Intermittent Fasting (the IF warrior)

Tianmo

I see ... I know a bit sensitive to ask what is your current weight.

Just say out what was your weight 11 years ago can already.  [:p]

Try planking too. Go way to also arch and strengthen the spine and back. 

Wahaahaahaha.   I have forgotten my weight 11 years ago. Should  be less than 46kg.

Now fatter liao - less than 48kg ba.

What is planking?  I'll go and google. thanks.

When starting initially back will feel sng. But there are benefits to this and its worth the perseverance.

Yeah...i read plank is one of the more effective exercise. But really shag initial stage. Whole body can tremble. Hehe

Planking is an isometric exercise. Its just fatiguing the muscle in a static position. Problem is you aren't changing your back posture during planks. Do some variations.

Really u should be doing a series of different core exercises instead of just being overly focused on the plank.

Agree with @lala81 on the plank.

I can do a 10 min plank, but nope it is not the most effective for core training. In fact there is no such thing as a most effective exercise for the core. The core is quite complex with front, back and side muscles, we need different movements to work different areas of the core. The plank has no range of motions.

Anyway, to hold a good plank, you will also need strong shoulders and arms, not only abs and back. Ability to keep your balance is also important. 

But I think for exercise, there is an exercise thread. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

For those who has done IF, could you share the change on your body fat level & how long does it take for you to reach there?

My goal is drop body weight & body fats.

Wahaahaahaha.   I have forgotten my weight 11 years ago. Should  be less than 46kg.

48kg, so light?? Are sure you in the right thread ? You should start a thread on how to gain weight.. [laugh]  [laugh]

Planking is an isometric exercise. Its just fatiguing the muscle in a static position. Problem is you aren't changing your back posture during planks. Do some variations.

Really u should be doing a series of different core exercises instead of just being overly focused on the plank.

Planking, 1 sec I also cannot tahan.. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh] 

Personally not a isometric exercise person.  Always prefer dynamic exercises that extend the full range of motion. That's why when I do squat, is ass to ground, like pang sai, though some will think it hurts the knee. If you train your major leg muscle group well, it'll protects your knee during the squat.

Edited by Ender

48kg, so light?? Are sure you in the right thread ? You should start a thread on how to gain weight.. [laugh]  [laugh]

At 48kg one don't even qualify to do NS.

Maybe it's .......... [rolleyes]  [laugh]

For those who has done IF, could you share the change on your body fat level & how long does it take for you to reach there?

My goal is drop body weight & body fats.

When you lose weight, one or all of the these drop, namely water, fats and muscle mass. 

IF will preserve muscle mass, and what you lose in the initial stage will likely be water. Keep yourself hydrated drinking more water and do some resistance training will be good.

Different ppl will react differently, but generally if one has more stored fats, the result will be faster and more obvious in the beginning. 

I am very sure in 3 months you WILL cut a few kg of weight and fats, the question is how many.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

It's all about discipline.   :yuush:

At 3.50pm I took a plate of satay bee noon with no bee noon just to ensure I don't get too hungry later. Hahahahha :secret-laugh:

if i get an unsatisfying meal or something which i think is too light prior to the fast.

I always have nuts, fresh milk or unsweetened soy milk at home. But of course sometimes i eat some junk food as well, cos eating these are nutritionally good, but eat almost everyday also bit sian.

A bit of fat and tummy is natural and ok one lah.  :D

It's all about discipline.   :yuush:

At 3.50pm I took a plate of satay bee noon with no bee noon just to ensure I don't get too hungry later. Hahahahha :secret-laugh:

means satay lah ...  [:p]

10 sticks ? lovely with onion I must say ...  :wub:

A bit of fat and tummy is natural and ok one lah. :D

means satay lah ... [:p]

10 sticks ? lovely with onion I must say ... :wub:

Err.....just satay bee noon with no been noon but with meat, liver, sotong etc.

Not satay as it was not served with sticks. Kekekeekke

Err.....just satay bee noon with no been noon but with meat, liver, sotong etc.

Not satay as it was not served with sticks. Kekekeekke

oh really, got such an option ... I really did not know.  [:p]

oh really, got such an option ... I really did not know. [:p]

Well I was at redhill market and the satay bee hoon was closed.

So this is to compensate it.

Or should it be at ABC market and I went to the wrong one?????

Do we have a eating disorder?  [laugh]

https://www.healthxchange.sg/food-nutrition/eating-disorders/eating-disorders-men-causes-signs-symptoms?utm_source=memberenews-oct17&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=hxcmemberenews-oct17

​​​Eating Disorders in Men: Causes & Signs and Symptoms
Evelyn Boon, Senior Principal Psychologist from the Department of Psychiatry at ​Singapore General Hospital (SGH), shares the causes and symptoms of eating disorders in men.

Any mention of eating disorders typically brings to mind the image of a reed thin teenage girl starving herself. Actually, sufferers can come in all shapes and sizes. You don’t have to be thin to have an eating disorder, neither do you have to be female; it can happen to anyone, at any age.

While it was once thought to be a Western illness affecting young girls of a certain social status, it is now just as prevalent in Asian countries such as Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan and Taiwan. Though the term is primarily associated with the medical condition anorexia nervosa, and to a lesser extent bulimia nervosa, it includes binge eating disorders and eating disorders not otherwise specified (EDNOS) as well.

It was also once thought that males accounted for only 10 per cent of patients suffering from eating disorders. However, a 2007 Harvard study found that this statistic was grossly underestimated; actually, males accounted for 25 per cent of patients of anorexia / bulimia and 40 per cent of those with binge eating disorders.

In Singapore, about 20 per cent of people who seek help for eating disorders are males. In a children’s hospital in Sydney, it was observed that the ratio of male/female was close to equal in the younger population.

Eating disorders in men

Just like their female counterparts, men with eating disorders will restrict their intake of food, watch what they eat like hawks and constantly exercise. Some men may desire to be thin but mostly they want to be lean and muscular, focusing on specific parts of their body such as their arms, shoulders, thighs and abdomen.

Causes of eating disorders in men

Though more research is needed to know the full causes, possible increase in the number of men with eating disorders can be attributed to the following reasons:

• Greater awareness of eating disorders and their symptoms leading to more males seeking help, or parents and family members seeking help on their behalf.
  • This illness is now being recognised as not being a female illness alone. With less associated stigma, there is less shame in seeking help.
  • Another reason could be that men are no longer spared from the pursuit of an ideal body shape. For instance, male magazine present images of men with ribbed muscles, extremely defined abdomens and lean physiques.

In recent years, a new eating disorder has emerged. It is being termed bigorexia or reverse anorexia or muscle dysmorphia disorder, where the individual (usually male) is obsessed with muscle building and feels that he is never muscular enough.

Some signs and symptoms of an eating disorder
  1. Sudden or rapid weight loss, frequent weight changes
  2. Constant dieting, possible binge eating
  3. Compulsive or excessive exercising
  4. Fatigue, fainting, weakness
  5. Preoccupation with weight, shape and appearance
  6. Extreme unhappiness with body image
  7. Intense fear of weight gain
  8. Feeling of loss of control around food
  9. Change in food preferences, having lists of good/bad foods
  10. Avoiding social events that involve food
  11. Withdrawal from social interaction or even isolation
  12. Highly sensitive about comments about food, body size and shape

If these symptoms sound familiar, it is best to get help early and seek a formal assessment from an eating disorders specialist.