Road Trip to Phuket 2017

Adrianli

My fren and I decided to re-visit Phuket again on a roadtrip together just like what we had done before, exactly 10 years ago!!! So after much planning and decided on the dates, we proceeded as planned. This time is will be a longer trip at a much relaxing pace, probably age has caught up with us. So it will be a SG-Butterworth-Phuket-Hatyai-KL-SG road trip. We decided to drive my Audi A6 Avant for the trip. Had consulted PA and they said no problem with Thai fuel Gashol95.

6th Jul 
6am, I picked up my fren at his house and we proceeded to Woodlands causeway. It was a breeze thru, zero traffic. Not long later, we are on NSH travelling up north to our first destination, Butterworth. We stopped at Pagoh R&R for breakfast and pee break and its back on the road. At Sungei Perak, its time to refuel my car and we stopped at the rest stop. Also we swapped driver, I took a break and my fren will drive. As we were talking in the car, my fren said he did not travelled to Penang on the ferry before. So I said let's go there if we are early at Butterworth. Within a blink of the eye, we reached Penang ferry terminal, Butterworth at 1pm. So we decided to take the ferry over for lunch in Georgetown. The ferry just left when we arrived so we had to wait for the next ferry which was 30mins of waiting. The ferry arrived and we drove into the ferry and soon we are in Georgetown. We had Sister's char kway tiao for lunch, walked along Macallister Street, bought tau sar pia and then drove back to the ferry terminal to take the ferry back to Butterworth where our hotel was at. Both of us couldnt believe that we took the ferry to Penang just for a plate of char kway tiao!!! It was a long queue at the ferry terminal back to Butterworth too.

post-2654-0-94459100-1500276088_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41084300-1500276108_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-34937300-1500276122_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-58308000-1500276140_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-39568500-1500276157_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-45855200-1500276174_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-35777300-1500276214_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-77714100-1500276228_thumb.jpg

When we reached Butterworth, we drove to the hotel, Sunway Hotel and checked in. Nice modern and looks to be a business hotel. Not bad for a night's stay.

6pm, we went for dinner at Pantai Bersih. Its a located at the sea side just north of the ferry terminal and overlooks Penang. There were many restaurants there. We did a google search and found that Ah Chong Seafood Restaurant was the original one. So we patronised it. We ordered Spicy crab, kang kong and lala. 

post-2654-0-46749200-1500276274_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-14684800-1500276294_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-57644000-1500276310_thumb.jpg

I set up my drone, DJI Mavic Pro and took some aerial photo and video of the place.

post-2654-0-48726100-1500276338_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-59725700-1500276351_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-20053600-1500276363_thumb.jpg

We were lucky that night, the beer lady told us that the night market along the road was opened and we went to get supper there. The fried chempedak was nice. After that we back back to the hotel where there is a shopping mall next to the hotel. The shopping mall was huge with the usual shops.

post-2654-0-70724100-1500276389_thumb.jpg
Edited by Adrianli
  • Praise 16

7th Jul
Had early breakfast at the hotel buffet at 7.30am. By 8am, we are on the road up north. This part up north, the NSH is really flat and usually flanked at both sides by padi fields as far as the eye can see. Very welcoming sight. However the weather was gloomy with drizzles some part of the way so didnt travel too fast. I was aiming for the last petrol station, Caltex to pump full tank before entry into Thailand. However it was closed, therefore I had to make a u-turn and went to Shell at the opposite side.

Clearing MY immigration and customs was a breeze. The same way between SG and MY. Then we stopped at the duty-free shopping mall to get our 3rd party Thai insurance. It was all quiet there. Little did we know, trouble is waiting for us up ahead.

As we drove to Sadao border crossing, we could see many cars parked at the side of the road. I thought there was a carpark on the left just before Sadao immigration and custom. I was totally wrong and had to make a u-turn back to the place where there were cars parking. Looking at the queue for clearing of passport, we knew it will be a long wait. Furthermore, there was no lot for us to park the car so we had to double park. I wait in the car and my fren went to do his passport clearance. Car lots behind me swop spots as they left but the lots near me was like parked there permanently and I was unable to reverse into those lots as they were other cars double park behind me too. It took my fren 1hr of queueing to clear his passport. Then he came back to the car and I went to do my passport clearance. The queue was super chaotic. There were queues merging each other and sometimes its one person queueing, then suddenly 3-4 ppl join that person. It took me 45mins to get my passport stamped together with the passenger manifest form stamped, two copies. One they keep and one I keep. Then I proceeded to Counter 3 for my car clearance form. This queue was shorter, 5 ppl in front of me and two counters open. Later we learnt that it was a super long weekend therefore lots of Malaysians and Thais going into Thailand. Total time spent at Sadao Border Crossing was 3 freaking hours!!! 9.45am reached, only left at 12.45pm Malaysia time. The plus point was Thailand is -1 hr of Malaysia so it was 11.45am when we exited the border. Can you imagine, spending 3 hours there. Here is a photo and video of the queue and driving into Sadao, Thailand.

