Police to push for forfeiture of cars used in illegal races

Sdf4786k

Aiya please la, got people drive Mitsubishi Lancer with body kit also race. [rolleyes]

It's not about the car. It's about the driver.

Ever witnessed a glx tried to rile an 'evo x' up at traffic light.

Went to csi, turned out to be normal lancer. The glx must have done a quick csi

I saw a 1.2 qashqai nismo + type R combo, and a host of other mod stickers. It is a one off Nissan + Honda anniversary collaboration project. If you go TDI tuning singapore facebook still can see.

For info, qashqai don't have nismo version. Juke, sylphy and note, etc have (but not found in sg)

Rather TP be more active on roads to catch reckless taxi/truck/trailer drivers endangering other road users than "ambushing" a meaningless race on a deserted road that no one cares

• Dislike 1

Rather TP be more active on roads to catch reckless taxi/truck/trailer drivers endangering other road users than "ambushing" a meaningless race on a deserted road that no one cares

as u mention. Meanless race.

Most of the race is 3am type. Not afternoon.. escape from office , go racing type.

I am sure the TP are still as diligent in enforcing the duties.

Just this morning. Saw TP side by side pull motor, pull civic modded to the side. Ticket liao, continue to do the leap frogging one after another with more vehicles pull to the side..

Seems like in heavy traffic, easier to spot vehicle zipping and changing abruptly or speeding.

Bohua leh. 177kmph is not very fast nor shiok. Easily achieved in ns highway. At lin chu kang already so near boleh land.

yeah, and hence my comments that those VW are not like superfast. Why even bother to penalise those two cars.

Edited by Sdf4786k

Don't look down on vw dude. You may try taking up some scooped up GTI and Rs.

My stock Jetta twin-charge ate a couple of much more expensive cars before(that includes BMWs) speed in excess of over 200. Its not always about the car, but how big are your balls, anyway, that was all history.. uncle happily enjoying a mpv now.

Lol don’t get worked up

Talking about debadge. Just saw this while ago...

This fella takes the cake.

From Evo to Inspira..

post-35926-0-51985800-1511416885_thumb.jpg

My stock Jetta twin-charge ate a couple of much more expensive cars before(that includes BMWs) speed in excess of over 200. Its not always about the car, but how big are your balls, anyway, that was all history.. uncle happily enjoying a mpv now.

Kancil with big balls can eat Jetta too?

Else, the car still matters.

Talking about debadge. Just saw this while ago...

This fella takes the cake.

From Evo to Inspira..

attachicon.gifInspira.jpg

Kancil with big balls can eat Jetta too?

Else, the car still matters.

I'm referring to earlier comment made saying VW can't run dude.

Of course performance matter, but we are not comparing a 600cc to a F1 here.

Be it VW or BMW, they are still common vehicles on the road, and whether can the car full potential be unleashed, the driver still plays a big part in handling the vehicle.

You need to cross the checkpoints to check out crazy kancil and protons out there, if you are keen to take on some on them on a race (with $$ of course),  i can intro some to you.

Edited by Jackson_ngo

yeah, and hence my comments that those VW are not like superfast. Why even bother to penalise those two cars.

It is not about what speed they hit, but on the motive of racing... that is why the VWs were confiscated.

Your argument is skewed

I'm referring to earlier comment made saying VW can't run dude.

Of course performance matter, but we are not comparing a 600cc to a F1 here.

Be it VW or BMW, they are still common vehicles on the road, and whether can the car full potential be unleashed, the driver still plays a big part in handling the vehicle.

You need to cross the checkpoints to check out crazy kancil and protons out there, if you are keen to take on some on them on a race (with $$ of course),  i can intro some to you.

If wanna talk about crazy kancil with front exhaust, then maybe not in par liao.

What we saying here is stock to stock comparison.

Ok. I see your point.

But the old maxim of there is no replacement for displacement holds true.

I take a side step here. EXCEPT Tesla. P1000

Ok, now we speak of the elephant in the room, we discuss the merit of a soup up Twin Charge 1.4 Jetta / Golf.

Yes, the 1.4 with bigger hybrid turbo. Throw in injectors. HPFP. Downpipes, coilover, Strut bars, Take out spare tires. Use MkVI front winscreen. Swap out to 6speed Wet DSG. add ceramic brakes, 8 port rotor, 19 inch rims. Water mist injection, Bigger intercooler, oil cooler, etc

Still will take a heck of a long time from 200 to 280 after a tune and ONLY if you got a long runway.

So then what. Yeah. NOS. and the list goes on.

I am still not sure what car after all that modding to make a donkey run like a horse still is drivable on an everyday basis without risking the sanity OR the wallet at 1.4.

But of course, for pure academic exercise, there is just no denying that a VW has its merit for performance on an everyday car. 

I know many workshop who specialised in VW also have a VW to show car as well as provide a basis of comparison to sell services.

But just that those are biz guys who are smart enough to go to a proper track and not some one who mod mod a bit, want to have fun and get caught in a moment of follly by LTA.

ANd hence my comment that why even bother as these are just not hardcore cars . Just wannbe who just out to have fun and not hardcore racers.

Edited by Sdf4786k

hmmm ... was just thinking ....maybe the state should also confiscate cars driven by banned or unlicensed drivers(not nec the owners).

that will make the owners think more times before handing over the keys.

"Two cars confiscated and will be auctioned off"

I got a feeling the owners will be buying them back.....

more like the 2nd hand dealer will be there to buy it off..

I prefer TP to be impartial whether it's a lancer or a lambo. 

We have all seen racer wannabes in both super cars and b&b cars messing up on our roads frequently enough. All are equally lethal to the rest of the road users like us. 

Want to race, do it on proper track. Too inconvenient to drive up north? Is that even an excuse? 

Aiya, you drive Kancil or Lambo, as long as you break the law TP will come down hard on you. No give chance one.

Want to race, do it on proper track. Too inconvenient to drive up north? Is that even an excuse? 

Maybe got blacklisted by Malaysia TP due to too many unpaid traffic fines?