Why all those who quit are normally good employees?

ChaosMyth

Why all those who quit are normally good employees? Here’s 8 reasons why!

It is not all difficult to retain a good, hard-working employee in Singapore. The Lion City has an excellent working environment, salary packages are attractive and rank high up in Asia.

But just why big companies will often force employees out of the door? Just why good employees leave? Well, because they simply know their talent can be realized somewhere else.

If companies can’t provide a harmonious workplace, it won’t be hard to see why they can’t hold on to the talented employees. A consultancy report from CEB said that usually 33% of top-ranked employees normally have this conflict with their employers and would have started seeking for greener pastures just few weeks into their job!

Once a company loses the heart of their top-ranked employees, the group will not just choose to say I QUIT! They will also lose interest in their job. Mr Michael E. Kibler from Corporate Balance Concepts INC, an employee coaching firm, has been researching why employees quit their companies. He attributes this to “executive brownout”. To put it simply, no battery already!

Staff affected by this phenomenon become disengaged, demotivated and lose interest in their jobs. The more usual symptoms will be disengagement, discontent and lethargy. On the surface, their job performance is not bad, but they are secretly going downhill, and the exit door is where they are headed.

Companies who want to avoid this from happening can try to avoid these 8 workplace practices, which normally get under the skin of top-rated employees.

#1. Don’t put up too much rules

Yes. Simple as that. Don’t make it like a school, where there are even restrictions on meal times and toilet breaks. Employees feel restrained simply by that and the doubts will start to creep in. All are working professionals, not little children!

#2. All are equal

In the eyes of the law, all are equal. But it shouldn’t be the same at a workplace. The elite will feel left out should the boss treat all equally. They will think that all the rewards and benefits they deserve aren’t any different from those who have poor work performance.

#3. Enduring poor work performance

If a company doesn’t act in helping an employee snap out from poor performance, such as sending him for courses, he will soon drag down the whole organization. The company got to solve this problem fast and not act blur.

#4. Non acknowledgment of the talented ones

Who doesn’t like to be recognized for the hard work put in? It is just like the Employee of the Month plaque you see in fast food restaurants. Seriously, this is the best thing a company can do if they are already not handing out 13th month bonus!

#5. Show some love, lah!

A relationship between company and employee is like watering a plant. If you don’t give it TLC (Tender, Love, Care), how do you expect it to grow. You must show care and concern for your employee! Remember, they are not robots! They are made of flesh and blood!

#6. Future

When distributing work, give them a perspective on how this will help in their career advancement. Don’t just simply shove them work and give them deadline!

#7. Let them pursue other interests!

Google normally gives out 20% of an employee’s worktime to let them pursue their own interest, and this should be of beneficial value to the company. It is vital as employees will enter a FLOW mentality. It is one that allows employees to enjoy their work, and expand their capability.

#8. Make the workplace interesting

If employees can’t enjoy sticking around a workplace, the company really got to start thinking. Ever heard of the saying, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy? Go Google HQ find out, look into their HQ, see how fun it is to work there!

To sum it up, a good company shouldn’t be sending out terse notices all the time. They should learn to mix heavy work with great fun. That is the ultimate recipe to a conducive work environment.

post-186600-0-42494900-1511834226_thumb.jpg

Edited by ChaosMyth

Refusing to delegate is the worst. Esp when bosses so called delegate the task to you, and yet still fully want to get involved?!

Yeah. Micromanaging is one of the most damaging habits any boss can have!

Yes, but then again, good management also involves giving feedback and communications - as the rules say.

If you just delegate, some people are ok with being left alone, some people feel unappreciated and doing work that is just thrown to them.

Hard to please everyone.

Yes, but then again, good management also involves giving feedback and communications - as the rules say.

If you just delegate, some people are ok with being left alone, some people feel unappreciated and doing work that is just thrown to them.

Hard to please everyone.

Feedback and communications indeed important, but if management cannot fully trust their staff to do the task also no good. In such environment, staff might not have a good career prospect.

im still with my company for very long time 

i must admit, i'm not a good employee   :XD:

Stay long with a company doesnt mean you are a good employee?! Lol.

Edited by 13177

im still with my company for very long time

i must admit, i'm not a good employee :XD:

Being loyal not good employees meh?

1. The real answer to the question is that good employees can afford to quit cos easier for them to find the next job.  Lousy ones stay becos no alternatives.

2. Many employees over rate themselves.  The truth is most of the time life goes on at the company they left.

and Sunny must be the boss since staying a long time and no good! [laugh]

it's me bo lang ai....cant hop liao  :a-m1524:

nonsense lah yandao towkay....ATBs ai you 

even more so when you are with the rolec and beemer

nonsense lah yandao towkay....ATBs ai you 

even more so when you are with the rolec and beemer

Elite..."tho$e" type of ai....i dont want  [gorgeous]

Hard to please everyone.

delegate without monitoring is call bo chup, anything happen can just blame the staff  :D

Like the recent flooding SMRT incidence?  [rolleyes]