post-2654-0-26011500-1500276622_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-80193000-1500276639_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-44163300-1500276653_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-60461800-1500276670_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-46152800-1500276694_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41055500-1500276708_thumb.jpg

We are finally into Thailand and drove non-stop till Phatthalung where we stopped for lunch and change of driver. As usual, we stopped at a roadside stall and the pork noodle was so good. Maybe we were too hungry due to the queueing at Sadao Checkpoint. My fren drove all the way to our destination, Baan Laimai Resort at Patong Beach, Phuket, Thailand.

post-2654-0-42015100-1500276789_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-06908200-1500276808_thumb.jpg

Here is a video of us entering Phuket island

We drove to our hotel, Baan Laimai Resort which was in Patong Beach. Roads were busy with traffic when we arrived Patong Beach around 7pm Thai time. There was underground parking with 24/7 security guard at the resort premises. Photos of the resort. 

post-2654-0-81522500-1500276963_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-83530800-1500276978_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-05005300-1500276991_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-48657000-1500277003_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-44345100-1500277014_thumb.jpg

Our first meal in Phuket was dinner and we chose to eat thai seafood at OTOP which was walking distance from our resort. We chose a fish, kim ba lor and a few other dishes. The fish was fresh and tasted good. The meal came up to about S$50. Relatively cheap by our standards. After that, we walked the streets and went to a open bar for drinking. As we were drinking, the bartender informed us of alcohor ban for the next two days due to some buddhist holiday. The frenly bartender also told us about a big buddha statue in Phuket and we should visit it. By the time, we finished drinking and head back the resort, its 1am. And damn, the room is so warm. The aircon compressor broke down. We had to call the reception and two technicians came to attend to us. They managed to re-start the compressor and the room is cold again. Every room is equipped with individual aircon compressor. I think we hit the bed at close to 3am after the drama.

post-2654-0-28911700-1500277054_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-23966900-1500277073_thumb.jpg
Edited by Adrianli

8th Jul
Woke up at 7am, even with the late sleep in time, my own bio clock woke me up. Wash up and woke my fren up for breakfast. 8am, we went out the streets and looked for breakfast. There were no street food or street hawkers in sight. However the massage palours were still in operation. Walked till Jungceylon shopping mall and we decided to have Burger king breakfast. It was pretty empty except for one cashier and the two of us. Soon I know why. Our set meals came up to around S$20 for both. Wow, the standard of living here is really high. Fast food is an expensive option in Phuket. After breakfast, my fren decided to go back to bed while I decided to hangout at the beach and fly my drone. The beach has just started to came alive with tourist out on a morning swim or walk at the beach. I had to fly my drone up higher to avoid the boats pulling parasailers. Here are some photos and videos I took.

post-2654-0-54950600-1500277262_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-87720800-1500277283_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-70109400-1500277306_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-81572600-1500277320_thumb.jpg

Around 11am, we decided to drive out and explore Phuket. We drove to the not working windmill and Karon view point. Stopped a while, took some pictures and left. On our way to Promthep Cape, we came across a gun range and decided to have a go. The prices were not cheap at all. It cost about $50+ for 10 bullets for each gun. My fren chose a shotgun and I chose the 9mm Glock handgun. So we shared the guns and bullets among ourselves. Each of us shot 5 bullets of shotgun and 5 bullets of 9mm. They wana charge us S$15 just for taking photos, so we declined. Our sovernoir was the paper target. Not bad shooting for both of us with the 9mm handgun. But the shotgun, was too powerful to properly aim and calibrate. Need proper zeroing to shoot correctly.

post-2654-0-59664100-1500277446_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-48892100-1500277413_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-59353600-1500277429_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-59528300-1500277484_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-49843100-1500277503_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-27218700-1500277524_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-14699100-1500277542_thumb.jpg

