Samsung S8 - a phoenix rises from the Note 7 ashes

Lala81

I'm just wondering with the very long screen for the S8+, will there be reason to wait for Note 8.

Well currently i'm only on a SIM only plan and no contract Samsung phone prices do drop a bit after the first few months, so i guess i'll eye this for the later part of the year. Though my S6 is working perfectly well. I'm running out of storage though.

I'm just wondering with the very long screen for the S8+, will there be reason to wait for Note 8.

Well currently i'm only on a SIM only plan and no contract Samsung phone prices do drop a bit after the first few months, so i guess i'll eye this for the later part of the year. Though my S6 is working perfectly well. I'm running out of storage though.

Haha, same here!  Still holding on to my S6 and waiting to see how the Note 8 will look.  Hope it doesn't go into the $1600 range.  :yuush:

The strange thing about large screen phone I observed is, people are still using small font with white background. [laugh]

Don't their eyes get "radiated" by these strong beams of white blue lights?

Haha, same here!  Still holding on to my S6 and waiting to see how the Note 8 will look.  Hope it doesn't go into the $1600 range.  :yuush:

but i checked the last Note 7 was 5.7". even with the curved edges, the S8+ is already bigger.

So maybe the S8+ is the way to go.

I don't really need a stylus anyway.

It's like that liao lah. Progress is very incremental currently.

I seriously doubt that the new 10th anniversary iphone will have anything special also.

The big disappointment is that it will come with 4GB RAM...... was expecting at least 6GB.

very similar to S7 edge ... 

No button also not good . Like Sony . once SW hang , si liao , cant even take out batt. 

price KSL ex ......... 

The big disappointment is that it will come with 4GB RAM...... was expecting at least 6GB.

Hua Wei seems to have better spec 

very similar to S7 edge ... 

No button also not good . Like Sony . once SW hang , si liao , cant even take out batt. 

price KSL ex ......... 

Good point. But every manufacturer is going no physical buttons way. Maximise screen area.

but i checked the last Note 7 was 5.7". even with the curved edges, the S8+ is already bigger.

So maybe the S8+ is the way to go.

I don't really need a stylus anyway.

but hor, it's like some condos got lots of wasted space (balcony, planter, A/C ledge)...

The 5.8" or 6.2" of this S8 and S8+, are big in a large part, due to the wasted space at the bottom and the top, which will house the menu bars or tool bars... as there is no more home button at the bottom.

If take away these wasted screen size space, i wonder what's the actual/effective size of the screen... wanna see whether it's really bigger than the current S7/edge...

Hua Wei seems to have better spec 

Err not really lah.

Huawei P10. Screen pixel density PPI lose out. Smaller screen also 5.1" which is the size of a S6.

Camera also just slightly behind S7 edge.

Though highly commendable effort at a lower price point.

http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_p10-8514.php

but hor, it's like some condos got lots of wasted space (balcony, planter, A/C ledge)...

The 5.8" or 6.2" of this S8 and S8+, are big in a large part, due to the wasted space at the bottom and the top, which will house the menu bars or tool bars... as there is no more home button at the bottom.

If take away these wasted screen size space, i wonder what's the actual/effective size of the screen... wanna see whether it's really bigger than the current S7/edge...

Most important is the apps must make use of the extra space.

Interestingly, the LG G6 also went for a long screen.

http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_g6-8466.php

https://www.technobuffalo.com/2017/03/29/galaxy-s8-vs-lg-g6-is-lgs-new-flagship-already-in-trouble/

The newest Qualcomm processor is on a 10nm process which should be more energy efficient. I think the international exynos one is also on a 10nm process. Currently Samsung has dibs on that processor.

Err not really lah.

Huawei P10. Screen pixel density PPI lose out. Smaller screen also 5.1" which is the size of a S6.

Camera also just slightly behind S7 edge.

Though highly commendable effort at a lower price point.

http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_p10-8514.php

https://www.technobuffalo.com/2017/03/29/galaxy-s8-vs-lg-g6-is-lgs-new-flagship-already-in-trouble/

I saw the P10 plus last week when in SH ... a colleague using it . Impressive. 

LG is like sony ... always something is missing. haha just my view. 

Guess the name "note" will end with Note 7 aftet the saga

Doubt it... if it has pen support, I'm sure they'll sell it as the Note.

They had a good product/name with that one... besides, nothing that a couple of hundred millions on ad campaign can't do to erase bad publicity. 

The newest Qualcomm processor is on a 10nm process which should be more energy efficient. I think the international exynos one is also on a 10nm process. Currently Samsung has dibs on that processor.

Actually I think the long screen quite useful for people who always use the split screen feature. I always use that in my car. half showing google maps half showing spotify. Longer screen means can see more things without scrolling.

Can make use of the extra space meh?

i have the impression that that strip of space (which is included in the screen size calculation) will forever be a "menu bar space" leh, thus become wasted space that, e.g. won't let you see more/bigger page when browsing...

Can make use of the extra space meh?

i have the impression that that strip of space (which is included in the screen size calculation) will forever be a "menu bar space" leh, thus become wasted space that, e.g. won't let you see more/bigger page when browsing...

i think nowadays the software buttons are bit smarter.

If u hold it down there, then the menu buttons will appear. When in apps.

anyway i calculated using my S6 which has a 5.1" screen size. If u count the space with the physical buttons inside, it would be about 5.5"