In the last 3 years, how much have you spent on cars/drivin?

Agent008

As many said before, if you are one of those that belong to the 70% group, then you shouldnt be grumbling about the rediculous price of car n related expenses....because you vote for it.

Oh, just to share, friend of mine in USA(Singaporean who moved there 15 years ago), just got a Porky(turbo-S convertible) fully loaded n sec-ed.  Paid in cash.  1/4 the price of what you would pay here.

Singaporeans are actually earning a lot.  But the garmen sucked mostly sucked it all up.  Yeah yeah, we will be told u have a choice, can take MRT(oh faark) but its definitely no where near the Swiss Standard.

Edited by Ahbengdriver

Nobody has considered the costs if one were to have done that same traveling but on public transport.. Train, bus, taxi etc.

Then put the numbers against your car costs.

The numbers would not be that astronomical

about $160K ...     

new car deposit     = $78k 

vehicle instalment ($1200 per month x 3 yrs) =  $43,200

car park  $90 x 36)  = $3,240

fuel  ($320 x 12 x 3)  = $11,520

servicing ($550 x 4 x 3)  = $6,600

tyres (every 18 mths 4 tyres) = $1,800 

polishing ($380 twice a year x 3)  =  $2,280

MY holiday toll charges (5 times a yr x 3)   =  $2,500

Insurance (3 yrs)   =  $4800

accessories (video cam, HU, disk, thump drive) =  $2,000 

coupon parking & shopping centres = $1,200

brake pads, suspensions, (3 yrs)   =  $1,200

Tyre shine, leather polish, dashboard polish, wiper water  =  $1,000

car wash at petrol kiosk  =  $11 per wash x 4 per month x 12 x 3)  = $1,584

engine treatment oil ($75 per bottle x twice per year x 3)  =  $450

batteries ($265 x every 18 months)  = $530  

ERP ( [mad]) 3yrs  =   $800

car park summons  =  $600 (before GPS parking system)

remote control batteries  = $60

Total estimate about  $162,164/-

[dizzy]  [dizzy]  [dizzy]

aiyahhhh....considered good liao bro....imagine if you dun have the car....you will still spend this 160k right, worse is after spending this 160k, got nothing to show....now at least got a car to show.. :secret-laugh:

$30 a day

Coe road tax insurance all count in

Repair and serving didn’t add because unpredictable :grin:

Yeah right, owing a car is not an investment.  I will not want to keep record of how much it would spent. Just keep driving until one day I can't afford to pay for all the expenses :)

Yeah right, owing a car is not an investment. I will not want to keep record of how much it would spent. Just keep driving until one day I can't afford to pay for all the expenses :)

Yes keep thinking that way. Next time when you are old just pick cardboards for a living.

aiyahhhh....considered good liao bro....imagine if you dun have the car....you will still spend this 160k right, worse is after spending this 160k, got nothing to show....now at least got a car to show.. :secret-laugh:

Car to show? Your BB is a badge of honor? Singaporeans are hilarious

As many said before, if you are one of those that belong to the 70% group, then you shouldnt be grumbling about the rediculous price of car n related expenses....because you vote for it.

Oh, just to share, friend of mine in USA(Singaporean who moved there 15 years ago), just got a Porky(turbo-S convertible) fully loaded n sec-ed. Paid in cash. 1/4 the price of what you would pay here.

Singaporeans are actually earning a lot. But the garmen sucked mostly sucked it all up. Yeah yeah, we will be told u have a choice, can take MRT(oh faark) but its definitely no where near the Swiss Standard.

Don't hurt the feelings of the fools. We need fools to let the government tax so hopefully my income tax rate won't go up.

Oh, just to share, friend of mine in USA(Singaporean who moved there 15 years ago), just got a Porky(turbo-S convertible) fully loaded n sec-ed.  Paid in cash.  1/4 the price of what you would pay here.

Singaporeans are actually earning a lot.  But the garmen sucked mostly sucked it all up.  Yeah yeah, we will be told u have a choice, can take MRT(oh faark) but its definitely no where near the Swiss Standard.

Hey if you can say the above you can also imagine everyone here drives a Porsche...oh wait, but Sgp is so tiny everyone would be stuck on the road and hardly moving an inch when the Porsche can go from 0-100km/hr in less dan 5 sec. End up it takes 5 days to reach your destination. How ironic. Of course the typical sinkie will kaopeh and say the gahment did nothing to help them.

Life. You can't have it all and eat the cake. Or life's a b!tch. Depending on how you look at it.