Next stop Promthep Cape. It was filled with tourist and the museum was closed due to renovation. Previously, we could visit and climb up the museum's lighthouse. There were some daring tourist climbed all the way to the tip. We just sit around and took photos. My fren took a photo of a pretty gal who was posing for a photo.

post-2654-0-79454100-1500277657_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-10657800-1500277740_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-24331800-1500277763_thumb.jpg

By the time we are done, it was lunch time and we headed to Phuket Town to have our lunch. It was a free and easy trip so we didnt plan to visit any particular place, just drive to where we liked. So we just drove into town and parked there. Wondered around and decided to have street food, pork noodles. It was average only compared to what we had at Phatthalung the other day. That tasted better. After that we just walked around the town centre and visited the various shopping mall like Ocean, Robinson and the nearby shophouses in search of cheap stuff but found none. So bought some local produce stuff, dried mangoes and various sweets to give my colleagues and frens. We headed to Big C supermarket and stock my boot with tibits/instant noodles from Thailand. Then we headed back to the resort for a swim. We went swimming on the beach and then walked into the resort pool to wash off the seawater. The beach was full of activities and the waves was pretty strong. I wana try the jet ski but my fren say later got jet ski scam where they will claim you damage their jet ski and demand more money from you. So we just swam and soak in the sea.

post-2654-0-10390600-1500277955_thumb.jpg

Dinner, we decided to head back the same restaurant we had dinner the previous night and tried other food. Ended with same fish but different cooking style and some other dishes. Overall, it was good and similar price as the previous night. There were many tourist visiting this restaurant as it was relatively cheaper than the ones on the main beach strip. After dinner, I decided to visit a tailor and make two business shirts since I am there. After some walking, we came to the one near our resort, called G.Armani. After selecting the fabric, the price presented to me was a shocker, 3,000baht around S$122 for two shirts. I immediately told him I am going off and dont even bother to bargain. I told him for that price, I could make two shirts and one pants in Bangkok. Sensing that I know the price, we dropped to 1,800baht, S$74 for both shirts. Took measurements and we left the shop to look for supper. Found a stall selling sweet corn and these small little pineapple, really sweet and nice. Headed back to hotel to eat as no where to drink. Most bars are closed due to no alcohol rule. Not even supermarkets or 7-11 are allowed to sell alcohol. Very strict.

post-2654-0-97175300-1500277804_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-88946000-1500277818_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-30743600-1500277836_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-02713700-1500277850_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-41686200-1500277864_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-63329600-1500277878_thumb.jpg

Edited by Adrianli

9th Jul

By 9am, we are out of the resort and decided to visit the Big Buddha. Stopped by Starbucks for my fren who needed coffee. Here is a video of us driving up the hill to Big Buddha.

post-2654-0-04216300-1500278047_thumb.jpg

The Big Buddha is partially completed and they were asking for donations by means of selling tiles and metal leaves. Bought two tiles. The buddha was huge but not as big as the one in HK. Decided to fly my drone and take aerial photos and video of the Big Buddha. The views from up there was definately stunning. The view where the buddha was facing was also very nice, view of the bay and the seas. While on the way down the Big Buddha statue, there is a makeshift temple where you can buy various sovernoir and the is a line to receive blessing from the monk. Lots of ang mo tourist queueing.

post-2654-0-67454800-1500278120_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-85750200-1500278132_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-39852800-1500278146_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-84356100-1500278158_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-29251100-1500278169_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-25195400-1500278185_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-91955600-1500278198_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-06487700-1500278212_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-28614200-1500278229_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-38425900-1500278241_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-13039700-1500278251_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-77218900-1500278267_thumb.jpg

Edited by Adrianli

After driving down, went to fuel up for the first time in Thailand. I tried to avoid fuelling up in Thailand as much as possible cos they only have Gashol95 which contains 5% ethanol. Love my car's large fuel tank, 750km per tank full of 70L.

post-2654-0-84913900-1500278416_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-47478800-1500278432_thumb.jpg

Next we stopped at McD for lunch and tried the Signature pork burger. Very nice, love the meat patty and also can add stuff to the burger to personlised it. Both of us added egg. I had an ice cream cone too. However, the eating of the burger was a messy affair. The thai chilli sauce in the burger soaked thru the paper wrap and dripped all over the table, some were splatted on to my shirt and bermudas. I was wearing a white shirt!!!

post-2654-0-38318900-1500278453_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-07078900-1500278465_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-38672000-1500278479_thumb.jpg

After lunch, went over to Tesco shopping mall. This was the busiest mall in Phuket. There was a queue to eneter the parking lot and very difficult to find parking. The mall is huge and mainly patronised by the locals. Managed to buy some stuff here, was looking for those green colour Thai orange. There wasnt any left in Big C. Then we headed back to the resort where my tailor is waiting for my fitting.

