COE Bidding – 1st Round of April 2017

Carbon82

First of all, please do allow me to post a few comments before I proceed to the topic.

1. I fully support the call (by Radx?) to disqualify such COE bidding thread for top thread of the month contest. I ever thought of self-declaring it previously, but as I am also one of the winner last year, it may attract some nasty remarks (you know what I mean), if I were to propose the change. To be honest, I am not proud at all to get the $100 vouchers for such posting, which information can be easily obtained from LTA website.

2. The reason why I started these thread is merely as a community service, as there will always be people interested to know about the past bidding results, no. of COE available for each category, as well as to have a platform for all related discussions (hopefully all are healthy one, with no major argument / catfight, name calling, challenging of others, promotion of gambling, etc.). I am neither vested, nor have too much time to waste.

3. And in relation to point #2, I will not be able to ensure I can start the thread for every bidding exercise, as I am also a full time employee with a family to support, so don’t assume I have any personal agenda for starting, or NOT starting such thread. In fact, I welcome others to take the lead, as long as the data are from official source, and with no intention for prize or fame or other personal agenda.

4. Last but not least, a friendly reminder that MCF is a free-for-all public forum, thus there will always be different views / thoughts / opinions along the way (as forumers are likely to be from all walks of life). Praise the post that you like, ignore those that you don’t agree with. I personally do not encourage hitting the “Dislike” button as you will never know if you are stepping on the tail of some mentally unsound… … just joking!

OK, I am done. Now back to the topic. For the data lover, let me present you with my 10 years series (or 12 years to be more precise), for your reference and/or further analysis. And good luck to those waiting for your COE! [flowerface] [flowerface]

29xwt1t.png

snc7dz.png

ac4xok.png

The details of the April 2017 first open bidding exercise for Certificates of Entitlement (COEs) are as follows:

Tender opens: Monday, 10 April 2017, 12 noon

Tender closes: Wednesday, 12 April 2017, 4.00 pm

Tender results: Wednesday, 12 April 2017 (Available on the www.onemotoring.com.sg website)

Edited by Carbon82
  • Praise 30

Any Prata this round?  [laugh]

My prediction is that COE will continue to go up at a slow and steady rate due to the VES Effect.

Cat A - $50,888

Cat B - $53, 188

Cat C - $48,888

Cat D - $6,888

Ca E - $54,888

Edited by Nutty

My prediction is that COE will continue to go up at a slow and steady rate due to the VES Effect.

Cat A - $50,888

Cat B - $53, 188

Cat C - $48,888

Cat D - $6,888

Ca E - $54,888

Wah Sgt, if continue to go up then I jia lat liao.  :a-m1524:

Btw, any FR on the showroom crowd?  [rolleyes]

Cat A - $50,888

Cat B - $53, 188

Cat C - $48,888

Cat D - $6,888

Ca E - $54,888

I support you... all go to xx888

now start thread also must put disclaimer on hidden agenda

surf mcf also so stressful

[sweatdrop]  [dizzy]

Cat A - $50,888

Cat B - $53, 188

Cat C - $48,888

Cat D - $6,888

Ca E - $54,888

But Cat B was already $54k last round of March 2017 so that would make it going down. 

CAT A was $51765 last round, other CAT also higher. So Nutty's prediction is actually COE drop in all categories [laugh]

Edited by Insaneguy

[laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]  I saw wrong COE data. paiseh paiseh. lol

Revise my prediction eh-sai bo? Continue with my huat huat prediction.  [laugh]

Cat A - $51,888

Cat B - $54,888

Cat C - $47,888

Cat D - $8,288

Cat E - $54,888

CAT A was $51765 last round, other CAT also higher. So Nutty's prediction is actually COE drop in all categories [laugh]

Rec, dun worry. Kah never fail to deliver.

Imagine COE goes up 60k and they bid for you.

You tan dio. 

Wah Sgt, if continue to go up then I jia lat liao.  

Btw, any FR on the showroom crowd?  [rolleyes]

Edited by Nutty

compare 08 and 16 data, total s bid which is quite close.

but the amount bidding is so much different.

end of the day i think we are suckers being lead by the ADs.

Just realized that I missed out some details from LTA website in the previous post.

The details of the April 2017 first open bidding exercise for Certificates of Entitlement (COEs) are as follows:

Tender opens: Monday, 10 April 2017, 12 noon

Tender closes: Wednesday, 12 April 2017, 4.00 pm

Tender results: Wednesday, 12 April 2017 (Available on the www.onemotoring.com.sg website)

The total quota available for this tender is 4,431 for the following vehicle categories:

NON-TRANSFERABLE CATEGORIES:

Category A: Cars (up to 1600cc & 97kW (130bhp)) => 2,068

Category B: Cars (above 1600cc or 97kW (130bhp)) => 1,360

Category D: Motorcycles => 355

TRANSFERABLE CATEGORIES:

Category C: Goods Vehicles and Buses => 162

Category E: Open Category => 486

While I do not want to speculate the movement of COE premium (as usual), I can safely say that the revenue to be collected for this round of bidding exercise shall continue to exceed $200mil... (waoh this must be the best business model in the world [thumbsup] , generating hundreds of millions $$$ once every 2 weeks, yet with min. investment and operating cost!! [idea] )

For those that just can't wait to have more numbers to chew on, the top 10 highest record of revenue collected by LTA in the past years are:

#1 $248,397,429 (2nd round of Jun 2016)

#2 $245,820,002 (2nd round of Jul 2016)

#3 $242,779,458 (1st round of Jun 2016)

#4 $240,485,882 (1st round of Jul 2016)

#5 $228,275,995 (1st round of May 2016)

#6 $220,065,726 (2nd round of Aug 2016)

#7 $218,852,981 (2nd round of Mar 2017)

#8 $217,457,475 (1st round of Sep 2016)

#9 $215,747,581 (2nd round of May 2016)

#10 $214,357,154 (1st round of May 2015)

• Praise 18

Private hirer in the game now. They are unheard of in 2008.

Not quite sure where this is heading though, really have such strong and prolonged demand for private hire cars???

compare 08 and 16 data, total s bid which is quite close.

but the amount bidding is so much different.

end of the day i think we are suckers being lead by the ADs.

Private hirer in the game now. They are unheard of in 2008.

Not quite sure where this is heading though, really have such strong and prolonged demand for private hire cars???

as long as COE prices keep going up.. their back log of cars ... will only be seen as assets...

shix will hit the ceiling..  IF COE continually decrease...  

Technically.. their biz model is bloody brilliant (buy higher and higher.. and sell/rent out higher and higher also) ... and they do have vested interests to continually push up COE...