COE Bidding – 1st Round of August 2017

Carbon82

It will move up and down inbetween, but generally will be on a downtrend at least till year end. The key reason for the slow drop is due to the private hire aggressive bidding for the past years. If they don't step in too much, should see a slow filter downwards. Quite a number of cars are already euro 6 compliant, don't see much price increase from this group of car. The main factor to me is still the private hire sector which can change the COE pricing drastically.

Ya possible. But there r still many models dont have euro 6 n this will cost a price increase of 5-25k for several popular models

I guess is the price will remain above 40k

I guess slight increase for both cat A and cat B. Reason cat C has gone back to 42k level. Those who thought of buying commercial vehicle to replace their old passenger car due to "cheaper" coe should have give up by now..

Cat A 45k

Cat B 50k++

Cat C 40k.

Down and down

Prevailing Quota Premium (3 months average)

Cat A

Jan 2014: 76109

Jun 2014: 71672

Jan 2015: 65607

Jun 2015: 66107

Jan 2016: 56633

Nov 2016: 51641

Dec 2016: 51271

Jan 2017: 50645

Feb 2017: 50394

Mar 2017: 49429

Apr 2017: 50230

May 2017: 50665

Jun 2017: 50625

Jul 2017: 48200

Aug 2017: 45400

Cat B

Jan 2014: 82333

Jun 2014: 76872

Jan 2015: 72726

Jun 2015: 74629

Jan 2016: 58615

Nov 2016: 56053

Dec 2016: 55187

Jan 2017: 52660

Feb 2017: 52077

Mar 2017: 50347

Apr 2017: 52008

May 2017: 52491

Jun 2017: 54088

July 2017: 52473

Aug 2017: 50972

Lowest PQP till date, meaning more cars maybe going for renewal. 

Friend, bidding ends on Thursday, not today.

Tender opens: Monday, 7 August 2017, 12 noon

Tender closes: Thursday, 10 August 2017, 4.00 pm

Tender results: Thursday, 10 August 2017 (Available on the www.onemotoring.com.sg website)

The total quota available for this tender is 4,678 for the following vehicle categories:

Ya, i know. Me chalking up post leh.  [:p]  [:p] 

• Dislike 1

Unlike license plate bidding where results will be out a day earlier - i.e. tomorrow rather than Wed - seems like COE bidding will end a day later.

Whether COE supply will drop or not depends on this same group of drivers since the re-supply into the system will take into consideration if they are scrapping or renewing. The main supply will come from the growth which is currently at 0.25% from 2015 to next year Jan 2018. We might even see a lower percentage from next year or 0% to move towards a car-lite society and this might push up pricing again when LTA announce the new growth at year end. Take into consideration the 30% / 40% down payment (which they don't pay previously when purchasing the car), and we see a small hindrance to the same group; one reason why people go for leasing to avoid such massive down-payment. Barring any major changes to policy again, there shouldn't be anything that will push up the COE pricing aggressively; at least till year end. Use the 3 mths average PQP and the answer is quite clear. There are various variables to consider, whether go up or down we can't predict accurately, but we can always use the data to judge if it's the right time to buy. 

Bro, when is the right time to buy?

I had renewed COE early this year. Waiting for right time to buy new car.

Bro, when is the right time to buy?

I had renewed COE early this year. Waiting for right time to buy new car.

when COE was in $50k region, i feel it will drop to $30k and i have time to wait out. I bought at $42k because I ran out of time since my COE expiring soon. I can also either buy another 2nd hand car to wait or stop driving for a while to wait. 

so i decided $42k is acceptable and went in. therefore to answer your question on when, it is all about your willingness to absorb the depreciation. the minute you buy, it is a write off liao haha

+500 for CAT A and +800 for CAT B! Huat ah!  :a-m1212:

I hope its stay around S$42K to S$45K for this round as I am waiting for my COE for Cat A.