New 2018 BMW X3

Soya

Dunno whether its the RWD or what.. the car is actually very engaging.. give good feedbacks to the driver.

You drive 3.0l car right.... please dun waste time just ask for X3 M40i lah...

Haha, actually its true.. but i felt the Sdrive20 is more than capable... im just a driver for my kids, not chiongster anymore thats why i want go back 2.0 la.

Yes I saw it in showroom... price is quite decent for the 20i. Rims they give a really nice 19" set. The infotainment (touchscreen + idrive) and the full LCD instrument panel is superb. Leather included, unlike GLC.

What I am surprised is omitted:

- No lumbar support adjustments for chairs

- zero safety features - colllsion radar, blind spot warning, lane assist etc

- Very limited external color selections

I will also prefer to have

- HUD

- pano roof

- 360 camera

which some need to do custom indent - usually not worth the $$ and trouble.

My take is this:

- if want the best infotainment system go for X3

- If want better reliability and safety features go for GLC

No HUD no panoroof ( i really wanted a pano roof this time also)

360 camera there is... or maybe not. Maybe its just reverse camera with front n back sensors.. not 360 pano camera

Yes that 19” rims is very sexy

Edited by Rayoflight

agree with your point ... bmw is indeed bmw

the driving dynamic is good

i love the twin scroll turbo mated with ZF 8sp gearbox [thumbsup]

However the 180hp.. it felt definitely more.. something more towards 230hp.

I felt more “alive” test driving this than GLC/Q5. Even Q5 with 250hp also didnt felt like this.. too comfy and too boring drive.

U will knw the right feel once u r behind the wheels.. guess this is the “push” or “heart-throbbing” kind of love haha..

Wife also like the X3 most..

Omv 40+k arf 52k minimum..

Already added $10k ves to make the price $212k

FWD ok ... if the rear leg room is IMPROVED with FLAT FLOOR

if got big hump ... wtf ... pay more and get less

i missed my zheng yam5 ... [bigcry]

1 going to be FWD.  Might as well buy Mini.

3 will be as big as F10.  Must get M340

FWD ok ... if the rear leg room is IMPROVED with FLAT FLOOR

if got big hump ... wtf ... pay more and get less

i missed my zheng yam5 ... [bigcry]

Get the g30 and yam it lor. But after makan pork, can go back meh?

old liao ma ... need a small sleeper car

to send kids to school and home only ... [laugh]

Makan pork is the diff type of pork as compared to 911 or 718.

If got place to charge car, it is good idea to buy plug in hybrid.

50km on pure electric

haha ... yalor it's crayfish not atas lobster ...

Makan pork is the diff type of pork as compared to 911 or 718.
If got place to charge car, it is good idea to buy plug in hybrid.
50km on pure electric

Tested the out going X3 20i  just before the current gen came.

Ride and handling is firm and good.

Interior fit and finish is as per BMW standard. Good

I am assuming the current X3 is much better in all aspect.

I must say it is only let down by the 20i engine.... lethargic and feels strained hauling the no-very-light X3 body. What is the point of having good handling when you are struggling to move the body.

Personally, I say minimum is to go for the 30i.... but at that price.....you need to really appreciate a sedan-like handling conti SUV to pay that kind of money when you have more value proposition in the market.

Tested the out going X3 20i just before the current gen came.

Ride and handling is firm and good.

Interior fit and finish is as per BMW standard. Good

I am assuming the current X3 is much better in all aspect.

I must say it is only let down by the 20i engine.... lethargic and feels strained hauling the no-very-light X3 body. What is the point of having good handling when you are struggling to move the body.

Personally, I say minimum is to go for the 30i.... but at that price.....you need to really appreciate a sedan-like handling conti SUV to pay that kind of money when you have more value proposition in the market.

Then u must seriously try the new one, on paper its heavy and probably has a low hp/weight ratio.. but the damn car felt almost like a sports sedan. I also didnt expect much from it but it was above my expectations.. if only the price can come down alittle more haha.

U can throw the car out of a corner at 60-70km/h and it still handles so well.

Tested quite a few compact suvs already.

Edited by Rayoflight

Then u must seriously try the new one, on paper its heavy and probably has a low hp/weight ratio.. but the damn car felt almost like a sports sedan. I also didnt expect much from it but it was above my expectations.. if only the price can come down alittle more haha.

U can throw the car out of a corner at 60-70km/h and it still handles so well.

Tested quite a few compact suvs already.

Thks for the feedback.

Got a fellow GT kaki who is keen on changing to this X3 but the trade in price PML quoted was ridiculously low even for a BMW! Hope you get a better price for your Audi.