How is your 2016?

Carbon82

Looking back, many things happened this year, a mix of good and bad events for me. Starting with the bad one first, this is the first time I lost count of the number of funeral I have attended this year, close to 10, if not more. Some gone just so suddenly (diagnosed with final stage cancer, asthma leading to brain-dead, fallen into water), leaving behind their loved one in shock and lost. Imagine in one case, a family photo (a grand one with ~50 pax) suddenly short of 3 members in a span of 4 months time… sigh [sweatdrop]

And after so many years of constant reminders, my mum still got scammed by those door-to-door sales person, as that “auntie” is very willing to lend her a listening ear, but little did she know that it is part of scammer’s tactics to fish info from her, making her walk into their trap unknowingly. Lucky for us, we manage to recover the full sum eventually (with police report made), but not without a lot of leg work, data collection and banging tables (CASE inclusive)… [furious]

Lessons learned: Spend more time with your family, be patient with old folks especially, listen to their grumble/complaint with an open mind, as you will never know what is in their mind if they don’t speak out (whether we can solve their problem is a separate matter). Try to put ourselves in their perspective when suggesting solutions, instead of insisting we are right / they are wrong! I know saying is easier than done, but I don’t want to have any regret on the day they are gone… … [bigcry]

OK, now on the better part, I managed to finally bring my family for a trip in Europe, something that I have wanted to do so many years back, but financially challenged (it is not just about affordability for me). I am not born with silver spoon, every cent were hard earned, and the more I have to plan my spending carefully, so that I would still have enough for rainy days and retirement.

And more importantly, I don’t want to let my young ones to take things for granted. A small surprise for me after the trip when my son came to me, saying: “Daddy, we have spent so much recently, do you still have enough saving?” With this simple statement, I know my preaching (on financial prudent) has been effective… [thumbsup]

Work wise, my willingness to take new challenges (different job function) has landed me with a new role and exposure. Although no promotion or increment, but I am happy with what I am doing (including the strong support from my superior), and I have also picked up a new skill, why not? Lessons learned: Do not hesitate to try out new things, you have nothing to lose actually. Knowledge and experience will follow you for life, unless you choose to “abandon” them.

OK, that all for me. What about yours? BTW, an early season greeting. Wish all of you and your loved one a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. [flowerface]

Edited by Carbon82
  • Praise 44

Life is what you make it.

Some people too much work they complain.

Some people too little work they complain.

I never do any work and I never complain.  [thumbsup]

• Praise 15

I never do any work and I never complain.  [thumbsup]

I never do any work and I also never complain.

BUT

Others complain about me [laugh]

• Praise 19

well, 2016 is very much like this song for me

which is pretty much wrapped up by the following two verses:

You've got to know when to hold 'em

Know when to fold 'em
Know when to walk away
Know when to run
You never count your money
When you're sittin' at the table
There'll be time enough for countin'
When the dealin's done

Every gambler knows
That the secret to survivin'
Is knowin' what to throw away
And knowin' what to keep
'Cause every hand's a winner
And every hand's a loser
And the best that you can hope for
Is to die in your sleep"

I never do any work and I also never complain.

BUT

Others complain about me

:nosepick: I want to complain :omg:  about your chicken are all   :a-no:  not meaty enough   :pissed-off:

My 2016 is mai hiam   :a-aggressive:  buay pai lah   <_<

• Praise 13

:nosepick: I want to complain :omg:  about your chicken are all   :a-no:  not meaty enough   :pissed-off:

My 2016 is mai hiam   :a-aggressive:  buay pai lah   <_<

NB you cheapo nanak buy one economy chicken and one business chicken and want to up grade to two business chicken...

Self pawned and still dare post and complain

2016 is a shit year for me and also my wife as far as we can remember. Both work front and home front.

Hope 2017 will be better.

My children are growing up happy and healthy. So no complaints.

Not so good part, me and my sister had to manage my parents after they cant stand each other during my parent's place renovation. Both have too many long term grudges/complaints that they can't reconcile.

My family and my wife's family are all in good health. 

So yup it's been a good year.

• Praise 12

NB you cheapo nanak buy one economy chicken and one business chicken and want to up grade to two business chicken...

Self pawned and still dare post and complain

Your Chickenfarm is already far back and out-dated, there are now only 2 types of modern Chickenfarms, namely the "Short Legged and Long Legged" ones, both never use economy or business classification ratings, but cosmetic appearance is important.

