Unable to retrieve my refund

Buadongdong

Hi Bros, 

I'm unable to retrieve my refund of my refundable deposit on a baby seat. Merchant now telling me need proof of this and proof of that before they can refund me. The problem is, there was no terms and conditions to begin with and the campaign was to allow customers to try out the product to see if they like it or not. Have I interpreted the email wrongly?

So now, in the worst case if they still refuse to refund me, what's my next course of action? Police case?

Background info:

"Congratulations on being selected as a recipient of our Recaro Privia Campaign. A great chance for you to get your Recaro Privia (infant car seat) for free now by providing a 150 SGD deposit! Don’t worry, your deposit is refundable upon the return of Recaro Privia within 3 months (if you do not like it) or trade-in value of $150 when you upgrade your Recaro Privia to any Stage 2 Recaro Car seat. What are you waiting for? Come redeem it now!"

Hi Bros, 

I'm unable to retrieve my refund of my refundable deposit on a baby seat. Merchant now telling me need proof of this and proof of that before they can refund me. The problem is, there was no terms and conditions to begin with and the campaign was to allow customers to try out the product to see if they like it or not. Have I interpreted the email wrongly?

So now, in the worst case if they still refuse to refund me, what's my next course of action? Police case?

Background info:

"Congratulations on being selected as a recipient of our Recaro Privia Campaign. A great chance for you to get your Recaro Privia (infant car seat) for free now by providing a 150 SGD deposit! Don’t worry, your deposit is refundable upon the return of Recaro Privia within 3 months (if you do not like it) or trade-in value of $150 when you upgrade your Recaro Privia to any Stage 2 Recaro Car seat. What are you waiting for? Come redeem it now!"

So what proof are they looking for (why can't you provide it?) and which merchant are you talking about?

You can report to police via internet - very convenient but they will classify this case as a commercial dispute (which it is). You can probably bring them to small courts if it is a matter of principle.

So what proof are they looking for (why can't you provide it?) and which merchant are you talking about?

You can report to police via internet - very convenient but they will classify this case as a commercial dispute (which it is). You can probably bring them to small courts if it is a matter of principle.

Now they want proof to explain why I do not like the seat anymore. How to proof why I do not like it? I just don't like it lor. Be it the design, the ease of me putting my baby into the baby seat, the comfort of my infant in the baby seat. All these can't be substantiated with photos alone what.. Don't think I should put the name of the merchant yet but if you Google Recaro Privia Campaign, you will be able to find out.

did you sign any document when you took/'loan' the seat from them? any receipt issued for the $150 deposit?.

if all dun have then good luck!  you can sell it off at $250 and make $100 profit   [laugh]  [laugh]

Hi Bros, 

Background info:

This looks fishy on closer scrutiny.

If the intention is to give it to selected/lucky ones for free, why need to keep a deposit? A deposit is required if it's meant to be a loan/rent, but i don't see the need when giving free...

Sounds like the merchant didn't have good intention to begin with...

Just my 2 cents, bro. Sorry i can't advise where to go bang table...

I read it as can get back your $150 deposit if return within 3 months. Why they wouldn't accept the email as proof?

they just want to pull a fast one and hope majority of the customer won't return it, you can bring it to CASE or directly to small claims tribunal. But then you have to prove that you have returned and they have took back the goods to begin with.

I think that's reasonable la. You provide them with a short written reason (reason, not proof hor) why it is not suitable for you so they can do their market research and explain to their bosses also.

Did they ask you to provide photos etc?

Anyway, they claim this seat is worth 400+. Is it true? If they refuse to return your money then just lelong it online lor. Should be able to get back 100+ bucks at least?

I read it as can get back your $150 deposit if return within 3 months. Why they wouldn't accept the email as proof?

normally quite straight forward in most cases.

The deposit and invoice that was paid. You bring back. No damage other than fair wear and tear. Vendor counter checks the invoice with what they have in the back end. U show IC. They write the IC number and issue you a cash / cheque of amt that was agreed on as deposit. u go your way, they go their way..

Did the same for trial batt. no drama like yours. Not even required to pay a service fee for swapping of new Batt that was agreed on after the trial period.

Edited by Sdf4786k

Say For Free but requires $150 deposit (only refundable if don't like or trade up).

So which part of it is Free? Post on their FB page and question them.

Say For Free but requires $150 deposit (only refundable if don't like or trade up).

Huh? After you accept the T&C and paid them the deposit can still question on how you think it is not free? I think the problem here is not whether it is free or not but rather whether or not they should be returning the deposit.

The trial part is free... lol

Huh? After you accept the T&C and paid them the deposit can still question on how you think it is not free? I think the problem here is not whether it is free or not but rather whether or not they should be returning the deposit.

Did not phrase my sentence properly. 

Meant to say question them on FB on the Refund. Since he already paid the $150 deposit, of course he can't argue why free still gotta pay deposit.

Just myself wondering at this play of words by the vendor...

The trial part is free... lol

Thats provided he get his deposit back lor... 

Haha.. Free for 3mths lor, provided i get my refund Edited by Buadongdong