Does anyone bother using tiptronic?

Soya

Can count w one hand the number of times i used it. Anyone else think its a waste of time esp in SG start stop traffic?

I use it when going down the multi-storey carpark spiral ramp. Make sure it stays at "1" and not shift up.

On occasion traffic slow downs when I don't want any unnecessary up shifts.

After I start engine, the next thing I do is always switch off the stop/start function. Only use once on the day I collected my car. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

It's good fun when you want a spirited drive and no manual gearbox on hand.

I use it from time to time when I feel the mood. Completely different response compared to the auto mode.

My only worry is about gearbox damage in the long run, even though I change my ATF every 30k km.

Can count w one hand the number of times i used it. Anyone else think its a waste of time esp in SG start stop traffic?

After I start engine, the next thing I do is always switch off the stop/start function. Only use once on the day I collected my car. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Eh kotek....triptronic lah dei, not start stop.

But ya, that one oso sibei useless n everytime gotta remember to switch off

I used it quite often when on my 911.

Its quite fun

On my GLC, i used it 3 times already.

Also responsive and fun. But SUV very different feel from sportscar, hahah.

think depends on car, if is sport(y) car that's responsive and nice to drive then may see some usage, but for others... there's just no point.

i used mine once, after collecting from dealer, just to check it works, and after that just to downshift to Gear 1 for engine braking for going down spiral when floor is wet.

Edited by Eyke

I use mine all the time, on every drive. Down shift to accelerate faster from L2 of highway to L1 for overtake, then back to L2. Useful when I am on Eco mode instead of Sports mode. Eco mode downshift very slow even when press hard on accelerator. So I use tiptronic to downshift, then accelerate for faster pick-up. 

Very fun on Buona Vista 99 bends which is close to where I live. Shift down and up through the bends without having to take hand off steering wheel.  

Used most at steep car park down ramps so that I use brakes minimally and depend on engine braking. 

i use it ALL the times when cheong NSHW (redline [sly]) and MSIA B-road especially overtaking lorries and trucks [thumbsup]

in spore ... i think once only after collect car ... just like the cruise function ... lol

in spore ... some kuku driver don't even turn on headlight at night can drive home liao

i use it when i approach the apex of the bend.

but i feel my 6dsg is a tad slow to the respond.

In SG other than trying it out, only used say mount faber.

In MY, only Cameron and Genting Highlands

Didn't bother on straight and normal driving

i use it ALL the times when cheong NSHW (redline [sly]) and MSIA B-road especially overtaking lorries and trucks [thumbsup]

in spore ... i think once only after collect car ... just like the cruise function ... lol

in spore ... some kuku driver don't even turn on headlight at night can drive home liao

Another way is just to floor the pedal and press the button on the board, it'll automatically downshift to the lowest possible gear

Even on my GTI, i juz floor n the DSG kickdown is almost instantaneous. Tink quicker than me flipping the paddles

used it all the time on my now gone (God bless it's soul) Impreza RS 2.0, changed brake pads only once in the 8 years I had it but made sure to change ATF every servicing.

Doesn't work as well on the XC90 though... less responsive or I'm used to having only 4 gears to play with...

but i feel my 6dsg is a tad slow to the respond.

ya agree...the 6dsg is really lazy in D mode and always a gear or 2 too high

S mode is too aggressive on the other hand

:wacko:

I use it to down shift whenever I enter a bend/sweeper fast with no or minimal number cars hogging the road. 

Also to downshift just before I half press the accelerator to do overtaking manouvres. (don't need to activate the auto kickdown algorithm).

Good thing is that there is no need to shift into any sports mode to use the paddle shifters. One you use the paddle shifters, the care auto goes into manual overide mode. After I am done with the antics, just long press the up-shift paddle to return the car to full auto mode if I choose not to wait for the timeout function to lapse.

So yeah, I use it on a daily basis.