6-year-old girl dies after swimming lesson mishap at Kallang

Ender

Dear Parents, 

Don't be complacent when you let your children  attend swimming lesson. Never takes your eyes off them even if the instructor is there. Also don't think if the children already knows how to swim, they don't know how to react if they get a cramp.

RIP little girl..

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/6-year-old-girl-dies-after-swimming-lesson-mishap-at-kallang-9852798

SINGAPORE: A six-year-old girl died on Tuesday (Jan 9) after spending three weeks in hospital following an incident at the Kallang Basin Swimming Complex. 

The Singapore Civil Defence Force confirmed it was alerted to "a case of drowning" at the swimming complex at about 7.20pm on Dec 20. A female was sent to Tan Tock Seng Hospital in an unconscious state, said SCDF. 

Channel NewsAsia understands the girl was later moved to KK Women's and Children's Hospital, where she died. 

Sport Singapore (SportSG), which runs the complex, said in a statement it was "saddened" by the death of the girl, who it said "was found unconscious in the pool while attending a swimming lesson". 

"We have been in touch with the child's family to render support where needed. Our thoughts are with them in this difficult time," said a spokesperson. 

"We are assisting the authorities in their investigations," SportSG added. 

Channel NewsAsia understands the girl's swimming instructor has had his pool usage permit temporarily suspended. He is currently not allowed to coach at public facilities. 

Source: CNA/hs
Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/6-year-old-girl-dies-after-swimming-lesson-mishap-at-kallang-9852798

Poor parents.

Dear Parents,

Don't be complacent when you let your children attend swimming lesson. Never takes your eyes off them even if the instructor is there. Also don't think if the children already knows how to swim, they don't know how to react if they get a cramp.

RIP little girl..

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/6-year-old-girl-dies-after-swimming-lesson-mishap-at-kallang-9852798

Sometimes difficult leh. Too many people in the pool and they wear swim cap etc. And also sometimes u may not get a seat near where your kids are learning. Maybe your seat or your belongings are further away.

Poor parents.

Sometimes difficult leh. Too many people in the pool and they wear swim cap etc. And also sometimes u may not get a seat near where your kids are learning. Maybe your seat or your belongings are further away.

Maybe can add swimming to one of your exercises. Get inside the same pool with your kids.

RIP...

Not easi to id when a person is drowing...esp when learning to swim as there will b lots of splashing and heads poping in & out at e surface of e pool while learning...

Class size vs number of instructor also impt....as e instructor can oni 'look after' a finite number of learner at any given point of time.

sometimes e younger ones dun realize or understand e enormity of safety at e pool or risk of drowning, and they keep quite when in actuality they r having difficulty.

I've seen a campmate drown in front of me b4.....luckily he survive e ordeal but in e process he 'stopped breathing' 2x...once when e rescuer lifts him out of e pool and once on e way to e hospital. And at tat time there r easily 10+ pair of eyes looking at e pool, all sitting by e pool side. Even e swimmer allocated to him (1 to 1)...to keep him safe took a while b4 realizing that he is in trouble n drowned. 

my 2¢

Edited by zipping

so unfortunate, classes fkr beginers especially the younger ones should have a max ratio. in a big pool crowded with swimmers, very difficult to tell who is who. 

Maybe can add swimming to one of your exercises. Get inside the same pool with your kids.

I used to do that some time, but half the time sit under shelter. Lucky last time dun have smartphone, or maybe first gen and slow network.

But very very sad in this case.

Yeah sure but when u swimming u won't pay attention right. I used to swim like few laps while my kids played at the wading pool but there was once my girl walked over to the adult pool before my wife could stop her to kaypoh what I was doing. So I stopped doing that. Cos my wife also need to eyes on the younger one.

Bad start to the day to read such sad news...

i count ourselves lucky then, as we send our kids around that age, or younger, to swimming lessons at public pool already... and they came through ok...

There were not a lot of details about the lesson, but in our case, wife researched online first and found this teacher who had quite good reviews, at Yio Chu Kang pool. The 1.5-hr sessions always had less than 5 pax. Mostly it was only 3-4, and the teacher seems quite experienced, and could handle the kids ok - and they like him too.

That ~2 yr built up their water skills and confidence.

The pools there were quite packed too, and i would go swim on my own when it was me bringing them there. I did occasionally look out for them, but after seeing that the teacher was always in control, stopped doing so later.

Come to think of it, for the life guards, all they do is scan the pool from one side to another to look out for signs of distress. And they keep repeating that. Will be quite boring right? I don't think i can concentrate on doing this for extended period of time leh...

Sad case.

Esp those who get their helper to bring the kids for swimming lessons. I see that during my weekly swimming at the pool. One whole group of helpers will be chit chatting among themselves and ignore what the kid does until lesson ends.

Sad news... I can also say once the kids have been past the first few lessons, 99% of parents will sit at the side play handphone

Dear Parents, 

Don't be complacent when you let your children  attend swimming lesson. Never takes your eyes off them even if the instructor is there. Also don't think if the children already knows how to swim, they don't know how to react if they get a cramp.

RIP little girl..

Both my kids take swimming lesson at this age also.

But I always make a point to be in the pool also whenever they have swimming lesson. I know the coach can't have eyes all over 12 kids with him.  :ignoring: 

Same for another 3 more parents and we just chat beside the pool and at the same time, watch out for the group taking lesson even those are not out children.  -_-