Evening time we walked over to Jungceylon for shopping and dinner. As we were in Big C supermarket in Jungceylon, my fren felt unwell. So I accompanied him back to the resort. After seeing him off, I decided to walk alone to the back row street of Patong. Went to the market/bazaar and bought myself dinner there. I bought pad thai, one chicken tigh and one stick of pork belly satay. It was just opposite to the boxing stadium. Went back to Jungceylon Big C and bought my fren some instant noodle and porridge in a cup for his light dinner.

At night collected my shirt, it was well made to my size.

post-2654-0-75308700-1500278553_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-22623700-1500278568_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-48006800-1500278588_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-14181500-1500278604_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-97794900-1500278621_thumb.jpg

As we drove to Sadao border crossing, we could see many cars parked at the side of the road. I thought there was a carpark on the left just before Sadao immigration and custom. I was totally wrong and had to make a u-turn back to the place where there were cars parking.

the carpark has been closed and they are building on that land a new immigration complex for Msia-Thai, similar to the one that was built for Thai-Msia. Not sure if it will be the drive-thru method, as was implemented with the new Thai-Msia crossing. Am looking out for news once its operational.

On Burger King, it's pretty expensive in Thai and Indo, but relatively cheap in Msia. Not quite sure why.

thanks for the trip report and awesome pics.

10th Jul

Early morning 9am, we checked out of the resort and drove out of the resort. It was drizzling as we left. There was a traffic accident up the hill to Phuket town and traffic was a slow crawl. Lucky my A6 is fitted with auto brakes, activated it and it holds the car on the uphill. Soon we were out of Phuket, passing Sarasin bridge and heading towards Krabi. The drive was smooth and there were lesser traffic on the road. We stopped at Krabi's Big C mall for lunch and swap driver. At the food court, tried their pork noodles and it was ok. Nothing fantastic. Also had chicken wings. Walked around the supermarket and nothing much to buy as most stuff already bought in the boot. So we just continue to proceed southwards to Hatyai, our next stop. 

post-2654-0-31563900-1500278749_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-01056400-1500278762_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-89339600-1500278775_thumb.jpg

As we approach Hatyai, I decided to go and visit the reclining buddha there. It was very near Hatyai town and third largest according to wiki. As we entered the temple, not knowing the layout of the place and turned left as I saw a structure like temple. Saw that the gates and doors to the structure was closed and locked. So just stood there and took photos as we assumed that the temple was closed for the day. There was no one around for us to asked. As we exited the place, we noticed another temple structure further up and to our amusement it was the actual temple for the reclining buddha. We nearly missed it!!! Walked around the compound and took some photos. Behind the reclining buddha was a temple with lots of buddhas inside. We went in to have a look, drop some donation and the monk asked as over and kneel before him. He gave us his blessing, sprinkled holy water over us and thank us for the donation. I was also surprised that they make their own candles in the temple. They just completed it, as seen in the photo.

post-2654-0-70756000-1500278810_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-40225800-1500278830_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-31471700-1500278851_thumb.jpg

We headed to the hotel, Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel. Just a 5min drive away. Oh man, the security to enter the building was tight lah. As we entered the carpark, there were four guys inspecting the car. The boot and under the car was thoroughly inspected. Then to the underground carpark, a guy directed us to a designated parking lot. As we exiting to take the lift, the was a guy there inspecting our luggage. Then finally took a lift to level 10 where the reception is. The reception hall was huge with high ceilings. However the room was very dated and in need of modernisation. Surprised that they had CNA on their TV with 50+ channels to choose from. We stayed on the 31st floor and had a great view of the city. 

post-2654-0-55191100-1500278896_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-07319900-1500278926_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-67134000-1500278941_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-94998000-1500278959_thumb.jpg

After checked in, we proceeded to the mall and surrounding places to have a look. Ate a bowl of birds's nest at the street stall outside the hotel. Lots of street vendors here and prices are generally cheaper than Phuket. Love the atmostphere here with lots of cheap stuff available. We decided to have dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Just 169baht, S$6.90 for a buffet dinner. No fantastic food just normal chap chai png food but good enough. Love the tom yum soup and chicken herbal soup. I had second helpings for both soups. Then we went back hotel to rest.

