17-year-old boy dies after falling from 4th floor of Orchard

Ender

Poor boy.. RIP... There's a lesson we have to teach our children. A phone is not worth your life. Let it be, get scolding from parent is still better than risking your life.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/man-falls-4th-floor-orchard-gateway

orchard.png?itok=QtUzIpXS
A damaged parapet is seen in Orchard Central, where a teen fell from the fourth floor, on Friday, Feb 24, 2017. Photo courtesy of Alvin Yow

SINGAPORE – A 17-year-old boy who fell from the fourth floor of Orchard Central on Friday (Feb 24) afternoon has died.

Eyewitnesses told TODAY the incident happened shortly after 4pm. At least four passers-by rushed to help and attempted CPR on the teen.

The teen was taking photos of his friends when he dropped his handphone and was attempting to retrieve the phone from the ledge when he fell, TODAY understands. Mall operator Far East Organisation said that the teen had vaulted the railing of the level 4 link bridge between Orchard Central and Orchard Gateway onto the ledge and subsequently fell to the atrium.

Alvin Yow, 23, a chef at Kanshoku Ramen Bar, said: "The young man had fallen face-up in front of the restaurant."

Eyewitness Chong Wan Ting, 24, who works at nearby shop Lush added that she heard a crack and saw (some) material falling, and when she looked up, she witnessed a man falling.

img_20170224_175013.jpg?itok=wUV775_6

(A  notice is seen along a walkway in Orchard Central, after a man fell from the fourth floor, Feb 24, 2017. Photo: Wong Casandra/TODAY)

“Initially I thought his situation wasn't too bad but he started coughing up blood after someone pumped on his chest,” Ms Chong said.

“It’s traumatising… One of my colleagues cried after the incident.”

Eyewitnesses also said the teen was dressed in a flowery shirt, jeans and high cut shoes, and appeared to have a tattoo on the left arm above the elbow.

The link bridge between Orchard Central and Orchard Gateway has since been closed to the public.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force said they were alerted to the incident at around 4.05pm, and the man was conveyed to the Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

In a media update, police said the teen was unconscious when he was conveyed to hospital and later died at the hospital.

Police are investigating the case of unnatural death. Ms Mavis Seow, Chief Operating Officer, Retail Business Group, Far East Organization, said the company is "deeply concerned" by the incident and are currently assisting the police with their investigations.

“Initially I thought his situation wasn't too bad but he started coughing up blood after someone pumped on his chest,” Ms Chong said.

:/

But ya 4th floor plummet... Low chance of survival

Also, how come take photo of frens, Phone is held outwards where it can drop? Can't be taking photo of frens below ah, Phone cams not that great at zoom, and if selfie, wouldn't it make more sense for phone to be held the other way, pointing at him next to the glass rails? Guess we will never know

Edited by Mockngbrd

Poor parents.

Son made one mistake and is forever gone. Small error of judgement which could have happened to anyone with insufficient life experience.

A 17 year old me may not have been wiser

In a media update, police said the teen was unconscious when he was conveyed to hospital and later died at the hospital."

When I read this was literally very worried ....

1.If teen was unconscious (not pronounce dead (not breathing) at the site) but breathing why did passer-by commenced CPR. They may have caused more internal injury which may have made internal bleeding worse. Eg sharp broken ribs during compression of the chest may lead the sharp edge rib bones to pierce the heart.

2. Furthermore, if passer-by did perform CPF, they need to re-position the teen, which is a NO-NO for those not medically trained because the teen falling from great heights may have fracture his spine and re-positioning him may have lead to sharp edges of the fractured spine to cut the spinal cord completely leading to his demise. In a pedestrian motor vehicle accident, always if the pedestrian is conscious is to ask the pedestrian if he can feel and move his limbs and ask if pedestrian has any neck pain. Never move the pedestrian especially the neck if pedestrian complains of associated neck pain.

In America, the passer-by would be sued until pants drop. Perhaps in this case, being helpful especially if one is not trained can actually be detrimental.

Pray for his family for the unfortunate sudden lost of a love one.

Edited by Still2016
  • Praise 10

The parapet is probably made of gypsum and will not withstand human weight. But from the surface it will look like solid concrete and nobody would have guessed it.

This gives me the creeps cos if its me dropping the phone , I'd most probably done the same...

Time to remind myself and my friends that even if the parapet looks solid, as long as it is barriered or barricaded, it may just be gypsum....

I think corporate responsibility also has to place a warning on such places to remind people the danger.

âInitially I thought his situation wasn't too bad but he started coughing up blood after someone pumped on his chest,â Ms Chong said.

:/

But ya 4th floor plummet... Low chance of survival

Also, how come take photo of frens, Phone is held outwards where it can drop? Can't be taking photo of frens below ah, Phone cams not that great at zoom, and if selfie, wouldn't it make more sense for phone to be held the other way, pointing at him next to the glass rails? Guess we will never know

Let not speculate as someone had passed away.

Btw nowadays phone are pretty slippery holding. I dropped mine may times.

The parapet is probably made of gypsum and will not withstand human weight. But from the surface it will look like solid concrete and nobody would have guessed it.

This gives me the creeps cos if its me dropping the phone , I'd most probably done the same...

Time to remind myself and my friends that even if the parapet looks solid, as long as it is barriered or barricaded, it may just be gypsum....

I think corporate responsibility also has to place a warning on such places to remind people the danger.

20/20 hindsight to me would be that I may have went below to look at whether the parapet looked solid below before attempting.

In America, the passer-by would be sued until pants drop. Perhaps in this case, being helpful especially if one is not trained can actually be detrimental.

No lah. In US you are protected by the Good Samaritian's law.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_Samaritan_law

As long as you try to rescue the person and with good intentions, you cannot be sue even if you unintentionally caused the person's death...

Singapore? No such law but judge's digression made it hard to sue too. But local NGO like red cross is pushing for this law to pass in SG too.

Edited by Pocus

No..I doubt with your age and size can climb over the grilling. You are no 17 yo.

Not defending the person who did cpr or condemning. Just an objective statement.

Personally i would not in this specific situation unless I happen to be with my trauma trained friends also because of trauma and might worsen the condition but I have read before a statement on this before in a journal.

"If you did cpr on a trauma arrest patient he might have a slight chance of survival but if you did nothing he will confirm die. Why are you worried about worsening his injuries when your inaction means his death?"

Just food for thought and actually cpr can be done for trauma patients but you must be trained and you need the right equipment and your partners must also be trained.

Until further information is available I will just assume that the person doing the cpr is trauma trained and not just a bystander who compresses without knowing how to to it or why to do it.

Edited by Philipkee
  • Praise 10

If check no heart beat and no breath, I think can conduct CPR liao, regardless of injuries. As Philipkee said, don't do is confirm die.

Something similar happened to me before. Luckily, I am scared of heights. Decided to get help from the security guards. Lol. But yeah, if I wasn't scared of heights, I would have probably climbed over myself to retrieve it.

Edited by Nzy