Uncle Terry's Home-cooking Journey

Terrylmt

Just sharing some of the food that I cook in me and my family's home-cooking journey...

To kick things off, thought I would go with my family & friend famous roast pork meant for special occasions and upon special requests only..

Takes me about 18 hours to finish, including the waiting & cooking times... I like the fresh pork belly from the butcher's because frozen pork tends to have a slight acrid aftertaste after you keep it overnight. Cost is higher, but the taste is much better in my opinion.

Hey, only the best for my loved ones right?

We start with cleaning the roast pork followed by a quick brine it.. this is how it looks like after the brine...

post-3869-0-63949200-1511076298_thumb.jpg

Then we go through a second process of marinating it overnight with the spices and seasonings... this is how it looks like after the overnight marination process...

post-3869-0-74605000-1511076319_thumb.jpg

We proceed to pierce holes using either an ice-pick or the "skin-poker" tool - depending on the thickness of the skin - and then do the salt-bake process... This is before we pop it into the oven for the salt bake...

post-3869-0-75426800-1511076529_thumb.jpg

... this is what it looks like after the salt bake... and after we scrape off the salt before returning it into the oven for a second bake...

post-3869-0-46579600-1511076566_thumb.jpg

post-3869-0-00058900-1511076650_thumb.jpg

We return the pork into the oven for a final bake, rotating it every 45 minutes and wiping off excess fat that oozes from the top...

post-3869-0-09513800-1511076719_thumb.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this first post...

With love,

Uncle Terry

• Praise 13

I've done this roast pork three times liao. Personally I think u get equivalent results without salt crusting. A side effect of thick layer of salt crusting is the sides become bloody salty cos it gets brined as well.

Tried the chef ku keung method which he say is roughly how Chinese restaurants do it, U don't really need much salt.

But my end product is quite crude type. Lol not so refined, but I think it's cos the way they trim the meat down. They only really use 3 layers while the pork belly we get at the butcher is more like 5 layers.

Is a brine really necessary? @TERRYLMT

Lot of steps in TS method.

I just make cuts in skin to depth of fat every 15mm and rub in salt.

Then in the oven for 90min to 120 min as required and if skin hasn't crisped up then under the grill and watchful eye for 5 min or so.

Hopefully TS will continue with more recipes.

I've done this roast pork three times liao. Personally I think u get equivalent results without salt crusting. A side effect of thick layer of salt crusting is the sides become bloody salty cos it gets brined as well.

Tried the chef ku keung method which he say is roughly how Chinese restaurants do it, U don't really need much salt.

But my end product is quite crude type. Lol not so refined, but I think it's cos the way they trim the meat down. They only really use 3 layers while the pork belly we get at the butcher is more like 5 layers.

Is a brine really necessary? @TERRYLMT

Personally, it's not entirely necessary if the pork you got is fat enough. However, for consistent (read: juicy) results, I find that a quick brine does help. To add, I use sea salt for the crust, and almost none in the spices that make up the marinade - so it tends to even itself out right at the end.

The fat mopping process also helps to remove any excessive salt from the crust, and because I am feeding old folks with weak teeth most of the time, having bubbly, thick crackling makes it difficult for them to enjoy. Hence sticking to what my family likes with this recipe.

Everyone is welcome to put their own nuances into the process I have shared above, and it is completely open for interpretation. If you can do it better, then do what makes sense for you.

[thumbsup]

Then in the oven for 90min to 120 min as required and if skin hasn't crisped up then under the grill and watchful eye for 5 min or so.

Yes, have tried that method too - but the crackling ends up a bit tough in some parts for old folk to enjoy. But that is a great way to get crackling quickly and effectively.

Plus, I like the excuse to enjoy a cold bottle of wine whilst waiting for the pork to roast... Hahahahaha...

Wow, that's a lot of work.  [sweatdrop]

Want the most ideal results, essential effort is required. Else, not worth doing anything at all.. Hahahaha... :XD:

Wow, that's a lot of work. [sweatdrop]

Frankly, This is considered easy. Difficulty 3/10.

That's angmoh roast pork belly. Not Chinese. U need the skin pricking tool to get the Chinese effect.

Personally, it's not entirely necessary if the pork you got is fat enough. However, for consistent (read: juicy) results, I find that a quick brine does help. To add, I use sea salt for the crust, and almost none in the spices that make up the marinade - so it tends to even itself out right at the end.

The fat mopping process also helps to remove any excessive salt from the crust, and because I am feeding old folks with weak teeth most of the time, having bubbly, thick crackling makes it difficult for them to enjoy. Hence sticking to what my family likes with this recipe.

Everyone is welcome to put their own nuances into the process I have shared above, and it is completely open for interpretation. If you can do it better, then do what makes sense for you.

[thumbsup]

Yes, have tried that method too - but the crackling ends up a bit tough in some parts for old folk to enjoy. But that is a great way to get crackling quickly and effectively.

Plus, I like the excuse to enjoy a cold bottle of wine whilst waiting for the pork to roast... Hahahahaha...

Want the most ideal results, essential effort is required. Else, not worth doing anything at all.. Hahahaha... :XD:

Crackling is not difficult to reduce.

What they do is u can steam it first for fifteen mins to partly cook it. Then dry it in fridge then prick and apply fine table salt. Then grill every 20 mins and reprick and oil. U can control exactly how much crackling u want.

Anyway just that I don't like the sides being super salty.

I don't really believe in brining. It just taste more juicy but the juice has no flavour. At least this applies for turkey. I did a lot of reading when I did my turkey 2 years ago.

Crackling is not difficult to reduce.

What they do is u can steam it first for fifteen mins to partly cook it. Then dry it in fridge then prick and apply fine table salt. Then grill every 20 mins and reprick and oil. U can control exactly how much crackling u want.

Anyway just that I don't like the sides being super salty.

I don't really believe in brining. It just taste more juicy but the juice has no flavour. At least this applies for turkey. I did a lot of reading when I did my turkey 2 years ago.

I have a turkey recipe too... That was what I was going to share for the Christmas week edition.

Haha do share. I did it once and that's enough for me... My oven is not full sized and neither is my fridge.

A good Ham is just easier and tastes much better. Just need a good glaze and tastes ultra shiok.

But this year can't be bothered, no energy to do a good prep

Haha do share. I did it once and that's enough for me... My oven is not full sized and neither is my fridge.

A good Ham is just easier and tastes much better. Just need a good glaze and tastes ultra shiok.

But this year can't be bothered, no energy to do a good prep

The brine I use is a spice brine.. not just salt and water... hence the flavour is different.. and my other secret is: BUTTER...

#everythingisbetterwithbutter

The brine I use is a spice brine.. not just salt and water... hence the flavour is different.. and my other secret is: BUTTER...

#everythingisbetterwithbutter

I use herb butter for the breast also.

No more updates @terrylmt? 

Coming soon. Collating the photos and steps clearly first.

Content creation is tough work... :secret-laugh:

Coming soon. Collating the photos and steps clearly first.

Content creation is tough work... :secret-laugh:

Tmr can taste ur cooking bo haaaaa

Not today... Maybe if you are free next week - I'll be cooking red wine spaghetti bolognese...

Its not a good idea to get @radx drunk ...........  [grin]