I never do any work and I never complain. [thumbsup]

we share the same passion [thumbsup]

[laugh] [laugh]

shit year.. 犯太岁....   cant wait for it to end... still 2mths to go...  :TT_TT:

2017 seems to be worse with Mr. Trump still so active on Twitter. Morning see this news and got depressed :))  http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-38167022

Looking back every year I always wished and had  a lot of hope for the next year to come, but not this year. 

Edited by G1234

Looking back, many things happened this year, a mix of good and bad events for me. Starting with the bad one first, this is the first time I lost count of the number of funeral I have attended this year, close to 10, if not more. Some gone just so suddenly (diagnosed with final stage cancer, asthma leading to brain-dead, fallen into water), leaving behind their loved one in shock and lost. Imagine in one case, a family photo (a grand one with ~50 pax) suddenly short of 3 members in a span of 4 months time… sigh [sweatdrop]

And after so many years of constant reminders, my mum still got scammed by those door-to-door sales person, as that “auntie” is very willing to lend her a listening ear, but little did she know that it is part of scammer’s tactics to fish info from her, making her walk into their trap unknowingly. Lucky for us, we manage to recover the full sum eventually (with police report made), but not without a lot of leg work, data collection and banging tables (CASE inclusive)… [furious]

Lessons learned: Spend more time with your family, be patient with old folks especially, listen to their grumble/complaint with an open mind, as you will never know what is in their mind if they don’t speak out (whether we can solve their problem is a separate matter). Try to put ourselves in their perspective when suggesting solutions, instead of insisting we are right / they are wrong! I know saying is easier than done, but I don’t want to have any regret on the day they are gone… … [bigcry]

OK, now on the better part, I managed to finally bring my family for a trip in Europe, something that I have wanted to do so many years back, but financially challenged (it is not just about affordability for me). I am not born with silver spoon, every cent were hard earned, and the more I have to plan my spending carefully, so that I would still have enough for rainy days and retirement.

And more importantly, I don’t want to let my young ones to take things for granted. A small surprise for me after the trip when my son came to me, saying: “Daddy, we have spent so much recently, do you still have enough saving?” With this simple statement, I know my preaching (on financial prudent) has been effective… [thumbsup]

Work wise, my willingness to take new challenges (different job function) has landed me with a new role and exposure. Although no promotion or increment, but I am happy with what I am doing (including the strong support from my superior), and I have also picked up a new skill, why not? Lessons learned: Do not hesitate to try out new things, you have nothing to lose actually. Knowledge and experience will follow you for life, unless you choose to “abandon” them.

OK, that all for me. What about yours? BTW, an early season greeting. Wish all of you and your loved one a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. [flowerface]

Sounds like a decent year overall. Well done and enjoy

Ping ping an an.

Not hungry, not sick

Jobless but have time for other things

Huat ah!

As my dad get older, I also worried he will get scammed. He's deteriorated quite a bit since his retirement 6 years ago.

The things he been doing that my mum tells me about are  ... ...

here's mine.

in March, a thing call COE cost me 50k, because I need a car and love my car.. I had no choice than to surrender to it.

Nov, finally took my honeymoon after 3 years of marriage.

Overall, I am thankful and blessed.

I thank for giving me a good job,

I thank for my parents, thanking them and their health.

I thank for granting my wish, bringing my mum for a short holiday and hopefully, I can continue to do that next year.

I thank for the wonderful time in jeju/seoul, it was fantastic.

I thank my car, despite being 10 years old, it still serve me very well.

I thank I got lesser headache and ankle pain, as they have shifted to my shoulder instead.

I am thankful and I thank you, for reading what I have just wrote.

Edited by Kurty
  • Praise 14

Mine was okay.

Work wise, a hectic 1st quarter. got a little more than expected pay adjustment. Manage to screw up one project this year so wont be looking forward for the upcoming review. :TT_TT: Got to know a few colleagues better in the course of work though.

Family wise, wife had a minor op. All is fine. Parents are in good health. Like TS said, must spend more time with them.

Had 2 overseas trip this year, one for biz another for leisure (JP). Enjoyed both trips especially in Japan.

All in all, not a great nor bad year. Def looking forward to next year. [thumbsup]