Hokkaido Summer Holidays

2BDriver

Today should be arriving Hakodate at 12:23pm.

Now in the express super hokuto train planning after hotel check in then keep our luggages in the room, we'll proceed to take the high speed under sea bed tunnel shinkansen crossing over to Japan mainland Aomori for some sightseeings. 

I've nvr tried that. I went in the opposite way. Landed on the mainland and took the train up. The sea tunnel is quite long, will take around an hour right?

My folks are in early 80s. My mother had knee replacement ops the last 2 yrs, so at least now can walk a bit, though not v fast. But they both can't take v cold.

Actually i think my family all can't take v cold, but the kids like to go see snow...

I think around Christmas last yr the airport was closed for a few days? My fren and his family went, and just managed to fly out to Tokyo before the airport had to close - si bey heng...

that type of snowy condition will not be able to self-drive one right?

the airport closed the day after my in laws left. 

Yup there was a cold spell last year. By right the weather then in early-mid dec should have been -5 to 5. but it was more like -12 to 0 then.

They took tour.

wah your mum like that. I think go taiwan or what can liao lah.

Go to those places, where u can just take cab everywhere.

My folks are in early 80s. My mother had knee replacement ops the last 2 yrs, so at least now can walk a bit, though not v fast. But they both can't take v cold.

Actually i think my family all can't take v cold, but the kids like to go see snow...

I think around Christmas last yr the airport was closed for a few days? My fren and his family went, and just managed to fly out to Tokyo before the airport had to close - si bey heng...

If your parents can't take cold, I would not recommend Hokkaido in Dec. Also, since your parents are unable to walk for long, I would not recommend F&E unless it's very well planned without public transport.

I've nvr tried that. I went in the opposite way. Landed on the mainland and took the train up. The sea tunnel is quite long, will take around an hour right?

Now in the electric train on the way to shin hakodate hokuto station to transit Hokkaido shinkansen traveling towards Japan mainland northern tip Aomori for lunch and sightseeing. 

post-62943-0-09067500-1496894453_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-86032800-1496894469_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-59444800-1496894490_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-58926600-1496894509_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-75115700-1496895074_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-29099900-1496896190_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-38601200-1496896205_thumb.jpg

Edited by 2BDriver

The main highways are cleared of snow and ice with salt spray. Within the city the roads were icy and very very bumpy, like inside the freezer or your fridge. We drove and once almost hit the car in front (I forgot the longer braking distance!). After that I became more careful!

Bro, really shiok i'm sure, going on such a trip. Have fun there.

Curious on this: did you or your wife do the planning, and how long did it take? How many days you'll be there?

wife has been saying should go Japan this Dec. She's starting to do the planning but the big question is where should we be heading to, the v cold or not so cold parts... Central to this question is whether my elderly parents would want to go along. That's a big decision....

Arrived at Japan mainland northern tip Aomori by Hokkaido shinkansen 

post-62943-0-21167900-1496902046_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-94294200-1496902067_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-03934500-1496902088_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-56004000-1496902105_thumb.jpg

Inside the newest Hokkaido Shinkansen which launched just a year ago on 26th. March 2016.

post-62943-0-03595500-1496905591_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-41117200-1496905617_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-35523900-1496905642_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-32921800-1496905659_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-17446700-1496905682_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-15067800-1496905698_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-04670800-1496905722_thumb.jpg

I took 5 months in advance to booked ANA flight tickets taking advantage of early booking cheaper airfare. 

Hokkaido is the coldest island within Japan main 4 islands as its located furthest upper northern, the 4 islands are namely... Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu & Hokkaido. The warmest is Kyushu which is located in the southern part of Japan. 

One suggestion is to just go kyushu so no need to be so cold in Dec.

actually i kiasi also. Still got radiation or not  [laugh]

dowan take risk...

I will be touring Hokkaido round island with initial JR flexible 6 days Hokkaido south east JR railway pass and the rest would be car rental self driving road trip. 

In November would be extremely cold for me and wife, chosen summer season for more comfort and relaxation. 

Keep in touch with any of your inquiry with regard Hokkaido 

For self drive, did you use your own Garmin GPS or the Japanese GPS from the rental company?

I rented from Toyota rental, the hybrid Alphard came with English GPS.  I would suggest forget about Garmin or dedicated GPS, just use mobile phone apps and Google if the rental car no GPS.

And if within Sapporo, fastest and most convenient by MRT, definitely if Winter.

Edited by Volvobrick

see if you can spot the hakodate merlion

Hokkaido new shinkansen is specifically designed in aerodynamic shape for high speeding stabilization. 

post-62943-0-50239500-1496909792_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-93382300-1496909810_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-07021600-1496909836_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-40230700-1496909855_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-35083600-1496909873_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-60595600-1496909887_thumb.jpg

post-62943-0-59068900-1496910045_thumb.jpg

Edited by 2BDriver

Hokkaido new shinkansen is specifically designed in aerodynamic shape for high speeding stabilization. 

The nose of the train looks like a giant dild....0.

45 years ago,  my didi looks the same shape :secret-laugh: but now it had turned to very darken and rotten look   [bigcry]

Rental car include Insurance,  ETC,  HEP,  and English GPS.