Thread Merge/Split/Move primer

Following from the earlier thread on how we move forward, let's realign what constitutes the above accordingly so that we can ALL be on the same page and start threads without any hesitation.

Rationale:

1. Threads were merged as the same discussion was duplicated in different forms and the posts cut across different threads, fragmenting the discussion and making it difficult to read.
  2. Same topics of the SAME issue were posted and thus, the SEARCH function was encouraged so that the general MCF population did not have to sieve information unnecessarily, ie, all were consolidated
  3. Starting threads on the vein of getting the thread of the month leading to numerous additions

Thus, on that vein, the SAME topics were then merged.

Going forward, it has been too successful and perhaps diluted the threads with posters posting topics under a SAME/SIMILAR thread that had no specific context.  I apologise for that as it may have been too zealously praticed.  That said, the list below could serve as a possibility of variations (non exhaustive) of what constitutes merging/splitting of threads

What kinds of threads could be merged?

1. Threads of the SAME issue posted in the day/last few days that is bordering on the SAME topic.  This leads to fragmentation of threads /discussions that makes for difficult reading.
  2. Threads with a trend of occurring almost every day. Case in point SMRT breakdown.  If threads were to created daily on SMRT breakdown, 70% of threads will be on that.  Other possibilities are flood, reckless. hoggers, etc.  If at all, it's good to see  big trend of the same incidents occuring

What stands as a NEW thread?

1. Any new incident that occurs, that is newsworthy.  (However, this again can be debated, for eg, the OTC mountain.  Clearly there was no merit in starting a new thread there that may just last 20posts and die off.  Another case was the crocodile sighting where it was added in and the thread renamed on the different sightings in sg.  Helpful to see a trend)
  2. New ROAD trips
  3. New cars released - reviews could be posted under this thread too

These are some of the thoughts that I personally have, and it is on the premise of making things more consolidated and reader friendly.

The disadvantages that could arise are:

1. Threads run a short life and just die off.  This would be natural progression of interest in a thread, 
  2. Ambiguity and posters can still drift on a particular topic in a specific thread making the need to split posts from threads more prevalent.

Please add on and @therock did have some thoughts so do add on here.

Thanks and these are just MY thoughts

Thanks .

At least now there are clearer indication on what should be considered as being worthy of starting a new thread, and what should continue in older thread. 

Thanks .

At least now there are clearer indication on what should be considered as being worthy of starting a new thread, and what should continue in older thread. 

ya lah.  So that there is no 'fear' or what.

Whatever it is, will just send a reminder and perhaps lock it and put the link on the appropriate discussion to ensue under

ya lah.  So that there is no 'fear' or what.

Whatever it is, will just send a reminder and perhaps lock it and put the link on the appropriate discussion to ensue under

wah .... suddenly so diplomatic

hello hellooooooooo is that Radx

wah .... suddenly so diplomatic

hello hellooooooooo is that Radx

your acct is wayyyyyyyyyyy overdue :grin:  :grin:

no...this is @joseph22

ya lah. So that there is no 'fear' or what.

Mod is Mod. Let them do the job lar. Tio Kan also boh pian lah....Mai tio ban jin Ho liao...

walau eh...say until liddat.....i emo

brather you got see notice or not

application for potential moderator and potential MP already closed few days ago

but potential president still open, truly I humbly think you cant make it, so far the Yuan fellow may be a walkover

PS If try again please try use less shinning polish

basket you polish until I got to wear sunglasses

Edited by Still2016

brather you got see notice or not

application for potential moderator and potential MP already closed few days ago

but potential president still open, truly I humbly think you cant make it, so far the Yuan fellow may be a walkover

PS If try again please try use less shinning polish

basket you polish until I got to wear sunglasses

Brudder Kam Xia many many.....

If I run for PE, all my vices will be exposed...

You know they are good at that..

Brudder Kam Xia many many.....

If I run for PE, all my vices will be exposed...

You know they are good at that..

then you can be VICE president lor :a-happy:

I just spoke to Ms Hurrymah. She will create dis post if she is elected.

Condition is that must be reserved for 黑人。。。Sianz..

Following from the earlier thread on how we move forward, let's realign what constitutes the above accordingly so that we can ALL be on the same page and start threads without any hesitation.