post-2654-0-86270800-1500279164_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-63552100-1500279177_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-59684000-1500279193_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-62598600-1500279206_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-19485000-1500279219_thumb.jpg

Around 8.30pm, we went down to the street market to walk. At night, it gets busier. Lots stalls open but also lots of stall further away from the hotel are closed. Bought supper, prawn fritters, chicken thigh and big head prawns. Yummy. Had another round of desert at the desert stall.

post-2654-0-80109100-1500279238_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-98854000-1500279252_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-75020200-1500279264_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-09541400-1500279343_thumb.jpg

11th Jul
Had breakfast at the hotel's buffet spread. Simple dishes only. Then proceeded to the street stalls to get some local produce products. Then we checked out of the hotel. It was just a short 30mins drive to the border. Didn't know the procedure to exit so just stopped and parked at the checkpoint and proceeded to do the clearance. The immigration officer saw my car permit and told me to go to the drive thru further down and he will not stamp my passport. He stamped my fren's passport and we walked back to the car and drove to the counter further down. Its weird that passport stamp already still can walk back into Thailand. Drove further down and submitted the documents and passport. The first counter stamped my passport and collected the copy of passenger manifest back. The 2nd counter collected the car permit back and I have to sign the logbook. Thatz all and we are back in MY. Procedure same as SG-MY border.

Went to the first Shell petrol station and fuelled up for our non-stop drive to KL.

Not long later, we arrived in KL. Driving into KL was a nightmare and keep going in circles cos of the heavy traffic and missed turns. Having both Garmin GPS and Waze did not help. Waze keep asking us go into those small roads to avoid traffic. Anyway finally reached Hotel Soleil. They hotel is very very very dated. Bed was lousy and room is old. 

We straightaway went for dinner at 5pm when Wong Ah Wang is open. We skipped lunch to drive non-stop to KL and we had heavy breakfast at Lee Gardens which helped. As usual, WAW's food was wonderful. My fren loved the Hokkien mee and we ordered a second plate. We ate quite a spread for two person, i ate most of it thou.

post-2654-0-93814000-1500279505_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-19036200-1500279517_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-61017600-1500279528_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-45954600-1500279549_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-60293300-1500279561_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-56156500-1500279575_thumb.jpg

After the wonderful dinner, we went shopping at Pavilion,  Fahrenheit88 and Sungei Wang. Bought quite a few stuff from there. Then we went back to Jalan Alor to get supper, steamed peanuts.

post-2654-0-74895200-1500279603_thumb.jpg

12th Jul

Breakfast at the hotel sucks. No meat at all. Only rice and baked beans and cabbage. Yes, that was all for the buffet breakfast. Had toasted bread with butter and some cornflakes also. And thatz it. Should have given it a miss. Early morning 8am we are out of the hotel and on our way back to SG. Traffic was smooth leaving KL. However can see that there was traffic jam into KL and the queue of cars go on for a very long while. There was no accident or incident and it looks so jam.

By 11am, we are at my favourite shopping mall in JB, Giant Plentong. Went grocery shopping and loaded the car full full. Had lunch at the food court and we drove back to SG thru Woodlands Causeway. No jam at all, smooth traffic.

post-2654-0-19911500-1500279690_thumb.jpg

post-2654-0-07683300-1500279707_thumb.jpg

At SG side, customs officer see my car boot, dont even wana touch anything and quickly ask me close it. Immigration officer had a double check and asked us how we exited MY into Thailand. And by 2pm, we are home sweet home in SG.

This trip was wonderful, mostly relaxing drive. No rushing and just go where we want to. Not much planning of where to visit, we just drive to wherever we liked. Driving to Phuket in my A6 Avant was really a great experience with such a powerful car. It easily overtakes those diesel trucks on Thai roads and holds the road well. It is a great touring car with great comfort. Furthermore, being a stationwagon, it swallows every stuff we bought. My fren is truly impressed with my A6 Avant and missed it very much. He took some time to re-orientate back to his Nissan Teana. My fren and I are both used to long haul driving so it was an excellent experience driving to Phuket again. I wouldnt mind doing it again in the future.

post-2654-0-89476700-1500279744_thumb.jpg

Able to break my own personal speed barrier on the way back. :ph34r:  [lipsrsealed]

post-2654-0-24185100-1500279766_thumb.jpg

the carpark has been closed and they are building on that land a new immigration complex for Msia-Thai, similar to the one that was built for Thai-Msia. Not sure if it will be the drive-thru method, as was implemented with the new Thai-Msia crossing. Am looking out for news once its operational.

