ComfortDelgro enters deal to buy 51% of Uber’s Car Rental Business in SG

kdash

CDG seems to be not doing so well... really affected by PHVs... 

ComfortDelGro enters deal to buy 51% of Uber's car rental business in S'pore

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/comfortdelgro-enters-deal-buy-51-ubers-car-rental-business-spore

experts questioning CDG's buying over move, whether truly beneficial to the company?... also, hope Grab and Uber dont team up... 

ComfortDelGro-Uber tie-up inadequate to turn beleaguered taxi business around: Analysts

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/comfortdelgro-uber-tie-inadequate-turn-beleaguered-taxi-business-around-analysts

Going forward, Dr Theseira said there was a “reasonable possibility” Grab and Uber would have to team up, because none will turn a profit as long as either party remains willing to splash money to stay ahead.

Asst Prof Fan said the consolidation also makes it difficult for new entrants to penetrate the market, and it would be a market for “consumers and drivers” if the Uber and Grab camps continue to compete aggressively.

Edited by kdash

CDG seems to be not doing so well... really affected by PHVs...

ComfortDelGro enters deal to buy 51% of Uber's car rental business in S'pore

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/comfortdelgro-enters-deal-buy-51-ubers-car-rental-business-spore

experts questioning CDG's buying over move, whether truly beneficial to the company?... also, hope Grab and Uber dont team up...

ComfortDelGro-Uber tie-up inadequate to turn beleaguered taxi business around: Analysts

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/comfortdelgro-uber-tie-inadequate-turn-beleaguered-taxi-business-around-analysts

I think this sld be a new thread. There is also an uber thread, and later it will get posted over there as well, and then discussion become parallel.

Anyway, this has nothing to do with CDG reversing it's fare upward right? At least not made known in the release.

@pchou @babyblade @kobayashigt

I think this sld be a new thread. There is also an uber thread, and later it will get posted over there as well, and then discussion become parallel.

Anyway, this has nothing to do with CDG reversing it's fare upward right? At least not made known in the release.

thanks for the suggestion bro... maybe i too scared to start new thread

Split. Thank you @Tianmo.

scared what. that guy start 10 new threads a day also bo taichi

Got lah, I think tio moderation 14 days. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

But then, one look can tell is someone testing the system, let the authorities handle lor. [laugh]

unless it's some saga like FamiLee or what, i think new threads once a while for new news is fine.

Like this thread u put in Uber or CDG thread?

Unless it's something quite boh liao type, then no need to create new thread bah.

That guy was just making bo liao/TCSS threads. bit different.

thanks for clarification bro!

What has you starting new thread got to do with I mod or no mod? Not like you didn't start a few new threads very recently, then you not scare meh?

ok la... will see how things go.

thanks for helping to alert the mods

CDG are now trying to stabilise the PHV rental cost so that it's not much different from taxis i guess, hence protecting their core business. So they have a piece of the pie anyway u cut it. Uber is probably happy to get rid of the physical assets partly off it's book and concentrate on its core business.

But i dunno where Grab get their cars from.

So now slowly reverting back to the same old players back in the market.

New players would not be able to keep up/sustain. With current legislation, Grab may be able to go one for a few more years as they do have several smaller taxi companies (e.g. Transcab, Premier) that they partner with - so that would still make them legit until the rules change.

Imo, looks like Uber first step in getting out of the car rental business.

LCR was setup to attract drivers without car.

Edited by Kb27

CDG are now trying to stabilise the PHV rental cost so that it's not much different from taxis i guess, hence protecting their core business. So they have a piece of the pie anyway u cut it. Uber is probably happy to get rid of the physical assets partly off it's book and concentrate on its core business.

But i dunno where Grab get their cars from.

its a clear win for Uber but not so straightforward for CDG. they are trying to get a piece of the PHV pie but still need to sustain their core business... as the expert said, if CDG can utilise Uber's system for their own fleet then it may help with the management part...

Imo, looks like Uber first step in getting out of the car rental business.

LCR was setup to attract drivers without car.

LCR got burnt with a large stash of inactive cars so now they trying to do sonething about it...