Yes keep thinking that way. Next time when you are old just pick cardboards for a living.

Brother, thank you for your concerns  [laugh]  You may please read what I've mentioned "until one day I can't afford"  that means I own and drive a car which I think I can afford in my capacity.

Anyway, what's wrong in picking cardboards?  One Ministar said it is good for exercise when getting old  :XD: just joking  [:p] 

are you saying old folks picking cardboards now owned cars in the past?

is your perspective from your behind?

In the last 3 years, how much have you spent on cars/drivin?

1. Depreciation
  2. Petrol/Diesel
  3. Road Tax
  4. Insurance
  5. Servicing (including Lubricant, fluids, filters, etc)
  6. Parking:
  • Season parking
  • Coupon Parking/App Parking
  • Cashcard Parking
  1. Maintenance and Repairs
  • Engine mount
  • Suspension
  • Air-con
  • Minor dents and paintwork
  • Rims repair, Wheel alignment, etc
  1. Car cleaning
  • Indian Man/Car Wash
  • Car cleaning supplies (shampoo, wax, leather, protectant, etc)
  • Car cleaning tools (brushes, cloths, micro-fibre, chamois)
  • Glass coat/ceramic coat/Waxing
  • Others (Insecticide, fragrance, carbon, etc)
  1. Consumables:
  • Tyres
  • Battery
  • Brake pads, spark plugs, Windshield wipers, etc
  1. Car accessories:
  • Solar film
  • Car camera, Camera battery
  • GPS
  • USB charger, charging cables,
  • Emergency battery pack, etc
  1. Fines and charges
  • Driving fines
  • Parking fines
  • ERP & ERP admin charges
  • Malaysian Toll, etc
  1. Additives:
  • Lubricant additives
  • Fuel additives
  1. Inspections (Vicom, STA, etc)
  2. Membership Fees (AA, Hankook, etc)

Depreciation is based on your car. Typically $10k - $25k per year.

Operating costs and expenses can range from maybe $6k to $30k per year, depending on what failed.

$30 a day

Coe road tax insurance all count in

Repair and serving didn’t add because unpredictable :grin:

Your pick-karp use diesel, where got $30/- a day ...  [sly] 

You bluff people   :slow: 

Taxi driver drives whole day and only top up $20/- ....  :XD: 

Your MY holiday toll charges are $2500 ? RM7500 ??? Where do you go exactly that incur thousands of ringgit of toll charges a year.

about $160K ... :a-m1524:  :a-m1524:  

new car deposit     = $78k 

vehicle instalment ($1200 per month x 3 yrs) =  $43,200

car park  $90 x 36)  = $3,240

fuel  ($320 x 12 x 3)  = $11,520

servicing ($550 x 4 x 3)  = $6,600

tyres (every 18 mths 4 tyres) = $1,800 

polishing ($380 twice a year x 3)  =  $2,280

MY holiday toll charges (5 times a yr x 3)   =  $2,500

Insurance (3 yrs)   =  $4800

accessories (video cam, HU, disk, thump drive) =  $2,000 

coupon parking & shopping centres = $1,200

brake pads, suspensions, (3 yrs)   =  $1,200

Tyre shine, leather polish, dashboard polish, wiper water  =  $1,000

car wash at petrol kiosk  =  $11 per wash x 4 per month x 12 x 3)  = $1,584

engine treatment oil ($75 per bottle x twice per year x 3)  =  $450

batteries ($265 x every 18 months)  = $530  

ERP ( [mad]) 3yrs  =   $800

car park summons  =  $600 (before GPS parking system)

remote control batteries  = $60

Total estimate about  $162,164/-

[dizzy]  [dizzy]  [dizzy]

Actually, I did a calculation before.

My car incurred more expenses than my food, utilities, and handphone bills combined, in a month.

Edited by Davidtkl

Your pick-karp use diesel, where got $30/- a day ... [sly]

You bluff people :slow:

Taxi driver drives whole day and only top up $20/- .... :XD:

Ship diesel [sly]

Your MY holiday toll charges are $2500 ? RM7500 ??? Where do you go exactly that incur thousands of ringgit of toll charges a year.

Actually, I did a calculation before.

My car incurred more expenses than my food, utilities, and handphone bills combined, in a month.

TS said, 3 years accumulations ... [sly]  

also include kopi lui to MY TP and summons for speeding ...  :secret-laugh: 

I consider this as 'toll' charges..  :we-all-gonna-die: 

Pay $$$$ and you can carry on driving speeding....  [drivingcar]