On Burger King, it's pretty expensive in Thai and Indo, but relatively cheap in Msia. Not quite sure why.

thanks for the trip report and awesome pics.

Do update me when the new immigration complex is ready. Need to re-learn how to enter Thai border again should I wish to make another trip to Thailand. :D

oh did you have to fill in the passenger manifest for entry/exit to Thai? The last few times I went to Thai, they had already given up on it. My last trip was in early June.  I think I had to fill it in for two or three trips last year. Then it got abandoned LOL

Yes. I had to fill up two copies of the passenger manifest. One copy they keep on entry, when stamping passport. One copy have to return to them on exit, when stamping passport too.

We followed every procedure written on the board there.

Yes. I had to fill up two copies of the passenger manifest. One copy they keep on entry, when stamping passport. One copy have to return to them on exit, when stamping passport too.

We followed every procedure written on the board there.

that's weird. During my June 2017 trip, they didn't even have the blank forms to fill in.

on one trip last year, I filled in the forms and handed them over, but the guy at the desk just waved me off (like I was a mosquito or housefly).

Perhaps they restarted it.

Next stop Promthep Cape. It was filled with tourist and the museum was closed due to renovation. Previously, we could visit and climb up the museum's lighthouse. There were some daring tourist climbed all the way to the tip. We just sit around and took photos. My fren took a photo of a pretty gal who was posing for a photo.

By the time we are done, it was lunch time and we headed to Phuket Town to have our lunch. It was a free and easy trip so we didnt plan to visit any particular place, just drive to where we liked. So we just drove into town and parked there. Wondered around and decided to have street food, pork noodles. It was average only compared to what we had at Phatthalung the other day. That tasted better. After that we just walked around the town centre and visited the various shopping mall like Ocean, Robinson and the nearby shophouses in search of cheap stuff but found none. So bought some local produce stuff, dried mangoes and various sweets to give my colleagues and frens. We headed to Big C supermarket and stock my boot with tibits/instant noodles from Thailand. Then we headed back to the resort for a swim. We went swimming on the beach and then walked into the resort pool to wash off the seawater. The beach was full of activities and the waves was pretty strong. I wana try the jet ski but my fren say later got jet ski scam where they will claim you damage their jet ski and demand more money from you. So we just swam and soak in the sea.

Dinner, we decided to head back the same restaurant we had dinner the previous night and tried other food. Ended with same fish but different cooking style and some other dishes. Overall, it was good and similar price as the previous night. There were many tourist visiting this restaurant as it was relatively cheaper than the ones on the main beach strip. After dinner, I decided to visit a tailor and make two business shirts since I am there. After some walking, we came to the one near our resort, called G.Armani. After selecting the fabric, the price presented to me was a shocker, 3,000baht around S$122 for two shirts. I immediately told him I am going off and dont even bother to bargain. I told him for that price, I could make two shirts and one pants in Bangkok. Sensing that I know the price, we dropped to 1,800baht, S$74 for both shirts. Took measurements and we left the shop to look for supper. Found a stall selling sweet corn and these small little pineapple, really sweet and nice. Headed back to hotel to eat as no where to drink. Most bars are closed due to no alcohol rule. Not even supermarkets or 7-11 are allowed to sell alcohol. Very strict.

Wah, the mention of Promthep Cape brings back nice memories... It is a very vantage point to view and shoot sunset shots!

My last visit to Phuket was one month before the tsunami!

Edited by Fitvip

We headed to the hotel, Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel. Just a 5min drive away. Oh man, the security to enter the building was tight lah. As we entered the carpark, there were four guys inspecting the car. The boot and under the car was thoroughly inspected. Then to the underground carpark, a guy directed us to a designated parking lot. As we exiting to take the lift, the was a guy there inspecting our luggage. Then finally took a lift to level 10 where the reception is. The reception hall was huge with high ceilings. However the room was very dated and in need of modernisation. Surprised that they had CNA on their TV with 50+ channels to choose from. We stayed on the 31st floor and had a great view of the city. 

It was bombed a few years ago,

I remember cos it was just 2 days before I arrived

so that's why security is very tight.

Edited by Jamesc