know we can prevent it but it’s just for some knowledge.

I am curious why you ask the questions.

Anyway, I got DL before entering NS lor and I am not in the DV lor.  A difficult vocation lor, very prune to DB hor.

Ever in a 3T returning to B from RR.  Bang another 3T, got minor injury.  Driver DB 2weeks lor.  

Accident with injury at least 2 week DB hor ....... more Guaranteed than GCOE hor

My school mate DRIVING Jeep without DL in Camp, DB 3 weeks hor.

1) SAF drivers gets their SAF Driving License during their army time(different from Civilian’s), but what if you have already gotten a Civilian Driving License before you entered the Army? Will you get posted to the driver vocation?

I’ve heard that if you already have a Civilian Driving License, chances of you getting into the Driver Vocation is almost ZERO or you don’t even have a chance as they want to give those people with no license to experience as a driver? How reliable is this? 

2) Second question. So example if I got into the driver vocation and I hold both SAF Driving License & Civilian Driving License, and One unfortunate day (example) I am driving the military vehicle and I accidentally got caught committing traffic offences (such as speeding/beat red light/knock down people with no intention), does it affect only my SAF driving license only and get charged, or it will also affect my Civilian driving license as well? Meaning both my SAF & Civilian driving license gets affected (Demerit points etc.)

It just some thought that makes me curious & just for in case. Accidents do happen, I know we can prevent it but it’s just for some knowledge.

I am curious why you ask the questions.

Anyway, I got DL before entering NS lor and I am not in the DV lor.  A difficult vocation lor, very prune to DB hor.

Ever in a 3T returning to B from RR.  Bang another 3T, got minor injury.  Driver DB 2weeks lor.  

Accident with injury at least 2 week DB hor ....... more Guaranteed than GCOE hor 

My school mate DRIVING Jeep without DL in Camp, DB 3 weeks hor.

That's serious - But is it both license are 2 different kind of thing?

Like if I possess both of the SAF & Civilian driving license, when I am driving the military vehicle and then I accidentally commit a traffic offense, does it affect my civilian driving license as well?  Or only the SAF driving license? 

LOL this is just plain confusing! 

TS going to NS soon?? let me answer you with my personal experience during my NS time.

1) I got my driving license before NS, but I was posted to air force but not driver vocation. Its all depends on where they need manpower.

2) My officer decided to send me to SAF driver orientation course during my final year in order to drive their GP car for errands. But my nightmare has started after it becos I become sai kang warrior in my group. My officers every single thing will activate GP car for business.

The SAF ford everest is not easy to handle too, mind you is GPS tracked.

Morale of the story, doesn't mean you posted to driver vocation means easy life in NS. SAF driver have to camouflage a 5-tonner during field camp which is even more difficult than camouflage yourself.   

Edited by Sugimoto

I got my license before NS and still got posted as driver. In fact my unit had quite a lot of NSF with civilian license who were posted as driver.

Am not sure if your civilian license will be affected by traffic offences committed while driving military vehicle. Thankfully I was never dealt with such an experience.

Just pray hard you do not kena this kinda vocation. Or kena arrow to go for what driving orientation course. Have cv license also say don't have, keep a low profile. Why put yourself thru so much risk?

Nope, from what i understood, only your SAF license at risk should u get into traffic offense.

All things military stay military during your tenure in the SAF.

Just like if u r charge during SAF, u won't have a record when u go out cos military matter won't cross into your civil life, unless u really committed some serious shit inside there. then SAF may refer to civilian court for judgement.

im a driver in saf, so here is my anwer

1) SAF drivers gets their SAF Driving License during their army time(different from Civilian’s), but what if you have already gotten a Civilian Driving License before you entered the Army? Will you get posted to the driver vocation? - not necessary, you might end up in diver

I’ve heard that if you already have a Civilian Driving License, chances of you getting into the Driver Vocation is almost ZERO or you don’t even have a chance as they want to give those people with no license to experience as a driver? How reliable is this? no facts...just hearsay, you can still get into driver if you hold a civi license, maybe guards driving the light strike vehicle

2) Second question. So example if I got into the driver vocation and I hold both SAF Driving License & Civilian Driving License, and One unfortunate day (example) I am driving the military vehicle and I accidentally got caught committing traffic offences (such as speeding/beat red light/knock down people with no intention), does it affect only my SAF driving license only and get charged, or it will also affect my Civilian driving license as well? Meaning both my SAF & Civilian driving license gets affected (Demerit points etc.) - if driving Military vehicle, the punishment will stay in military.  but if you are driving a civi car, the punishment gets carried into the military, as you still be driving on public roads.  so, if you have lost your civi license, chances are you might be posted out of driver in military 

TS going to NS soon?? let me answer you with my personal experience during my NS time.

1) I got my driving license before NS, but I was posted to air force but not driver vocation. Its all depends on where they need manpower.

2) My officer decided to send me to SAF driver orientation course during my final year in order to drive their GP car for errands. But my nightmare has started after it becos I become sai kang warrior in my group. My officers every single thing will activate GP car for business.

The SAF ford everest is not easy to handle too, mind you is GPS tracked.

Morale of the story, doesn't mean you posted to driver vocation means easy life in NS. SAF driver have to camouflage a 5-tonner during field camp which is even more difficult than camouflage yourself.   

Driver not an easy job in army lo, always see those drivers need to drive during the wee hours to send troops, move out super early in the morning to send troops, and also always on standby to run errands. And camouflage the vehicle esp big ones is not easy, although many people always view drivers very lobo and easy job. Lol.

Driver compare to the troops he is sending, which one more xiong? Kek Kek. .....

Once you do a few times, it become dam easy to camo liao. But first time do really very frustrating one. Edited by GLZT

I still remember during my last reservist. CB pricks told me to become vehicle commander and the driver and the 3 tonner was involved in an accident a day before. The driver didnt check his brakes pressure before moving off. I had not a single night of sleep for 3 days during the exercise and i didnt had a wink all the way back to camp from commando jetty....

I got my civilian license before entering army ( I am a regular in those day), and I did not know I need a SAF license before I can drive a MID vehicles. I drove anyway without a SAF license for about 1 year [:p] until one day the counter in the vehicle "jump" when I itchy finger press on it will it was peeping.....got a good lecture from the MT line OC....till that day I then come to know I need a SAF driving license to drive a SAF vehicles.... [:p]

Different car plate lo, surely need military licence to drive MID vehicle. Lol. Seems like many of you obtain civilian licence before army, consider quite a young age. 

Many of my friends have licence before enlistment, but none became driver.

I got my driving licence during NSF.

So having licence before or after will not affect the posting.

Now even better, you get to choose the vocation you prefer before enlistment.

Wah. Your questions just gave me an idea for ns men (drivers) to geng.

Those with civilian license can slowly accumulate demerit points outside until license is suspended. Then you will be a driver that cannot drive  [lipsrsealed]

Shiok ah.

Wah. Your questions just gave me an idea for ns men (drivers) to geng.

Those with civilian license can slowly accumulate demerit points outside until license is suspended. Then you will be a driver that cannot drive  [lipsrsealed]

Shiok ah.

Then you will become the Area Cleaning Specialist.