Dividend Stocks?

hi guys i just realised i've been a little bit old.... and was wondering beside my insurance, my fixed deposits, and a few stocks i hold in IPO and some american stocks, i need to take charge and diversify...

i read that a lot of stocks had a bad year in 2016.

is it time to buy?

i read up on dividend stocks singapore for investing in dividends.

any guys can share your experience in dividends reaping?

ironically, i got thinking of this after listening to the radio advertisement while driving

its crazy.... 40 yo can be under govt 's Eldershield liao...

sian 1/2

hi guys i just realised i've been a little bit old.... and was wondering beside my insurance, my fixed deposits, and a few stocks i hold in IPO and some american stocks, i need to take charge and diversify...

i read that a lot of stocks had a bad year in 2016.

is it time to buy?

i read up on dividend stocks singapore for investing in dividends.

any guys can share your experience in dividends reaping?

ironically, i got thinking of this after listening to the radio advertisement while driving

its crazy.... 40 yo can be under govt 's Eldershield liao...

sian 1/2

no comment on stocks nor dividends as I am a noob,

only can comment on the radio part as I also heard it yesterday..

another year, I am under eldershield..

no comment on stocks nor dividends as I am a noob,

only can comment on the radio part as I also heard it yesterday..

another year, I am under eldershield..

i don't understand why the government deemed us as "Elder" at 40yo! haha 40 yo join eldershield liao.. simi logic is this siah

the earlier it starts, the more collections from you before disbursements. [laugh]

Of course they can delay till say 50, but premiums will be super expensive due to opportunity costs. :D

If really caring, should start once we start working by making everyone contribute 10 cent per year. Then, if any time suay suay walking fall down, eat choke till...., cannot work.... can claim. Call this disability insurance or daily physical-challenge insurance to be politically correct.

i don't understand why the government deemed us as "Elder" at 40yo! haha 40 yo join eldershield liao.. simi logic is this siah

Edited by Kangadrool

Wow! 40 years old consider elderly Liao ah.....

haha, yeah..

I bet if my wife hears this, she will be laughing her head off.

she already start to call me lao lang..

so whats the catch of this eldershield?

anyway, I think we are seriously off topic, wanna change to your topic instead to eldershield?

the earlier u are "Elder" , the earlier the g0v can collect more money. 

its business as usual for them , all the sai idea  <_<

haha, yeah..

I bet if my wife hears this, she will be laughing her head off.

she already start to call me lao lang..

so whats the catch of this eldershield?

anyway, I think we are seriously off topic, wanna change to your topic instead to eldershield?

haha you are right, we are off topic.

pls share what u guys know abt dividend investing. i need to do something before i am classified as "Elder" by government.

lol. i faced the exact situation u were worried. my wife was in my car and heard the advertisement and laughed out loud and ask me what birthday present i want with my eldershield plan.

lol. government very smart. collect premiums from u before u elder.

why got pple cancel? can cancel?

just buy any of our three banks and keep them for your retirement. ~4% of dividend yield plus future capital appreciation, no horse run. 

bank stocks expensive siah. but now 100 units instead of 1000 units per lot.. at least now can plan for it.

last time during 1 lot = 1000 units if u give me this advice, i also cannot take.

glad that now stocks can be purchased in lower quantity.

pls share what u guys know abt dividend investing. i need to do something before i am classified as "Elder" by government.

lol. i faced the exact situation u were worried. my wife was in my car and heard the advertisement and laughed out loud and ask me what birthday present i want with my eldershield plan.

bank stocks expensive siah. but now 100 units instead of 1000 units per lot.. at least now can plan for it.

last time during 1 lot = 1000 units if u give me this advice, i also cannot take.

ok, must adhere to the topic

We just started  ETF and Singapore bonds, monthly $500 as part of our retirement plan.

opted out of eldershield...never paid any premiums for it

useless policy

cos your have $750k shield ma....

:XD:

Even if is 1000 units for say OCBC is less than $10k; still lower than most amount people put in FD but definitely much higher interest than what the typical 12 mths FD give now (around 1%??). If you just buy 100 units, the dividend not very significant leh.

Other defensive stocks with reasonable dividends are the telcos stocks... 

Can also take a look at ST Engr & Venture.

ok, must adhere to the topic

We just started  ETF and Singapore bonds, monthly $500 as part of our retirement plan.

oh yah. good point, can i ask if those STI ETF.

does sti etf pay out dividends as well?

Even if is 1000 units for say OCBC is less than $10k; still lower than most amount people put in FD but definitely much higher interest than what the typical 12 mths FD give now (around 1%??). If you just buy 100 units, the dividend not very significant leh.

Other defensive stocks with reasonable dividends are the telcos stocks... 

Can also take a look at ST Engr & Venture.

hmm thats true.

but like that buy 3 banks is deplete all the cash savings liao, not much room for other stocks.

and i cannot focus all on financial sectors.

anyway, if back to the banks, which bank (i am assuming OCBC, UOB and DBS only) would u say is good for dividend strategy?

oh yah. good point, can i ask if those STI ETF.

does sti etf pay out dividends as well?

hmm thats true.

but like that buy 3 banks is deplete all the cash savings liao, not much room for other stocks.

and i cannot focus all on financial sectors.

anyway, if back to the banks, which bank (i am assuming OCBC, UOB and DBS only) would u say is good for dividend strategy?

yes, STI ETF does.

Historically pays out about 3% dividend per year.

POEMS is the only company that automatically reinvest the dividends into STI ETF

currently, I am buying through DBS.

can consider as I did made some profit with it.

bought them at early years, practise DCA until they went $2.

sold them off when it hit $3.40

yes, STI ETF does.

Historically pays out about 3% dividend per year.

POEMS is the only company that automatically reinvest the dividends into STI ETF

currently, I am buying through DBS.

can consider as I did made some profit with it.

bought them at early years, practise DCA until they went $2.

sold them off when it hit $3.40

ok i think i understand a bit more liao.... thank you thank you

STI ETF , shld be better since no need to stock pick liao