Driving against traffic incidents! How to avoid?

This vigilante desire to want to catch all those driving against traffic is a tad knee jerk reaction.. 

case in point... if we strictly talk abt the interpretation of the rules...

how many people here dare say never drove against an arrow in a carpark? 

I think there are many one way roads in sg.. and there will be people who want to 'save' petrol.. lazy... stupid etc who break the rules. 

Imho.. these people are dangerous yes.. reckless? not really... stupid? very

Such a surge in the number of videos of ppl going against traffic and to me.. only that 1.30am 5th july one is anywhere near the xiao lang level... and must be duly punished.. 

all the others.. tolong la..   dont post for the sake of posting lor..   

you are trivializing what that xiao lang did

my 2c

I'm just thinking aloud.

It's actually not so straightforward to drive in the wrong direction leh. I mean if i really want to try entering an expressway in the wrong direction, I would literally have to snake my way to the wrong slip road which is designed to curve in the correct direction, if you know what i mean.

Or maybe I just find it unintuitive because I'm not depressed, drunk or possessed by higher power.

Or .. do a U turn for whatever reason..   

someone made a comment to xiam road block.. which personally thinks that very possible

Times hv changed baby
It's like if a killer confesses he kilked... the person hearing confession tell or not

Edited by SuPerBoRed

This vigilante desire to want to catch all those driving against traffic is a tad knee jerk reaction..

case in point... if we strictly talk abt the interpretation of the rules...

how many people here dare say never drove against an arrow in a carpark?

I think there are many one way roads in sg.. and there will be people who want to 'save' petrol.. lazy... stupid etc who break the rules.

Imho.. these people are dangerous yes.. reckless? not really... stupid? very

Such a surge in the number of videos of ppl going against traffic and to me.. only that 1.30am 5th july one is anywhere near the xiao lang level... and must be duly punished..

all the others.. tolong la.. dont post for the sake of posting lor..

you are trivializing what that xiao lang did

my 2c

Or .. do a U turn for whatever reason..

someone made a comment to xiam road block.. which personally thinks that very possible

disagree.. on the number thingy..

if a member makes a honest 100% effort to decipher the speeding number.. but end up was wrong.. doesnt that create embarassment to the non-guilty party? what if there was police action was based on the wrong number?

Valid point and not so simple to look at but looking at the trend of these 'against traffic drivers ' creeping up is not something to be taken light

While you may think it is trivializing, perhaps so, but an immediate stop or warning or change of enforcement lest people get bolder .

Perhaps it's the recent mayhem created that's why EVERY incident is highlighted

That's how I see it

U can never catch but a deterrent is due here!

Folks! Starting a new thread here and it warrants one as more idiots driving against traffic flow

Fire away

5 Whys.

1. Why drive opposite direction?

Want to save petrol.

2. Why want to save petrol?

Cannot afford.

3. Why cannot afford?

Petrol too expensive

4. Why petrol too expensive?

Gov impose heavy petrol tax.

5. Why gov impose heavy petrol tax?

Gov wants more money.

Root caused identified. [smash]

:XD:

For those small roads with single lane each direction, i can understand that some cars will drove on the opposite lane perhaps to overtake or unwittingly drift to the opposite lane since there's no road divider...

However, for expressway with big road divider, the driver must has to purposely u-turn within the multiple lanes to drive against the traffic as driving across the divider would have likely damage the car liao... this means these drivers MUST be nuts or depressed to want to kill themselves... in any case, they need to be  [rifle]

I'm just thinking aloud.

It's actually not so straightforward to drive in the wrong direction leh. I mean if i really want to try entering an expressway in the wrong direction, I would literally have to snake my way to the wrong slip road which is designed to curve in the correct direction, if you know what i mean.

Or maybe I just find it unintuitive because I'm not depressed, drunk or possessed by higher power.

When you turn right, if you turn into oncoming traffic, you are in the wrong direction already.

If you are travelling on a two-way carriageway and there is a junction, you just have to go from Lane 1 into the Lane 1 of the opposite carriageway and you are in the wrong direction already. Heck, you don't even have to do so long at a junction, you can just drive up and over the dividing island if you are mad enough.

Actually even before the AYE incident there was another in CTE I think. Caused accident too but no fatality

If the TP had enforced then, would things have changed?

Is old age an issue?

@chowyunfatt you any issues when drive?

Anyone meeting MP lately? If so, pls ask MP to bring this up in Parliament, and ask Min Transport what is going to be done about such cases?

We need some Govt action on this. Else it's going to go from bad to worse.

There are cameras for monitoring traffic.

Someone has to monitor those cameras.

How come nobody call TP?

Are these ppl sleeping on job?

Maybe w gps tech once they detect car against flow, can set warning n stall car? But ample warning first not just stall liddat

2-3 weeks ago, i was at Aroozoo Ave (kovan area), didnt know i was driving against the road.

My speed is real slow, becos im looking for the house unit around 9-10pm.

Pass-by a car which stop side way for me to go thru, kept on looking at me, then i realized im going against the traffic.

And the other driver did not even alert me that im going against the road

5 Whys.

Want to save petrol.

Cannot afford.

3. Why cannot afford?

Petrol too expensive

Gov wants more money.

Wah sei....so means drive on wrong side of the road is ultimately gahmen fault

5 Whys.

Want to save petrol.

Cannot afford.

3. Why cannot afford?

Petrol too expensive

Gov wants more money.

6. who voted gahmen in? 

same guy who drove opp direction

loop complete..  [:p]

6. who voted gahmen in?

loop complete.. [:p]

Ok case closed

Lock thread haaaaa

Ok case closed

Lock thread haaaaa

wahlao......you open you closed you lock....ultimate gatekeeper!

6. who voted gahmen in?

loop complete.. [:p]

that wan siao lang....no count....