good review of all 3 cars

Edited by Darrenyc

Hi Guys, 

pls help to advise which is better?

tore between this 2 models.

OMV sportage higher

depre qashqai lower

In this situation you should consider which has a ride (performance, comfort, handling?) you prefer, styling, boot shape, equipment, aftercare package (if any), etc.

Qashqai is also very common now, which is either a plus (presumably good resale value) or a minus (no sense of individuality).

Thinking only of the depreciation/OMV is no use in regards to experience of the car... it is purely a pragmatism aspect which, if you focus too much on, turns the car from a car into just another object...

But, if $$$$ is really the sole factor I guess Qashqai for its better holding value. Depreciation is a significant thing in SG

Edited by 7hm

Have u test drive both cars? I have tried the current Sportage which probably uses the same 2.0MPI engine as the 2014 model. Need to step quite a bit on the gas pedal just to get the car moving from standstill. The engine note sounds really harsh once the rev reaches 3k. The same engine used on the current Tucson seem to be much more refined and the car handles better, with better pick up from standstill.

Edited by Wattokkingu

Have u test drive both cars? I have tried the current Sportage which probably uses the same 2.0MPI engine as the 2014 model. Need to step quite a bit on the gas pedal just to get the car moving from standstill. The engine note sounds really harsh once the rev reaches 3k. The same engine used on the current Tucson seem to be much more refined and the car handles better, with better pick up from standstill.

i'd a diff experience. i found tucson less willing despite both usin same engine but probably tuned differently? both also will have pronounced noise after 3.5k-4k rpm..

Which do you like? Don't look at depreciation and OMV as number choice

Current i am driving a forte so far 7 years already no problem so thinking Kia is a reliable brand.

but saw my colleague driving a new qashqai makes me drool.

both car i like the styling but qashqai has a better interior in terms of the LCD screen on the speedometer. 

space wise it seem that the rear seat are roomier than sportage.

TS mention the 2 model is 2013/2014 model? Is it's used, then importantly is which car has a proper maintenance records

both have proper maintenance record though

prefer 6at to cvt.

prefer sportage styling.

prefer korean to jap if $ permits.

i have not test drive any of the cars yet. but i thought CVT is sluggish

no yet but going to test drive after CNY and importantly need to bring my wife along as she is the CFO.. [:p]  [:p]

Current i am driving a forte so far 7 years already no problem so thinking Kia is a reliable brand.

but saw my colleague driving a new qashqai makes me drool.

both car i like the styling but qashqai has a better interior in terms of the LCD screen on the speedometer.

space wise it seem that the rear seat are roomier than sportage.

both have proper maintenance record though

i have not test drive any of the cars yet. but i thought CVT is sluggish

no yet but going to test drive after CNY and importantly need to bring my wife along as she is the CFO.. [:p][:p]

problem solved lah bro. No matter what we say, your CFO take is the only one you need to listen to!

Hi Wattokkingu,

Just tried the sportage last weekend and indeed the same finding on needing to step hard to accelerate but noisy if you do so.

Bigger space than the qashqai though for sure since my CO is driving the 1.2L version especially with rear reclining seats.

Overall drive, interior feel etc. is still better on the qashqai but yes, sportage looks great with all the led bulb with more space (and rear aircon vents !!) and hence the test drive.

Cheers,

RIchard

This thread is asking about used cars, both these models 2014 models?

If so, then i can't comment much, as I just only started looking at SUVs late late last year.

For the showroom models, i think the sportage is a better buy, but that's just my opinion.

The qashqai is considerably more cramped. The passenger at the centre in the 2nd row will have a hard time as the centre console box, stretches into the legspace of the passenger.

The qashqai i tested was also very noisy when accelerating and driving. 

This thread is asking about used cars, both these models 2014 models?

If so, then i can't comment much, as I just only started looking at SUVs late late last year.

For the showroom models, i think the sportage is a better buy, but that's just my opinion.

The qashqai is considerably more cramped. The passenger at the centre in the 2nd row will have a hard time as the centre console box, stretches into the legspace of the passenger.

The qashqai i tested was also very noisy when accelerating and driving. 

i would pick a tucson over sportage and QQ... [laugh]  [:p]

That's what i did.  [lipsrsealed]

But TS is prob asking about 2014 cars, which i can't profess to know a lot of...

That's what i did. [lipsrsealed]

But TS is prob asking about 2014 cars, which i can't profess to know a lot of...

Oops ..missed about only 2014 cars ..paiseh.

But Tucson same class and same price ?? Dun think so.

If Tucson is in topic, I would go to Harrier liao

Edited by richard_crl032

Oops ..missed about only 2014 cars ..paiseh.

But Tucson same class and same price ?? Dun think so.

If Tucson is in topic, I would go to Harrier liao

Tucson can be in the same class/price i think, simply cos got 4 variants to choose from - sure got one is quite close to them  [laugh]