Australia: Car Rental in Darwin

kobayashiGT

Guys. . .  I am going Darwin this coming November. I am looking for car rental in Darwin. Any lobangs???? 

I am not sure about now. But in 2010 when i went there, all the car rentals dont have unlimited mileage one. I wanted to rent one and go to Alice Springs, but calculated, will cost quite a lot taking into account the mileage. Just take note of this bo unlimited milage thingy.

Woah! They count by mileage?

I tot of renting the Holden UTE leh. Hahaha must experience the vroom vroom!

Woah! They count by mileage?

I tot of renting the Holden UTE leh. Hahaha must experience the vroom vroom!

I rented a Holden Commodore SV6 from Hertz 3 years ago when i went to Perth.. Vroom Vrroom... Wheel spining and slight "drifting" everytime i floor the pedal. damn shiok.. However, there was once i was at a beach where the parking was not on tarmac but on abit of sand area. You guess what. i went in and half way into the parking lot my rear wheel spin and got stuck in the sand.. as it was quite a ulu beach, was quite panic.. heng the aussie were quite friendly.. 1 uncle surfing there and another couple who drove pass saw and came to help me.. it took them close to 30 min of digging the sand and putting rocks under the wheel to get it out...

so i would suggest getting a 4x4... especially Darwin which i dun think it is too city-like...  

Hahha, Then if 4 x 4 I want open top. Hhaha. I wanna drive something that I won't buy in Singapore. one. hahaha 

Maybe a Jeep Wrangler! 

I rented a Holden Commodore SV6 from Hertz 3 years ago when i went to Perth.. Vroom Vrroom... Wheel spining and slight "drifting" everytime i floor the pedal. damn shiok.. However, there was once i was at a beach where the parking was not on tarmac but on abit of sand area. You guess what. i went in and half way into the parking lot my rear wheel spin and got stuck in the sand.. as it was quite a ulu beach, was quite panic.. heng the aussie were quite friendly.. 1 uncle surfing there and another couple who drove pass saw and came to help me.. it took them close to 30 min of digging the sand and putting rocks under the wheel to get it out...

so i would suggest getting a 4x4... especially Darwin which i dun think it is too city-like...  

i went to Darwin about 5 years back and I remember the mileage cap; somehow I took rental from a bigger car company (as it had office in Airport) so easier to pick up as my flight landed quite early in the morning ..and also higher mileage...... Darwin travel distance are very very long indeed and driving can get boring and the heat is bad too and cars will become very red from the soil around; Ended up with just nice mileage within the alloted distance per day basis; Overall had a great experience; Car was a Ford Mondeo (as usual they will upgrade you at the Airport) as I actually wanted a smaller 1.8L car but  they gave me a 2.5L (powerful - yes, fuel efficiency - depends ) we were only 3 pax in total so I had asked for a hatchback; All my son remembers in Darwin were the fires.... lots of them and burnt out lands... must have been a bad year when I went there;  Even at night the land about 100's km away  "was glowing" and we were kind of afraid that the fire might come to our motel.... scary lah!         

Long story arh... My best friend going there for a wedding shoot. Then he asks me wanna tag along anot. Since he renting a mansion there. So I just go along lor. Since accommodation is free. Hahhaha. 

I like to anyhow run one mah. hahahah. 

of all places why you want to go to a bird no shit desert ?   :huh:  :huh:

[sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

Ahhhh! I will keep a look out on the Car rental at the airport~! Thanks! 

If they have the Ford Raptor also not bad. Hahhaa. 

i went to Darwin about 5 years back and I remember the mileage cap; somehow I took rental from a bigger car company (as it had office in Airport) so easier to pick up as my flight landed quite early in the morning ..and also higher mileage...... Darwin travel distance are very very long indeed and driving can get boring and the heat is bad too and cars will become very red from the soil around; Ended up with just nice mileage within the alloted distance per day basis; Overall had a great experience; Car was a Ford Mondeo (as usual they will upgrade you at the Airport) as I actually wanted a smaller 1.8L car but  they gave me a 2.5L (powerful - yes, fuel efficiency - depends ) we were only 3 pax in total so I had asked for a hatchback; All my son remembers in Darwin were the fires.... lots of them and burnt out lands... must have been a bad year when I went there;  Even at night the land about 100's km away  "was glowing" and we were kind of afraid that the fire might come to our motel.... scary lah!         

But I did the car rental on line on the internet . I don't know if you will get good prices once you land there but I remember the airport is small and the car rental companies are all huddled up in one building just a stones throw from the Airport. Dont know if its location has been changed or not yet.   

Long story arh... My best friend going there for a wedding shoot. Then he asks me wanna tag along anot. Since he renting a mansion there. So I just go along lor. Since accommodation is free. Hahhaha. 

I like to anyhow run one mah. hahahah. 

Ahhhh! I will keep a look out on the Car rental at the airport~! Thanks! 

If they have the Ford Raptor also not bad. Hahhaa. 

They do have checkout my Friend YouTube unlimited mileage

Darwin got interesting places to visit. I remember spending 12 days there. That time they rented a mini van from Avis.

Places to visit :

- a bay where you can feed the fishes

- jumping croc at Adelaide river

- MGM Casino

- Thursday and Sunday market at the beach

- Casuarina Shopping mall

- Nude beach

- Strip club

After 5pm all shops close over there.

post-2654-1284436309_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1284345603_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1284345599_thumb.jpg

post-2654-1284345178_thumb.jpg

Edited by Adrianli

Guys. . .  I am going Darwin this coming November. I am looking for car rental in Darwin. Any lobangs???? 

i went to Darwin last year. all the major car rental firms can be found at the airport. it would be good to make a reservation prior to your trip. as already mentioned by someone, there is a cap on the mileage.

Ahhh. Which car rental did you use arh? 

i went to Darwin last year. all the major car rental firms can be found at the airport. it would be good to make a reservation prior to your trip. as already mentioned by someone, there is a cap on the mileage.

Darwin got interesting places to visit. I remember spending 12 days there. That time they rented a mini van from Avis.

Places to visit :

- a bay where you can feed the fishes

- jumping croc at Adelaide river

- MGM Casino

- Thursday and Sunday market at the beach

- Casuarina Shopping mall

- Nude beach

- Strip club

After 5pm all shops close over there.

I remember the market at beach. Nice and good place to watch sunset