Rationale:

1. Threads were merged as the same discussion was duplicated in different forms and the posts cut across different threads, fragmenting the discussion and making it difficult to read.
  2. Same topics of the SAME issue were posted and thus, the SEARCH function was encouraged so that the general MCF population did not have to sieve information unnecessarily, ie, all were consolidated
  3. Starting threads on the vein of getting the thread of the month leading to numerous additions

Going forward, it has been too successful and perhaps diluted the threads with posters posting topics under a SAME/SIMILAR thread that had no specific context.  I apologise for that as it may have been too zealously praticed.  That said, the list below could serve as a possibility of variations (non exhaustive) of what constitutes merging/splitting of threads

1. Threads of the SAME issue posted in the day/last few days that is bordering on the SAME topic.  This leads to fragmentation of threads /discussions that makes for difficult reading.
  2. Threads with a trend of occurring almost every day. Case in point SMRT breakdown.  If threads were to created daily on SMRT breakdown, 70% of threads will be on that.  Other possibilities are flood, reckless. hoggers, etc.  If at all, it's good to see  big trend of the same incidents occuring

1. Any new incident that occurs, that is newsworthy.  (However, this again can be debated, for eg, the OTC mountain.  Clearly there was no merit in starting a new thread there that may just last 20posts and die off.  Another case was the crocodile sighting where it was added in and the thread renamed on the different sightings in sg.  Helpful to see a trend)
  2. New ROAD trips

These are some of the thoughts that I personally have, and it is on the premise of making things more consolidated and reader friendly.

1. Threads run a short life and just die off.  This would be natural progression of interest in a thread, 
  2. Ambiguity and posters can still drift on a particular topic in a specific thread making the need to split posts from threads more prevalent.

Huat Ahhhhhh.

No more GRC.

No more kena sue until pants drop.

This must be a beautiful day.

Pinch me someone, I am not dreaming.

Rationale:

2. New ROAD trips

Thanks Radx for the clarification. And I salute you for taking the humble pie following the 1 day saga (@lala81 say one).

I have 1 question with regards to

1. New cars released - reviews could be posted under this thread too

I noted many time that people start new thread for a particular model of the same model year, so that one clear cut is a duplicated post and should be merged. But what about different variant within the same model? Case in point:

G30 5er,

- 2017 G30 BMW 5 Series

The new BMW M5 : first look

Audi A5 / S5 (previous generation),

Audi A5 Sportback

Audi S5

Audi A5 / RS5 (latest generation),

2017 Audi A5

2nd Generation Audi A5 / RS5

Audi Q2,

Audi Q2 SUV

Audi Q2 Coming Soon

Audi Q7 (2nd generation),

- Audi Q7

All-New Audi Q7

BMW 2AT & 2GT (merged into 1 thread with title for for only 1 particular varaint - 2GT),

- 2016 BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer

BMW 1er (even the X1 was classified as 1er?)

All New BMW 1 Series

Thanks Radx for the clarification. And I salute you for taking the humble pie following the 1 day saga (@lala81 say one).

I have 1 question with regards to

1. New cars released - reviews could be posted under this thread too

I noted many time that people start new thread for a particular model of the same model year, so that one clear cut is a duplicated post and should be merged. But what about different variant within the same model? Case in point:

G30 5er,

- 2017 G30 BMW 5 Series

The new BMW M5 : first look

Audi A5 / S5 (previous generation),

Audi A5 Sportback

Audi S5

Audi A5 / RS5 (latest generation),

2017 Audi A5

2nd Generation Audi A5 / RS5

Audi Q2,

Audi Q2 SUV

Audi Q2 Coming Soon

Audi Q7 (2nd generation),

- Audi Q7

All-New Audi Q7

BMW 2AT & 2GT (merged into 1 thread with title for for only 1 particular varaint - 2GT),

- 2016 BMW 2 Series Gran Tourer

BMW 1er (even the X1 was classified as 1er?)

All New BMW 1 Series

hard call and that is where I leave it to the responsible users to discern

IF facelift, then no need la, if new release like the G30 as opposed to F10, then definitely.  M5, should come under the G30 family.  This, I leave to those who discern to make tthe call.  

It is these issues that make things gray since USERS may spillover and thus fragmenting the thread, rendering the ORIGINAL intent diluted.

You see, even if we here are aligned, then newbies?  How?

i feel that merging similar threads is fine. its just that sometimes its hard to find the right page to start reading, especially if that topics has got 100+ pages? 

perhaps a bookmark for the latest block of the topic will be helpful? taking sample from "Beware of scammers". original topic was posted in June 2015 and there is an update or related entry today on page 35. the marker can be on page 35, instead of clicking on various pages to find the latest update. or a marker placed after the thread was 'revived' by an update after a few weeks/months?

not sure how to do it though. its just a thought. [laugh]