Regarding Malaysia vehicles entry

FurionLfg

Given the cutting of vehicle growth rate to zero, should there be more restrictions on Malaysia vehicles entering Singapore? 

Maybe I am biased, but I am seeing more and more Malaysia plated vehicles nowadays. Not just long-haul trucks, but many vans, etc.

Pickup-trucks carrying a trunk full of ladders, etc, going at 100km/h on first lane. Obviously not here for "social visit" !!!

As the cost of operating a vehicle in Singapore goes up, it will be more competitive for Malaysia vehicles to operate here.

Obviously it is a violation of visa policy for Malaysians to undertake commercial activities here with only a visitor visa, but these rules are unenforceable.

It might be the case that any particular Malaysia vehicle cannot stay here for too long. However, if you look at the entire vehicle population in Singapore, then at any point in time, my estimate is that a significant proportion of vehicles on the roads are from Malaysia.

If we could eliminate these vehicles, this will mean more COE available for Singapore cars !!!

Another thing is those Malaysia long-haul trucks, spewing massive plumes of thick black smoke. They should be forced to unload at the customs and transfer their cargo to local trucks !

I would suggest a quota system for foreign vehicles as well.

Because there is a HUGE difference between paying S$35.00 daily, versus paying for an entire downpayment upfront.

Meaning that the current system favors foreign cars.

Increasingly more so as vehicle growth rate is cut to zero.

I would suggest issuing say 10% of the total COE quantity's worth of "foreign entry permit". Validity one year.

Foreign cars need to buy such a permit in order to enter Singapore.

Angst aside,

We can tax the incoming cars to kingdom come, but will it solve our congestion issues?

Having Johoreans coming to Singapore to study or work is good, as they are a source of talent.

I think a differential cost is required, but to overdo it kills the golden goose in the long term

Remember that Johor now has the backing of the Chinese government. They are much less reliant on us now.

Singapore is only a second fiddle to the 'white' countries that Malaysians truely want to be settle in, but not able to due to affordability and logistics issues

TS, you want tit for tat from Malaysia side? Then at the end of the day, it is people who like to drive to Malaysia for shopping or holidays who will suffer from your myopic view. Just suck it up la. Not happy, then go to feedback to relevant dept (though I think it will not be any difference anyway)

thats why TS post here ma... haha

This is not a complaint against Malaysia. 

Once it gets cheaper to arrange for a Malaysia-registered vehicle to operate in Singapore, instead of buying a Singapore-registered vehicle, people (Singaporeans) will do so.

Currently there is no system for Singapore government to control the number of foreign cars in Singapore. Except for S$35.00/day, which will soon become cheaper than locally buying a car.

There should be a quota system in place to limit the number of foreign cars in Singapore.

Before a foreign car enters Singapore, the owner must go online and buy the permit first.

Same thing as Malaysia's requirement for VEP online registration.

Once Singapore's COE prices get sky-high due to zero-growth, there will be a lot more Malaysia vehicles in Singapore, if the current system remains.

Again this is not complaining against Malaysians. Just point out possible flaws in the "car-lite" system.

Edited by FurionLfg

Once it gets cheaper to arrange for a Malaysia-registered vehicle to operate in Singapore, instead of buying a Singapore-registered vehicle, people (Singaporeans) will do so.

Currently there is no system for Singapore government to control the number of foreign cars in Singapore. Except for S$35.00/day, which will soon become cheaper than locally buying a car.

There should be a quota system in place to limit the number of foreign cars in Singapore.

Before a foreign car enters Singapore, the owner must go online and buy the permit first.

Once Singapore's COE prices get sky-high due to zero-growth, there will be a lot more Malaysia vehicles in Singapore, if the current system remains.

Again this is not complaining against Malaysians. Just point out possible flaws in the "car-lite" system.

okok we get the idea haha...

How can $35 per day be cheaper than owning a car locally? Its about 12k a year. Singaporean and PR also cannot drive foreign cars in SG.

weekend and public holiday no count and I think have another 11 days free, total will be $8500+-.

that's where u r wrong, these Sg'rean and PR will get their drivers to drive past customs then they take over and drive in SG till kingdom comes!

i've 1 such neighbour doing this with his range rover!

that's where u r wrong, these Sg'rean and PR will get their drivers to drive past customs then they take over and drive in SG till kingdom comes!

the wrong one is your neighbour

mai tio road block or bao tao.  -_-

U should report him or u copy him or just shut both eyes...choose one

Our G can definitely increase the fee for Malaysian car but eventually those cost will be passed to us via higher prices in everything...

With no competition with local talent” our cost will go up

Edited by Wongcl

I don't think that will work. Malaysia so petty, they will definitely tit for tat, then we all kena.

For Singaporeans who move to JB and buy Malaysian cars, they cannot drive it here. And besides most likely they will have no reason to drive back here any more unless for work. You can move to JB you still want to come back meh.

So you just don't like your neighbor la. I don't think there are many people willing to risk being penalised just to drive in SG. Your neighbor is blacksheep and you think everyone will be like that.

U should report him or u copy him or just shut both eyes...choose one

i think reporting him no use unless they come and ambush him at the beginning of the road.

also he dun do it everyday, maybe 2 months 1 week this scenario